Engine Oil level question

Spiderman302

50 is not recommended for cars.

It is used only for racing where high temp is present and only for lorries only.

Now where did u get this?

Is the information I have gathered thruout the years.

Any information you think it is wrong?

What I am saying is normally is the case, not a fixed and must do rule.

Edited by Duskyoa

I always maintain the oil level at 3/4 level. Reason??? More responsive engine and thats the oil level with 3L engine oil (I use 1L bottle).

So far, I have not encounter any issue with my engine, my millage is over 200K now and still going strong... Opened my engine cover last year to replace the rubber gasket and the internal part of the engine is sparking clean and no sign of excessive wear n tear (posted in MCF before, you may do a search if want to see)

Is it normal old car tend to consume e.o?

I did a check today and realize my 7yrs old car beginning to consume ..

Normal?

Normal?

Normal,depends on mileage....even some German cars,new engine also eat engine oil.

Can some expert offer some advice for the following :

Must engine oil be filled up to the "full" level ?

As the dip stick shows both "L" and "H" mark, theoretically 3/4 full should be ok right ?

Easy.

L for "lau U" -----top up oil.

H for "ho liao" ----no need top up oil.

Edited by Tiger1

Normal,depends on mileage....even some German cars,new engine also eat engine oil.

then is it normal, if engine oil is low, you tend to hear the rattling engine sound?

i'm going to do another check tomorrow, if really low, i got to top up

Guess what, recently bot a used car. Manual stated engine will consume up to 1l eo per certain mileage. But so far hasn't. I guess if follow manual use 5w-30 maybe will. Now on 40.

To check eo lvl, off running engine n wait few minutes to check. Lvl like many said, toward H.

then is it normal, if engine oil is low, you tend to hear the rattling engine sound?

According to the owner's manual book, it says it is normal as overtime the engine will consume some EO. However it should not be too much.

Engine rattling sound is what? Is it the tak tak tak sound ?

Guess what, recently bot a used car. Manual stated engine will consume up to 1l eo per certain mileage. But so far hasn't. I guess if follow manual use 5w-30 maybe will. Now on 40.

To check eo lvl, off running engine n wait few minutes to check. Lvl like many said, toward H.

Most Japanese car engine do not 'eat' engine oil,i scrapped 2 Japanese cars this year,both with me for near 10 years[from new],both did not need to top up between services..

Normal?

Depends on car model.

Most cars after 7 yrs still dun drink oil. Mine already 7 yrs n hardly drink any oil (40 weight) even with a lot of whacking.

If yr car drink too much oil, its time fr an overhaul. Maybe just change piston rings if ty r worn or the valve guides.

Also chk if yr gaskets hv leak or yr coolant has oily film.

All these things u sud hv chked b4 u buy.

Or u can try using a heavier EO n see if it helps but u lose on performance n economy.

If 10K km u need to top-up>1 lit eo, its very bad already. [smallcry]

If u can hear a loud rattling sound, u need to overhaul already. Pistons longah. [smallcry]

According to the owner's manual book, it says it is normal as overtime the engine will consume some EO. However it should not be too much.

Engine rattling sound is what? Is it the tak tak tak sound ?

His sound like those diesel taxi. [laugh]

So I better top it up to MAX? :huh:

Btw, what is wet sump and dry sump?

Wet sump it has oil inside. Dry sump its dry n no more oil inside.

Hahahahahaha. [laugh]

Depends on car model.

Most cars after 7 yrs still dun drink oil. Mine already 7 yrs n hardly drink any oil (40 weight) even with a lot of whacking.

If yr car drink too much oil, its time fr an overhaul. Maybe just change piston rings if ty r worn or the valve guides.

Or u can try using a heavier EO n see if it helps but u lose on performance n economy.

Probably you on time servicing and using top premium eo leh...not the lotsa oil that why lah

Edited by Ckchong8

Depends on car model.

yesterday before i drove my car, i observe the dip stick..

E.O was barely hitting the L mark, i guess that's the root of the sound..

hence i pour a L of E.O in, after a while, the sound was gone..

well, i will observe it..

My ride is only 7yrs+, 94K mileage only..

unlikely to be be piston ba.. this sat, throw it to my workshop and observe