New House, New furnitures costing

MrWeiwei

care to share how much did you guys spend on furniture and renovation when u guys got your new house?

any tips on renovation or purchasing the furniture?

will be getting a 4room HDB in 3years time, was thinking how much to keep aside for when the new house is ready. [knife]

If u v tight budget, .

The floor take hdb, deduct from cpf.

Than u save min 4k on floor.

Than the room only buy cupboard n bed for master room. The rest of the room don't do.

Buy tv for living.

Console for tv. Or feature wall ard 1000-1500

Dining table.

Sofa

Lights

Kitchen carpenter work. Ard 1000-1500.

+ cooking stuff another 500-1k

If too exp buy those portable , few hundreds at ikea.

Min 10-15k

Singaporean PR Peter Breitkreutz, 45, with his Shanghai-born wife and two sons, who were born here. The Queensland native, a vice-president at Citibank, recently bought a flat in Sengkang and says he has no intentions of returning to Australia

28 Nov 2011

More Australians choosing to move to Singapore

SYDNEY - As the number of Australians moving abroad surged to record highs in recent years, Singapore has emerged as their fastest-rising destination.

A so-called stampede from Australia saw more than 88,000 departures last year, nearly double the number a decade earlier. About half of those who left were Australian-born.

At the same time, the number of people moving to Australia dropped 9 per cent to 127,458 in the past year, raising the ratio of departures to arrivals to a record level.

One of the most striking trends has been departures for Singapore, which overtook Hong Kong to become the fourth-biggest destination for Australians last year. Singapore was previously fifth.

Almost 20,000 Australians left for Singapore in the past three years, according to figures on long-term departures released by the Department of Immigration. Nearly two-thirds of them were born in Australia. Long-term departures refer to people who are leaving for residency, long-term or permanent stays.

Professor Graeme Hugo at the University of Adelaide, who is one of Australia's leading population experts, said the numbers leaving for Singapore had risen dramatically and reflected changes in the regional marketplace and growing ties between the two countries.

"Singapore is the standout, particularly compared to other Asian countries. It is quite striking," he told The Straits Times.

The leading destinations for Australians are Britain, New Zealand and the United States. But the rate at which they are heading to Singapore has far outpaced that to the three leading destinations.

Many Aussies in Singapore "likely to keep their citizenship."

Ten years ago, 2,325 Australians left for Singapore. Since then, the number has jumped to 5,431 in 2008, 6,428 in 2009 and 6,952 last year.

Despite a mining boom and a strong economy at home, an increasing number of Australians have left for jobs and promotion opportunities in Asia and elsewhere.

Last year, the total number of long-term departures rose to 88,461, compared with 46,521 a decade earlier.

Prof Hugo said that the flows between Australia and Singapore had changed dramatically in recent years.

"In the past, the flow was mainly to Australia, but now the growth of the Singapore economy and Singapore's population slowing have made it more of a destination," he said.

"The linkages between the countries have always been strong. There are large numbers of Singaporean students in Australia. It creates linkages which flow in both directions."

But Prof Hugo noted that many of the Australians who move to Singapore were likely to retain their Australian citizenship and would eventually move to another country or return to Australia.

He said he is planning to conduct further research on the reasons for the stampede to Singapore and will discuss with the Singapore Government a joint study of the phenomenon.

Australia has, in recent years, been reducing its immigration intake from record highs and developing more targeted skilled migrant programs amid concern about the growing populations of its big cities.

About 1,100 Singaporeans settled permanently in Australia last year, with another 3,746 arriving as temporary residents - mostly skilled workers arriving for up to four years. Another 16,126 Singaporeans arrived on student visas.

While the recent trend has surprised demographers, it has come as little surprise to Australians living in Singapore.

A Queensland-born Singaporean permanent resident, Peter Breitkreutz, 45, said he has been living in Singapore for six years and has no intentions of leaving.

Breitkreutz, a vice-president at Citibank, recently bought a flat in Sengkang, where he lives with his Shanghai-born wife and two sons, who were born in Singapore.

"We are in Singapore for the long run," he said. "We planted our roots. The obvious attractions for anyone coming from Australia or a Western culture are the order, the education and safety and that everything is convenient.

"Becoming a citizen has entered my mind. The only issue is that Singapore does not allow dual citizenship. I couldn't see myself giving up my Australian passport at this stage."

He added: "By becoming (permanent residents) and making that plunge, we have invested in an apartment, and do almost everything citizens can do. We have no real plans to move back to Australia."

Aussie departures

AUSTRALIAN long-term departures for Singapore over the past five years:

2006: 4,135

2007: 4,901

2008: 5,431

2009: 6,428

2010: 6,952

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No need furniture,

go japanese and sit on the floor,

eat on the floor and sleep on the floor.

Just get some rugs and cushions.

New flats so close, no need tv,

just open window and watch neighbours

tv, save money and electricty.

And if you neighbour don't close curtains

in masterbed room, free porno.

Exciting for a few weeks now boring.

If u v tight budget, .

The floor take hdb, deduct from cpf.

Than u save min 4k on floor.

Than the room only buy cupboard n bed for master room. The rest of the room don't do.

Buy tv for living.

Console for tv. Or feature wall ard 1000-1500

Dining table.

Sofa

Lights

Wait long-long also don't have.

+ cooking stuff another 500-1k

If too exp buy those portable , few hundreds at ikea.

Min 10-15k

"We are in Singapore for the long run," he said. "We planted our roots. The obvious attractions for anyone coming from Australia or a Western culture are the order, the education and safety and that everything is convenient.

"Becoming a citizen has entered my mind. The only issue is that Singapore does not allow dual citizenship. I couldn't see myself giving up my Australian passport at this stage."

He added: "By becoming (permanent residents) and making that plunge, we have invested in an apartment, and do almost everything citizens can do. We have no real plans to move back to Australia."

Very contradicting isn't it?

Spent $21k on renovation in 2004, hack everything in the flat, cos it's a repo flat with original tiling from 1986. I suggest you get at least 3 quotations before committing to a contractor. The one you wish to engage, go and view at least 2 flats done by the contractor.

As for furnishing, purchased Barang Barang (closed shop liao) during Great Singapore sale in 2004, bought $10k worth of furniture at 55% discount (stored it in the warehouse until renovation completed). I also bought IKEA stuff during sale, surprisingly they last until now. If you are tight on budget don't intend to have kids, furnish the master bedroom and the hall first.

Electronics is about another $10k

If you haven't done your customary, better to do the banquet first, helps with the cash flow.

Edited by Without_a_car

Mine too....in fact,ikea is a good place to source.Surprisingly,some of their things can really last and cheap [thumbsup]

its euro design i am guning at...............................okay,

its the price :D

Very contradicting isn't it?

that means so long as their life is comfortable here, they will still stay here. when the life is against their flavour, they will go out from the country.

their plan beyond "long-run" is to retire back to hometown.

Sorry, whats the topic again, why suddenly got comments about PR & FT. If you posted on the wrong thread, you can always delete your post (at least within a certain time frame)

Wait long-long also don't have.

1feet $100.

my 4rm kitchen total 11ft. $1100.

with cupboard top n bottom.

how long have to wait?

u kana carrot big time is it?

Sorry, whats the topic again, why suddenly got comments about PR & FT. If you posted on the wrong thread, you can always delete your post (at least within a certain time frame)

like i also previously mentioned ... why every thread must mutate into a political issue ?? losers on the loose ??

anyway, i bought resale 3ng ... did not do much, just bought 3 x 5L of paint, changed all the doors and 1 wash basin and all the ceiling lights. then washed up the place. That's all for my reno.

My flat was used to house workers previously - but it was still pretty clean. I only bought a new washing machine and a single split a/c and a small kitchen cabinet, all the rest of furniture and electricals are bought second hand or from my parents place.

think i spent less than $2k to move in - single guy only ... no need to do so much (or anything in that case).

Edited by Ysc3