One car stolen in Singapore every four days!

Darthrevan

Last year, 85 cars were stolen in Singapore - or one car every four days on average.

These cars are often left unlocked or with their keys in the ignition, making them easy targets.

Older vehicles are especially susceptible because their worn-out locks make them easier to break into.

RELATED LINKS

ONE CAR STOLEN HERE EVERY FOUR DAYS

Last month, a car at a multi-storey carpark in McNair Road in the Boon Keng area was stolen. The owner had parked his Toyota Vios on the third storey at 8am and returned that same night to find it missing.

Source: http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_706182.html

Moral of the story?

1) dun buy a car, so no chance to be stole [wave]

2) if wanna buy a car, dun buy a new car, so lesser value if the thief wan to steal [:/]

3) if buy a new car, dun wash it, make the thief thinks that's it's in very bad condition, so dont feel like stealing

4) if wan to keep it in clean state, then hire a security guard to guard ur car 24/7 [smash]

5) if no security guard available, then suck out all ur petrol first before u leave ur car there parked, so the thief have no petrol to drive it away [drivingcar]

6) if no tool to suck the petrol out, then try deflate ur tyres, before leaving ur car parked, so the thief have no chance to drive/tow it away

7) if above method dun work, Pls find ur ways to contact James Bond, ask him to intro u some "invisible car" technology, so the thief wouldnt see ur car :ph34r:

nowadays with immobiliser and everything still can run off with the car??

Tow truck lai liao, any alarm or immobilizer oso no use. Park head in and lock to one side oso no use, they put another 2 mini wheel under ur front wheel and tow. If they really want to steal, do what types of precaution also no use. I would say those whose ride kena stolen really suay, wrong time wrong place.

Edited by Acerchan2002

Now, that's scary... Is there any recommendations for a anti theft device?? besides alarm?? *giggles*

usually these syndicates target SUVs, honda, toyota, BMW, merc..so if u have these cars then employ a cisco to stay guard at the car 24/7? if not park inside ur jiak hong chu..but thats no guarantee also :D

Now, that's scary... Is there any recommendations for a anti theft device?? besides alarm?? *giggles*

the good old steering lock + gear lock

Oh no, Singapore is gonna like Boleh land already?

But frankly, cars park outdoor are easier tarhet. Parking in MSCP makes them harder to tow. IMHO.

Overall, Singapore still quite safe and hope the government take not of this too.

Oh no, Singapore is gonna like Boleh land already?

But frankly, cars park outdoor are easier tarhet. Parking in MSCP makes them harder to tow. IMHO.

Overall, Singapore still quite safe and hope the government take not of this too.

but most cars that disappear are in MSCP. partly coz they are confined

yup..most cars that gone missing are in MSCP..open air area got "free eyes" to look out for u

Moral of the story?

1) dun buy a car, so no chance to be stole [wave]

2) if wanna buy a car, dun buy a new car, so lesser value if the thief wan to steal [:/]

3) if buy a new car, dun wash it, make the thief thinks that's it's in very bad condition, so dont feel like stealing

4) if wan to keep it in clean state, then hire a security guard to guard ur car 24/7 [smash]

5) if no security guard available, then suck out all ur petrol first before u leave ur car there parked, so the thief have no petrol to drive it away [drivingcar]

6) if no tool to suck the petrol out, then try deflate ur tyres, before leaving ur car parked, so the thief have no chance to drive/tow it away

7) if above method dun work, Pls find ur ways to contact James Bond, ask him to intro u some "invisible car" technology, so the thief wouldnt see ur car :ph34r:

forgive me, but i disagree with some of your suggestions and feel that the rest of them are "brainless"...

Yes...amazing data on car theft!

Thieves are everywhere, eyeing your car.

Those who never lock.....and make a quick dash to deposit cheques are vulnerable.

Those who leave windows little but open, under hot afternoon are vulnerable.

Those who give keys to valet are vulnerable.