NTUC Chief: More retrenchments coming

Ahtong

pc_600x450.jpg

More people are expected to be retrenched this year compared with the figure last year, as signs of an economic slowdown become more evident, Lim Swee Say said yesterday, in a report by the Straits Times.

As demand slows, some companies are already putting their workers on a shorter work week, such as having them work only four days a week, the labour chief noted.

But he stressed that the situation is nowhere close to the economic downturn of 2008.

The newspaper reported that Mr Lim said the NTUC is keeping track on a weekly basis the number of workers who may be affected by potential retrenchments ahead of any slowdown in the economy.

Speaking to reporters at the opening of the upgraded Bedok Community Centre, Mr Lim explained, "The NTUC, together with the WDA (Workforce Development Agency), is already working with some of the companies that are beginning to see the early signs of slowing down. We're working with them to send their workers - those on shorter work-weeks and some of their potential excess workers - to go on training before they take any action on retrenchment."

His remarks came a day after Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam warned of rough times ahead for Singapore, given the 'very real possibility' of a severe slowdown of the global economy.

He said any slowdown in the economy is not related to the size of the companies, but by the sector. He cited electronics, even though signs of a slowdown are not across the board in the sector.

Mr Lim said: "Those in the electronics, like personal computers, are more affected, whereas those supplying parts and components to the automobile sector are less affected at the moment."

However, Mr Lim said the retrenchment situation today is unlikely to be anywhere close to the numbers seen in 2008.And while the outlook remains uncertain, he said the labour movement is making necessary preparations so that when the time comes, it can launch them into action.

At the same event, Mr Lim also said the review on CPF contributions will continue. This is because more Singaporeans are living and working longer.

"When we call for this review of the CPF contributions, we're looking at it as a medium- to long-term structural issue. I think that will continue. Of course in terms of short-term, there'll be ups and downs," said Mr Lim.

But he stressed that short-term fluctuations and longer-term structural issues should be kept separate.

Yep, we must all brace ourselves for the stormy days ahead and aspire to become cheaper-er, better-er and faster-er. Back to more training to capitalise on the downtime when recession hits.

It always works and once the storm clears, we can all "feel rich" when we look at our CPF's statements. [cool]

Yep, we must all brace ourselves for the stormy days ahead and aspire to become cheaper-er, better-er and faster-er. Back to more training to capitalise on the downtime when recession hits.

It always works and once the storm clears, we can all "feel rich" when we look at our CPF's statements. [cool]

Very impressive! [thumbsup]

My only suggestion is "Back to more training to upturn the downturn when recession hits. "

Edited by Ahtong

Yes we must be cheaper and better than FTs. If not, more FTs will come in and take over our jobs and MRTs

How to be cheaper? If LSS can draw a $3k monthly salary and join our ranks, then I'm very willing to follow how he does it.

Here we earn $1, our expenses are 1:1. For the FTs, their S$1 is at least a few times their country's money when they send back to RAISE their family there.

If want us to be cheaper, fine.

Lower the costs of a basic HDB flat first. If everybody can pay for the cost of flat within the comfort zone of their salary, of course we can be cheaper.

Control the oil cartels in their fuel pricing. Fuel up, cost of business up, consumers pay more. Then cartels say raising costs affect them and they raise price again, the cycle is endless.

Ask LSS to survive on a $3k salary, I think he'll sweat more than all of us here.

Very impressive! [thumbsup]

My only suggestion is "Back to more training to upturn the downturn when recession hits. "

After a few more downtrn,

All Sgeans are Multi-talented people one.

And best of all we are Cheapest, betterest and fastest.

Where to find such talented Race in the world ??

Only in SG. But only 1 thing. we are also very choosy.

How to be cheaper? If LSS can draw a $3k monthly salary and join our ranks, then I'm very willing to follow how he does it.

Here we earn $1, our expenses are 1:1. For the FTs, their S$1 is at least a few times their country's money when they send back to RAISE their family there.

Lower the costs of a basic HDB flat first. If everybody can pay for the cost of flat within the comfort zone of their salary, of course we can be cheaper.

Control the oil cartels in their fuel pricing. Fuel up, cost of business up, consumers pay more. Then cartels say raising costs affect them and they raise price again, the cycle is endless.

Ask LSS to survive on a $3k salary, I think he'll sweat more than all of us here.

If LSS is paid $3k/mth he may become corrupt and you end up paying more.

Price of house, car made higher means you all can be millionaire in the future so its for your own good.

H

At the same event, Mr Lim also said the review on CPF contributions will continue. This is because more Singaporeans are living and working longer.

"When we call for this review of the CPF contributions, we're looking at it as a medium- to long-term structural issue. I think that will continue. Of course in terms of short-term, there'll be ups and downs," said Mr Lim.

But he stressed that short-term fluctuations and longer-term structural issues should be kept separate.

I hope he will be the first one to be retrenched after the salary review.

Cannot even speak properly. [thumbsdown]

You want to earn more? Work harder or be more competent. Otherwise, you can join the occupy wall street movement.

How come our miliionair minister dun get retrenchment ???

why FT not challenging their position ????

they will not know how singaporean felt cos they are SAFE !!! [nosebleed]

They trying to tell you dun anyhow switch job or fool around , if not later unemployment rate goes up, they still have to step in help singapore ... they very busy liao ... need to count their salary, no time for singaporean ...

How come our miliionair minister dun get retrenchment ???

why FT not challenging their position ????

they will not know how singaporean felt cos they are SAFE !!! [nosebleed]

They trying to tell you dun anyhow switch job or fool around , if not later unemployment rate goes up, they still have to step in help singapore ... they very busy liao ... need to count their salary, no time for singaporean ...

Minister got retrenchment what.... I thot we just retrench 2 ministers in May? Not enough? Then wait for 5 years lor...

Edited by Neost

Retrenchments for Sgreans... Jobs for Foreigners!!! Huat ah!!!

foreigners work for 1.4k and 6 days a week 12 hr shift.

if u take that same working hours and pay, u will get it.

what has singapore come to...

More people are expected to be retrenched this year compared with the figure last year, as signs of an economic slowdown become more evident, Lim Swee Say said yesterday, in a report by the Straits Times.

As demand slows, some companies are already putting their workers on a shorter work week, such as having them work only four days a week, the labour chief noted.

But he stressed that the situation is nowhere close to the economic downturn of 2008.

The newspaper reported that Mr Lim said the NTUC is keeping track on a weekly basis the number of workers who may be affected by potential retrenchments ahead of any slowdown in the economy.

Speaking to reporters at the opening of the upgraded Bedok Community Centre, Mr Lim explained, "The NTUC, together with the WDA (Workforce Development Agency), is already working with some of the companies that are beginning to see the early signs of slowing down. We're working with them to send their workers - those on shorter work-weeks and some of their potential excess workers - to go on training before they take any action on retrenchment."

His remarks came a day after Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam warned of rough times ahead for Singapore, given the 'very real possibility' of a severe slowdown of the global economy.

He said any slowdown in the economy is not related to the size of the companies, but by the sector. He cited electronics, even though signs of a slowdown are not across the board in the sector.

Mr Lim said: "Those in the electronics, like personal computers, are more affected, whereas those supplying parts and components to the automobile sector are less affected at the moment."

However, Mr Lim said the retrenchment situation today is unlikely to be anywhere close to the numbers seen in 2008.And while the outlook remains uncertain, he said the labour movement is making necessary preparations so that when the time comes, it can launch them into action.

No likely to be confidence for the future?

foreigners work for 1.4k and 6 days a week 12 hr shift.

if u take that same working hours and pay, u will get it.

what has singapore come to...

The question is will you? :)