Failed car inspection for windows tint

Waffenss

went to Vicom to do car inspection today but failed the windows tinting part for the front. the inspector say have to tear off or redo. so what can i do now? redo just the front part of redo everything?

I guess if only the front windscreen tinting fails the inspection, you'll only need to replace the front windscreen tint film with a lighter tint. Same for the side windows. Only replace those which have failed.

Edited by Sky_vinz

Tear off front only can already, provided that your other rear windows & windscreen conforms with the min. 25% VLT rule.

Tinted films

The following requirements must be met when installing tinted films:

a) They must not be of the reflective type.

b) The resultant light transmittance for the front windscreen and two front side windows must be at least 70%.

c) The resultant light transmittance for the rear windscreen and the rear passenger windows must be at least 25%.

d) The front windscreen must not prevent, obstruct or interfere with the transmission of signals between the In-vehicle Unit (IU) and Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) facility.

Note: To ensure that the tinted films comply with the above requirements, you may wish to send your vehicle for testing at any of the LTA-authorised vehicle inspection centres.

Source: http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem...on_allowed.html

Tinting is the stupidest mod that I've seen Singaporeans do to their car

Waste time n money...y must be so secretive to hide behind a dark glass?

Tear off front only can already, provided that your other rear windows & windscreen conforms with the min. 25% VLT rule.

Tinted films

The following requirements must be met when installing tinted films:

a) They must not be of the reflective type.

b) The resultant light transmittance for the front windscreen and two front side windows must be at least 70%.

c) The resultant light transmittance for the rear windscreen and the rear passenger windows must be at least 25%.

d) The front windscreen must not prevent, obstruct or interfere with the transmission of signals between the In-vehicle Unit (IU) and Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) facility.

Note: To ensure that the tinted films comply with the above requirements, you may wish to send your vehicle for testing at any of the LTA-authorised vehicle inspection centres.

Source: http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem...on_allowed.html

Any cost incurred for LTA vehicle inspection centre to check on compliance of the window film ?

Edited by Phmaksg

I'm looking for 1 side tints. Anyone got lobang?

Inside see outside very clear but outside cannot see inside

i can understand if only it is an alphard [:p]

Not true, it's very good for hot weather. At least block the piercing sunlight from you!!! Not only in Singapore, if you head North....you will feel it's important! [sunny]

You eh tahan the sun doesnt mean other people also eh tahan leh bro...

hmm actually got these few reason,

* u can dig your nose and no 1 see

* u can hanky panky and no 1 know

* car not so hot la...

Any cost incurred for LTA vehicle inspection centre to check on compliance of the window film ?

In Singapore... hmm... $$$$$ [:p]

You eh tahan the sun doesnt mean other people also eh tahan leh bro...

Theres clear film for it...y must go for dark tint then later hv to take out when inspection comes then re-tint again...that's not waste time n money meh?

Just tear off the failed part and go in again like what I did that!

Immediately after that I pasted all back, though a bit wrinkle! :D

Edited by Fitvip

Just tear off the failed part and go in again like what I did that!

Immediately after that I pasted all back, though a bit wrinkle! :D

why must go in again? I never even leave the place, just tear it off