Horrible road works = Bumpy roads

Sunnycrowe

Leftmost lane of West Coast Highway just before Vivo has two gigantic potholes... as of last week when I drove by.

Still there LOL..

By right the gaps should be filled with proper rocks and layers of hard material, before layering the final asphalt in a smooth flat manner.

But many cheat, dump whatever rocks and debris into the hole, and super over compensate the sinking possibility, with a super high hump layer of asphalt!

I hate these humps! LTA never seem to check, or did LTA believe in overcompensating hump-like repair works?

LTA is supposed to supervise the work and ensure the contractors do a proper backfill and re-surfacing work. Looking at these poorly done work on public roads, something is wrong........... is LTA sleepying? or the supervisors on the ground too friendly with the contractors?? need some serious investigation why public money is spent on such shoddy work... and these may even result in accidents on the road............ where is Mr LTA and his minister?? :o

Yeah, that one is the most headache one, the one right after Keppel Road and before the twist and turns, 2nd lane got one gigantic one. Can see the scratches on the road, alot people kana already. It's been there since Feb and nobody go and repair it..

Mr LTA and Transport Minister should drive their limo there and see how 'smooth' the road surface is........... :o

I believe it is the lack of Foremanship in the industry. Many workers knowing next to nothing about it. Contractors awarded based on pricing alone, or previous track record not updated yet. No one keen to check if the contractor(s) able to employ skilled and knowledgeable Foreman to lead the workers. Just blame on materials/machinery.

I have worked with contractors and public service engineers before. The public service engineers (eg LTA engineers) are employed to supervise and check the workmanship+material for roadwork to ensure good results (eg smooth road surface). These engineers have all the rights to reject substandard work and ask the contractors (including contractor's foremem, workers etc) to re-do or make good bad work..... it seems someone is sleeping on the job or too buddy with the contractors.................. :o

Our roads consider really in good conditon. Along Cross St where there are construction going on, the patched up road is considered good conditon even though it is bumpy.

Over in boleh land, the patch up roads are really super bumpy and it's permanent wheresle ours will be temporary and eventually the contractors will smoothen out the roads.

Very likely I be going to Malaysia over Xmas and with my new tires ( changed to 225/45/17 ) I have to drive slower a bit. Along NSH the roads are generally good with occasional potholes.

I have worked with contractors and public service engineers before. The public service engineers (eg LTA engineers) are employed to supervise and check the workmanship+material for roadwork to ensure good results (eg smooth road surface). These engineers have all the rights to reject substandard work and ask the contractors (including contractor's foremem, workers etc) to re-do or make good bad work..... it seems someone is sleeping on the job or too buddy with the contractors.................. :o

I notice that lately, not many seems to know their job.

LTA website got a feedback page where you can post issues such as this.

yes... i emailed to them yest... lets see what wil they say....

Things werent as bad when i started driving abt 4 hrs ago... but it was over the past few months that i realised the roads were not reinstated properly.... its either pothole (under-fill) or Bumps (overfill).... Its very obvious as the newly reinstated parts of the road are darker in colour (compared to the sections of the road tat did not undergo excavation)...... as once u drive on the dark areas, super bumpy....

Those roads that are left untouched (no digging) are all ok... it is those roads who overgo excavation (to maintain underground items) that are very bumpy after the backfill......

Edited by Sunnycrowe

Just drove past the road after clementi mrt stn going to commonwealth mrt station that long stretch, knn their refilling works so bad that i felt that i was like on a massage chair even thought i was in my Fit :angry: 10 years ago, JB road like Knn, now JB/most of M'sia roads are better compare to SG roads, who is the scholar who says that by using recycled material or something latdat can achieve the same surface as the normal material used to make roads?

LTA is supposed to supervise the work and ensure the contractors do a proper backfill and re-surfacing work. Looking at these poorly done work on public roads, something is wrong........... is LTA sleepying? or the supervisors on the ground too friendly with the contractors?? need some serious investigation why public money is spent on such shoddy work... and these may even result in accidents on the road............ where is Mr LTA and his minister?? :o

Many years ago when PWD handled such repair work directly, i dont think there were that many problems.

However, the frequency of roadworks is also much much higher than say 10 years ago. need to tear up the road to put pipes for sai chwee err i mean NEWater and cabling for NGBGN bla bla so maybe they cover up but not that properly since it is pointless as there will be a need to tear up the road in the same stretch another day. :wacko:

Edited by Happily1986

I am in a pipe laying company and is well versed in this area. Basically those bumpy roads are just temporary backfilled and compacted. After that stretch of road is done, the road will go through resurfacing. The resurfaced road should not be bumpy. Those temporary backfill will definitely be bumpy no matter how good the workmanship is because the differences in the temporary backfill and the existing road will definitely be present. Please note that it is not easy to do backfill and estimate the height of each layer. There are more than 3-4 layers of different materials under the road. Each has its own height and all must be compacted. It is the compaction whereby the level of the road is difficult to measure.

Tuas is the worst of the lot. For those working in Tuas South and go by Tuas Crescent, you all know how the exact condition is like.

Just drove past the road after clementi mrt stn going to commonwealth mrt station that long stretch, knn their refilling works so bad that i felt that i was like on a massage chair even thought i was in my Fit :angry: 10 years ago, JB road like Knn, now JB/most of M'sia roads are better compare to SG roads, who is the scholar who says that by using recycled material or something latdat can achieve the same surface as the normal material used to make roads?

Was it especially opposite Singapore poly that was bumpy? Over there seriously alot of road works. And ya, like massage chair!

I am in a pipe laying company and is well versed in this area. Basically those bumpy roads are just temporary backfilled and compacted. After that stretch of road is done, the road will go through resurfacing. The resurfaced road should not be bumpy. Those temporary backfill will definitely be bumpy no matter how good the workmanship is because the differences in the temporary backfill and the existing road will definitely be present. Please note that it is not easy to do backfill and estimate the height of each layer. There are more than 3-4 layers of different materials under the road. Each has its own height and all must be compacted. It is the compaction whereby the level of the road is difficult to measure.

Temporary backfill has been there for the past 5 months and this is the way to and from a main tourist attraction: The casino and Sentosa!!! ...... it's the gateway to the resort island where visitors from overeseas pass thru. :o

Tuas is the worst of the lot. For those working in Tuas South and go by Tuas Crescent, you all know how the exact condition is like.

AGREE!!!! last time the road so good to drive. after road works, dame jialat!!