The Straits Times

www.straitstimes.com

Published on Nov 4, 2011

http://www.straitstimes.com/print/Breaking...ory_730424.html

special report

Bosses send foreign workers to gamble

Workers share in casino winnings, but if they lose too much, they pay

By Elizabeth Soh

A hard day's work for Bangladeshi construction worker Salim used to mean toiling under the burning sun. But nowadays, at least once a week, he finds himself assigned to a very different kind of 'job' - playing the jackpot machines in the cool air-conditioned comfort of Resorts World Sentosa.

The 29-year-old is one of a number of foreign employees being sent to the casino to gamble on behalf of their employers to feed their own habit, a Straits Times investigation has found.

Five bosses - some with exclusion orders against them - told The Straits Times that they have been handing workers cash, notebooks and mobile phones, then dispatching them to the casino. They claimed to know several other employers doing the same thing.

The 'proxy gamblers', dressed mostly in company polo T-shirts and jeans, get a cut of the winnings, but if they lose too much, their pay is docked.

Copyright

Our foreign workers are indeed talented...

One job Singaporeans can't do without costing $100 more.

This is a government added cost that makes Singaporeans less competitive.

With the kind of talents we import, maybe the foreign workers knows card counting?

last i heard, theres 1 deck of cars.

how do u count 1 deck?

quite dumb boss i would say... if FW hit jackpot, u think FW will pay the winning to the boss?? mot likely claim the $$, bank in own account, go embassy say wanted to go home liao .... [laugh]

maybe he holding their passport leh

Our foreign workers are indeed talented...

One job Singaporeans can't do without costing $100 more.

This is a government added cost that makes Singaporeans less competitive.

i think the bosses more talented..... and somehow i suspect the bosses are chinese

I think before reach embassy already kenna hoot jiatlat jiatlat....

so??? if the boss do that, the boss is even dumber than i thought....,,, in the end, kena charge chialat chialat with prove of abuse but of cause, if the boss is an "elite" with connection, most likely this FW cannot escape......... [laugh]

there is always bedok reservoir you know

that's really crazy....

and what surprises me is when such report got published and yet, these bosses boh dai ji...... must be somebody... actually hor, by not acting on it meaning spf think such practice is not a crime and acceptable... [sweatdrop]

there is always bedok reservoir you know

ok, before i assume further, are we talking about loan shark boss, SME boss or fishball boss who could lost money then gets discounted type?... [laugh]

What makes you think SMEs towkays only run 1 kind of business?