Conti Car Servicing

Sabbie

My fren just bought a 2.5 year old conti car with six months left on the warranty, his next servicing is due in 3 months time, cost of 60k servicing is about 800 to 1000, and according to the stupid service agent, down time is 2 days as 60k is consider major servicing, my fren is wondering if he should go back agent or do it outside as he is worried that if there are any problems after the warranty period he can still bring it back to agent citing that he been servicing all the while at AD, however would agent honour any defective parts after warranty period even though he been doing routine servicing there?

Thanks for your constructive advice!

I think u should tell us which make and model to better advise him......

Conti cars like VAG models are relatively easy and cheap to maintain.... Other conti makes like jaguar, Saab, are more expensive...

I think u should tell us which make and model to better advise him......

Conti cars like VAG models are relatively easy and cheap to maintain.... Other conti makes like jaguar, Saab, are more expensive...

It's the infamous VAG 7 speed dry clutch twin charged model....heard that the gearbox is damn costly to repair.....

My fren just bought a 2.5 year old conti car with six months left on the warranty, his next servicing is due in 3 months time, cost of 60k servicing is about 800 to 1000, and according to the stupid service agent, down time is 2 days as 60k is consider major servicing, my fren is wondering if he should go back agent or do it outside as he is worried that if there are any problems after the warranty period he can still bring it back to agent citing that he been servicing all the while at AD, however would agent honour any defective parts after warranty period even though he been doing routine servicing there?

Since your friend just bought the car, it's better to back agent for the major servicing.

As for the infamous VAG 7 speed dry clutch twin charged model, 2 of my good friends are driving it.

Not much issues for them leh. Only 1 of them got gearbox problem during first 6 months and agent change the gearbox,

another 1 change the gearbox twice within the first year. Other than that, not much issues lah

don't worry so much.

It's the infamous VAG 7 speed dry clutch twin charged model....heard that the gearbox is damn costly to repair.....

chiam liaoz lah...

Since your friend just bought the car, it's better to back agent for the major servicing.

As for the infamous VAG 7 speed dry clutch twin charged model, 2 of my good friends are driving it.

Not much issues for them leh. Only 1 of them got gearbox problem during first 6 months and agent change the gearbox,

another 1 change the gearbox twice within the first year. Other than that, not much issues lah

don't worry so much.

Errr.......change gearbox twice within the first year??? Honestly, if car with such reputation to me is consider "CHUI". I will ask my friend to change car. No matter how swee the car is......i will change. Just my opinion la, please don't flame me. Some might consider change gearbox twice in first year is ok.

Can pose that question to the agent? I believe the quotation for minor repairs as well. The 2 days allow them (short-handed) to outsourced to others (heard of such arrangement before).

Edited by Good-Carbuyer

Gearbox so fragile? Needs to repair during waranty? Trade-in for less problematic models.

chiam liaoz lah...

Looks like his friend bought the car due to its infamous gearbox, or got sexy salesgirl fiddling his gear stick during the test drive.

Edited by Good-Carbuyer

don't worry so much.

Thanks! I don't think the gearbox will give problems in the next six months, how long it will last is a question mark though, heard the Mechatronic Unit costs 2K to change! I am just wondering if it would make a difference if something happens say one year later after the warranty period is over, ie will the agent out of goodwill not charge for faulty items that they are so famous for or they just will charge you the same anyway, if it is the latter, then no point going back as my fren has the list of pro-VW workshops outside anyway....

There are many outside workshops for VW/Audi.

Go to VAGSG for info.

Yup, he has looked though the workshops leow and is wondering to go to them or agent, his question is more on if agent will honour anything once warranty period is over if he goes back to them or will he be charged the same

Gearbox so fragile? Needs to repair during waranty? Trade-in for less problematic models.

He just bought the car la!

The guy who sold the car to your friend is smart....knowing that the gear box will give way soon.

Your friend should have bought some other conti's where no such problem exists. Imagine within a

year needs to change gearbox, I would stay far away from such cars.

The guy who sold the car to your friend is smart....knowing that the gear box will give way soon.

Your friend should have bought some other conti's where no such problem exists. Imagine within a

year needs to change gearbox, I would stay far away from such cars.

Well, although it is a well known problem, it may not be the case, in testing, gearbox apparently can last 200K...so far it seems fine and can overtake bmw 325s easily on the roads....just like people say renault don't make reliable cars but why still so many people buy renault?

True Renault cars have problems ( Megane model ) . Never ending ignition coil problems. Until I scrap ( cannot tahan liao ) the car.

Cannot sell to others otherwise, people will curse and swear.

True Renault cars have problems ( Megane model ) . Never ending ignition coil problems. Until I scrap ( cannot tahan liao ) the car.

Cannot sell to others otherwise, people will curse and swear.

Yup, I drove a megane before, actually it's quite ok and I did enjoy the "posh" renoma leather seats and overall comfort of the car for its price....so I think every car got its pros and cons...did have a problem but I can't remember, went back agent, he got me a recon unit and resolved....went espace they couldn't figure out what's the problem and quite ex....