TCB rally no horse run !

Jasonjst

TCB rally really impresive , much better than wayang TT at UOB plaza , and the other tans leh ! Anyone got his speech to share here ? [thumbsup]

Edited by Jasonjst

TCB rally really impresive , much better than wayang TT at UOB plaza , and the other tans leh ! Anyone got his speech to share here ? [thumbsup]

though you keep telling us to support TJS???

I think it's boring everyone in the hall cos it seems as it got later into the evening the hall got less & less ppl hanging around.

Yeah no horse run, instead the ppl turn around & run.

though you keep telling us to support TJS???

saw his rally last night , make more sense leh , I am open to changes one . [laugh]

Then you keep scolding me in the past for wanting to support him [bigcry]

I think it's boring everyone in the hall cos it seems as it got later into the evening the hall got less & less ppl hanging around.

Yeah no horse run, instead the ppl turn around & run.

You must hear what he got to say mah , not counting how many horses there . [;)]

I am still searching his speech to put here .

Edited by Jasonjst

You must hear what he got to say mah , no counting how many horses there . [;)]

I am still searching his speech to put here .

I have already read in today's hardcopy of ST. Nothing impressive.

TT must be a very strong candidate to have the other 3 trying all sorts of tactics from smear campaigns to his previous political affiliations.

I think first of all ppl should read up the constitutional rights of the sgp prez before hearing what the candidates have to say. Some things these ppl promise cannot work one if they get elected. I wonder what they will say if they cannot deliver what they had promised.

He was very boring and he was very repetitive.

After enduring all the equally boring endorsements (rudely punctuated by sudden loud yells) that preceded his grand entrace, TCB's speech was like a knockout blow in boring. I had to stop watching lest I went into a coma.

This guy is going to play strictly by the rules. Oh goody.

If parliament passes a bill that requires the President to seek written permission before he can change underwear, I would expect TCB to dutifully fill in the form (in triplicate) every single day.

This guy is going to be an improved version of SRN in all the wrong areas.

Was this true interpretation of the rally??

SINGAPORE: Dr Tan Cheng Bock said at his rally on Thursday that he is a candidate who has an independent streak.

Dr Tan said it is important for him, if elected, to have good advisors with him.

He said they should include people who are financially capable and good in constitutional law.

He added he intends to have six advisors and would be transparent to all Singaporeans.

"I think as a responsible president, you need this good advice," Dr Tan said.

"I will not act alone, and I will make sure that with this advice, given by all these good people, I will make decisions.

"I will have to give you an annual report, I will give you an annual statement, I will tell you whether the reserves have been dipped in, I will tell you the appointments that have taken place, I will let you know your CPF."

Part 2

SINGAPORE: There are some who question his financial acumen as a mere "country doctor", but presidential candidate Tan Cheng Bock sought to dispel such doubts at his rally on Thursday night, detailing the diverse roles he has held over the years involving important financial decisions.

These included serving on the boards of the Land Transport Authority and the SMRT, where he was involved in building the MRT lines, including the first MRT contract worth S$4.5 billion.

"You have to make decisions to make sure this money is utilised properly. If anyone thinks I'm not good in (finance), they better go and ask LTA ... and SMRT," said Dr Tan Cheng Bock, who also highlighted his stint as an independent director at ING Asia Private Bank, and his post as the non-executive chairman of Chuan Hup Holdings for more than 20 years.

As the last day of campaigning for the election drew to a close, Dr Tan Cheng Bock made it clear what kind of President he would be: He would not be a separate power from the Government as there "should not be two centres of power".

He noted in particular that it was wrong for Dr Tony Tan to propose a "Resilience Package" to counter the "dark clouds" Singapore may soon face.

"The President cannot be seen to be helping to plan a package, and then approving it later. This is conflict of interest," said Dr Tan Cheng Bock. "He should trust our Finance Minister Tharman (Shanmugaratnam), whom I have great respect for, to do the job, and the President's role should be to see the many options that Tharman will draw up and whether the reserves will be required or not."

He added: "If they frivolously just want to take money from the reserves, I will not allow it. If the process is not correct, the procedures are not there, the options are not there - they won't get a single cent."

Dr Tan Cheng Bock reiterated that he will "not be confrontational". "I must know my limits. It's not that we are weak," he said.

Stressing that the veto powers of the President are "very powerful", he said: "If I veto the Budget for example, then the nation will come to a standstill. But we don't do things irrationally."

He responded to Dr Tony Tan's comment that he was "mischievous" for saying many Singaporeans are afraid to stand up for what they believe in, saying that Dr Tony Tan "does not know the ground".

Dr Tan Cheng Bock also hit back at Mr Tan Jee Say - who had said he was not independent as he had been a member of the People's Action Party - pointing out that Mr Tan Jee Say had himself been from the Singapore Democratic Party, and was not the true independent candidate he has positioned himself to be.

He drew a clear line between the Presidential Election and the General Election - not only should the former be conducted in an orderly and dignified way, it should also leave debate over bread-and-butter issues to parliamentarians.

Speaking to reporters after the rally, Dr Tan Cheng Bock said: "If we start this wrongly, future Singaporeans will have it wrong and it will be bad for democracy in Singapore." - TODAY

The main points are there minus the boring repetitiveness of the speech and unnecessary horns & cheers.

With local media habbit, main point might not be main point [laugh]

I have watch the speeches on youtube, even non candidates one. Some are totally like some political campaign instead of a prez campaign, not relevant to what a sgp prez can do. Just to distract ppl. I dun have such a weak mind, I can judge for myself what are simply claims and what is fact.