Car hits bus stop and burst into flames

Ahtong

car_hit_bus_stop_and_burst_into_flames_at_siglap_cc-thumbnail.jpg

This car hit a bus stop near Siglap CC before bursting into flames. According to one STOMPer, the driver was a man in his 60's and had suffered minor injuries.

STOMPers Pauline, Gintai and JayyDoubleYouu all sent in pictures and comments on the incident.

STOMPer JayyDoubleYouu says he was was alerted by the noise of the incident:

"This happened on Dec 20, 2011 at about 3:30pm

"We heard loud bangs but thought that it was the sound of people culling crows nearby.

"When we went to look, we saw a car on fire and thick, black smoke rising from the wrecked car.

"At first, only the pavement and car were on fire, but later the fire spread towards the bus stop causing the roof of the bus stop to burn also.

"There was no sign of the driver there.

"A fire engine arrived very quickly and the firemen fought bravely despite the intermittent explosions from the car."

STOMPer Pauline drove by the incident in her car. She wrote:

"I passed by this accident. Even from the other lane, I could feel the heat of the flames.

"I'm not sure what happened, but the car was up on the pavement burning.

"The driver appeared to be a man in his 60's. He was injured and being tended to by paramedics.

"The SCDF were fighting the fire at the time."

STOMPer Gintai claims the man was ablaze as he exited his vehicle. He wrote:

"I just saw a car hit a bus stop at Bedok South. The driver ran out on fire.

"There was no one at bus stop."

20111220sscarfire1jpg1324368432033-data.jpg

20111220sscarfire4jpg1324368484998-data.jpg

Edited by Ahtong

Maybe the car's gear oil leaked out. I hear it is very flammable stuff. [:p]

Chey....what nonsense education you received?

Gear oil flammable one meh...on impact?

I thought 'gear oil' is used to 'Flame on others only'..

and on those who deserved to be flamed on... :D

Chey....what nonsense education you received?

Gear oil flammable one meh...on impact?

I thought 'gear oil' is used to 'Flame on others only'..

and on those who deserved to be flamed on... :D

I have a Diploma in MCFology.

According to observation, the gear oil in porsche is exceptionally flammable.

Anyway, I don't say anymore liao. [:p][sweatdrop]

Jokes aside...beside petrol...power steering fulid is also flammable...

My old B14 burst into flame (small one) after impact...heng the whole car not burned...managed to put the fire out with the help of fellow motorist.

I believe with a fire this size, those toy fire extingushers sold at supermarkets are useless. May need foam fire extinguishers to put out the fire.

that kind of fire extinguisher means to get YOU out off car without burning alive, not put out fire.

This kind of fire i think at least 10kg fm200 lor.

Edited by Cavver

that kind of fire extinguisher means to get YOU out off car without burning alive, not put out fire.

This kind of fire i think at least 10kg fm200 lor.

Many years back, got one ex-colleague bought one toy fire extinguisher saying just in case need to fight fire... Nowadays if CNG car on fire, just run for our lives. It takes at least 2 fire trucks from SCDF to put out the CNG vehicle fire.

I believe with a fire this size, those toy fire extingushers sold at supermarkets are useless. May need foam fire extinguishers to put out the fire.

Seriously speaking, just run for your life. Even if you can put out the fire, do you want to drive a repaired but half burnt chasis?