China

Cerano

This is older new from Sept but I think it'll be of interest to Vulcann

Shocker! In China's rush to be a 21st century military power, it might be possible some engineering's been a little... rushed. That seems to be the case for this Chinese "Pterodactyl" UAV

Edited by Cerano

china has to innovate and stop copying! [laugh]

at least ST is doing better with the tanks

Any idea our tank got gold fish inside or not? I mean war proven practical design, not white elephants/sitting ducks?

Alot of it is purchased from other defence firms.

Yeah ! You should not copy cat too by writing and speaking my English language, culture...... etc. Use your own mandarin la and social etiqutte. Stop copying us.

Edited by Renegade777

Yeah ! You should not copy cat too by writing and speaking my English language, culture...... etc. Use your own mandarin la and social etiqutte. Stop copying us.

uhm language is not owned by any country. and speaking of social etiquette, i think they have none [laugh]

TS starts this thread of old news just to flame anti-PRC sentiment?

get a life dude

no one is flaming or being anti-prc. this thread is for vulcann, as I have mentioned on top in my first unedited post, so that we can start on another educated military debate on the respective capabilities of the US and China.

btw if you do not realise, I did not type any of the above. It was from Gizmodo

Also, I realise you have been standing up for the PRC in every single FT thread. Is there a reason for this, that you are so entrenched in your chinese roots? Good for you

Edited by Cerano

This is older new from Sept but I think it'll be of interest to Vulcann

Shocker! In China's rush to be a 21st century military power, it might be possible some engineering's been a little... rushed. That seems to be the case for this Chinese "Pterodactyl" UAV

TS starts this thread of old news just to flame anti-PRC sentiment?

get a life dude

no one is flaming or being anti-prc. this thread is for vulcann, as I have mentioned on top in my first unedited post, so that we can start on another educated military debate on the respective capabilities of the US and China.

Also, I realise you have been standing up for the PRC in every single FT thread. Is there a reason for this, that you are so entrenched in your chinese roots? Good for you

Chill bros.

I think TS is not targetting PRCs in particular just quoting from some source about this incident.

He is just bringing it out for general discussion amongst military buffs.

Let's all just get back to topic shall we?

Cheers!

To be fair, if you print a brand name on a lousy T-shirt you call that copying lah. But if you are building spaceships and supersonic aircraft, .. KNN, talk so easy, you try to copy one and I pay for your R&D.

The copycat drone went down in a flaming wreck around the Chinese village of Huining, Chinese Defence Mashup reports, and was eagerly photographed by locals before the government locked the area down. Why? It's rather embarrassing when your drones crash for no apparent reason on your own turf, that's why. At least our drones have the decency to be spectacularly shot out of the sky or s--t the bed in the line of fire. [China Defence Mashup via Flight Global]

not that easy but you have to note that there were multiple instances of DOD systems being hacked by purportedly Chinese hackers... dont underestimate the Chinese... they have the most sophisticated cyberwarfare outfit out there.

Also, remember how last last year a Chinese engineer from GE was selling F16 engines

http://www.popularmechanics.com/technology...ry/news/3319656

The Moo case got under way after two arms dealers, who also work as paid informants, introduced some of Mangione's undercover agents to a French middleman, Maurice Serge Voros. During a phone call on Feb. 26, 2004, Voros asked the agents, who were posing as arms dealers, for help obtaining engines used in the U.S. Black Hawk combat helicopter. The engines, manufactured by General Electric, are on the U.S. Munitions List, a catalog of restricted arms and technology administered by the State Department's Bureau of Political-Military Affairs. It is illegal to export Munitions List items without a special government license.

Over the following year, ASTI learned that Voros represented Moo, and that Moo in turn was working for the People's Liberation Army. In a Dec. 4, 2004, e-mail, Moo wrote that China did not want its name on any of the contracts. "These cases take a long time," says Mangione. "It can be frustrating. But you have to let the game play." In March 2005, Voros told the undercover agents that Moo had now shifted priorities. His new top goal was to buy an F-16 engine--and, said Voros, Moo had been given "the green light" to make a deal.

Read more: How China Steals U.S. Military Secrets - Popular Mechanics

Lethal Shopping Lists

Moo's destination last November was Shenyang Aircraft Corp., which lies a few miles from Taoxian International Airport. It's the site where, in cooperation with Russia, China developed its first homegrown fighter engine, the Lyulka AL-31 turbofan engine. But the Lyulka provides a Pontiac Firebird level of performance compared to the Formula One-worthy engine that Moo was set to deliver. U.S. officials believe that China planned to copy the F-16 engine for its own prototype fighter.

China has managed to "reverse-engineer some of [America's] most modern rifles, cannons and guns and produce them domestically," says Larry Wortzel, chairman of the U.S.-China Economic and Security Review Commission, which reports to Congress. However, Chinese expertise in engine manufacturing has lagged, according to Wortzel, who spent 25 years working in military intelligence. "This is one of their biggest espionage targets," he says.

"There are characters out there with laundry lists of stuff like this," says Mangione. Moo's list included nuclear missiles and jet engines, and also called for the "urgent procurement" of "2 to 4 sets" of a "Nuclear Submarine (nuclear reactor should be one unit, no noise) including ALL nuclear weapon systems." Acquiring an entire submarine might be a long shot, Mangione says, but "any specs, any photos, any anything they can get is more than they had before."

Read more: How China Steals U.S. Military Secrets - Popular Mechanics

Edited by Cerano

Thanks for addressing this thread to me paiseh leh I am just a nobody & definitely no expert on UAVs.

Not surprising that the Chinese are very much into developing unmanned drones after witnessing how the Americans use them extensively especially in the Afghan compaign against the insurgents.

Whether it is purely for intelligence gathering or hunter-killer roles, these drones seem to be the new love of many militaries & promises to be the next BIG thing in military warfare.

I dare say the next major comflict will be AI vs AI via these drones with very little or no human touch.

Any type of combat not endangering human lives is always of great interest to military planners.

My 2 cts...

Yup... the thing in fashion now, if you read Jane's IDR, you will see that UCAVs are on the shopping lists on almost every major military in the world. UCAVs differ from UAVs in that they are used for actual combat with actual payloads [laugh]

So a skynet future might not be that far away

nope.. i'm not defending PRC in every thread, please prove that will you?

i dun like so many ah tiong in my country too

but i see things on an objective point of view... unlike someone who thinks everything China is bad, everything USA and Japan are good

nope.. i'm not defending PRC in every thread, please prove that will you?

i dun like so many ah tiong in my country too

but i see things on an objective point of view... unlike someone who thinks everything China is bad, everything USA and Japan are good

you were defending them against the US in the last thread werent you?

I was and I still am claiming that the Chinese are the greater of the two evils as compared to the US

I have never said that China is absolutely bad or the US absolutely good.

Apparently you do not agree and probably never will. Indeed the above example highlights the lack of ethicality and lack of values/ warped values that they possess

Anyway our views withstanding, this thread is for discussing pure military capability not any socio-political aspect of the US-China relationship

Edited by Cerano

Yup... the thing in fashion now, if you read Jane's IDR, you will see that UCAVs are on the shopping lists on almost every major military in the world. UCAVs differ from UAVs in that they are used for actual combat with actual payloads [laugh]

So a skynet future might not be that far away

Skynet?

Wow Arnie terminators plus his robotic buddies exterminating human species?

Dreadful scenario leh... [sweatdrop]

But seriously now also have sea borne & very likely land systems in whatever roles in years to come.

There is even humming bird-sized & dragonfly-sized mini UAVs nowadays.

Won't be shocked nano-sized robots also surfaced soon for military purposes.

Gosh technology really advanced at a breakneck speed & very difficult to keep track..

Who knows what major militaries are doing in their secret labs now & in the near future & what terror gadgets they posseses now.