Malaysia : Road Trip to Cameron Highlands

1fast1

Sounds like sch hols are very crowded. But dun have choice, have to go during hols. Unless I leave the boys behind...

You can minimize the problem by going in the March or September holidays. Also on holidays for schools only e.g children's day, teacher's day, school aniversary etc. Avoid weekends, that includes Friday.

Avoid clashing with holidays and school holidays in Malaysia will save you 1/2 the problem.

Stay near to Brinchang or Tanah Ratah so that you can walk if the traffic is too bad. Strawberry Park and Equatorial are hardly what I would consider walking distance.

Back from Cameron. Overall, a very fun drive up. Found the Simpang Pulai route kinda long, so drove down via Tapah instead. It wasn't that bad & it was more scenic.

Weather was perfect. Cool & nice. Just need a light pull over for the nights. Steam boat at Brinchang was nice & cheap @ RM15 per head with free refill for veg!! Tea was good at the Sugei Palas & Cameron Valley plantation. Nothing much to do besides visiting some nursery & tea plantations. Not a place for active people & shopaholics!!

My apartment at Greenhill was nothing to shout about. Kinda rundown. Will not go back again. Probably will go for Heritage Hotel at Tanah Rata or Lake House at Ringlet or Cameron Highland resort if we are to go again in the future.

Back from Cameron. Overall, a very fun drive up. Found the Simpang Pulai route kinda long, so drove down via Tapah instead. It wasn't that bad & it was more scenic.

Weather was perfect. Cool & nice. Just need a light pull over for the nights. Steam boat at Brinchang was nice & cheap @ RM15 per head with free refill for veg!! Tea was good at the Sugei Palas & Cameron Valley plantation. Nothing much to do besides visiting some nursery & tea plantations. Not a place for active people & shopaholics!!

My apartment at Greenhill was nothing to shout about. Kinda rundown. Will not go back again. Probably will go for Heritage Hotel at Tanah Rata or Lake House at Ringlet or Cameron Highland resort if we are to go again in the future.

Welcome back bro! glad you like the place. So envious wana go again but must wait till sep/oct where my OC can take leave as she just changed job. go end of the year also very cold cold...can play dragon's breath too! [:p]

Btw you never go up to the peak? once in a lifetime wor. [:/]

i stayed at Heritage when i last went there in April. The hotel has a new wing that is newly renovated, and the balcony overlooks the mountains. The hotel is within walking distance to the town as well, so it is very convenient if you wanna visit Starbucks.

The night market is a 10min drive away. But do go there early to secure a nice parking space and avoid the crowd. I love the food.. fried chicken, corn, char kuay tiao. Can tabao back, sit by the balcony, and enjoy the food and the view.

I went up via the old road (Ringlet ,, darn siong) and down via new (went to Ipoh and stayed over). Would love to visit the place again.. but the journey is kinda daunting. :p

Edited by Chrispie

i stayed at Heritage when i last went there in April. The hotel has a new wing that is newly renovated, and the balcony overlooks the mountains. The hotel is within walking distance to the town as well, so it is very convenient if you wanna visit Starbucks.

The night market is a 10min drive away. But do go there early to secure a nice parking space and avoid the crowd. I love the food.. fried chicken, corn, char kuay tiao. Can tabao back, sit by the balcony, and enjoy the food and the view.

I went up via the old road (Ringlet ,, darn siong) and down via new (went to Ipoh and stayed over). Would love to visit the place again.. but the journey is kinda daunting. :p

Must have been a blast driving an Alfa down Simpang Pulai [thumbsup]

Actually Heritage is at least a 20min walk to the town. Should be a nice stroll for adults. But with kids, I'd drive over to Starbucks... Yes, it was very new & we keep popping over to sit around the lounge feeding the koi as our apt is just next to it.

The corn is good. Sweet & juicy!!!

Back from Cameron too, via Simpan Pulai.

Anyone try to go to the peak of Gunung Brinchang? I gave up when I almost reach the top as the road condition seems very bad and I do not seems to be able to find a place to have a nice view.

Back from Cameron too, via Simpan Pulai.

Anyone try to go to the peak of Gunung Brinchang? I gave up when I almost reach the top as the road condition seems very bad and I do not seems to be able to find a place to have a nice view.

i saw the route up to the peak..i need a compact SUV to do that... [sweatdrop] hence, i proceed to boh tea instead...

Edited by Itsec

i saw the route up to the peak..i need a compact SUV to do that... [sweatdrop] hence, i proceed to boh tea instead...

I visted Boh tea, so thought of trying to reach the top. And it is almost impossible to find a U-turn point!

Welcome back bro! glad you like the place. So envious wana go again but must wait till sep/oct where my OC can take leave as she just changed job. go end of the year also very cold cold...can play dragon's breath too! [:p]

Btw you never go up to the peak? once in a lifetime wor. [:/]

No lah... The road up Boh tea centre was quite busy when I visited last Sunday. Reckon there would be many who wants to go up the peak also. So decided to skip that place.

hmmm nice meh this place? i rather go genting highlands lol.

Relaxing & nice weather. Much cooler than Genting.

Genting is too commercialised already. Full of Ah Tiong groups... I've never spotted any one on Cameron during my trip last week.

Hi guys, i'm planning a road trip to Cameron highlands this Christmas Eve. Can someone advise how far as in how many KMs to Cameron from Singapore? Whats the road conditions like at Cameron highlands (i.e pot-holes, landslides etc).

The trip from Singapore to Cameroon is around 400 plus KM is you exit from Simpang Pulai new road up there and the road is good with 2 lane up and 2 lane down.If from old road will be shorter and to many turn and usually a lot of lorry use this old road.

As what Fadzell said. Roads are pretty smooth via Simpang Pulai. But do expect heavy rain so remember to check your tyres. Not too sure about landslides as i did not encounter any on my way up before.

the new roads are better with road reflectors. if u are driving a manual car, go easy on the clutch and make use of engine brakes. once u reach the bottom of cameron highlands, it will be about 2 hours drive up to the top. (its not like Genting).

i drove there at night as i think its easier to see oncoming vehicles due to the headlights. to each his own. from singapore to cameron takes about 7 hrs drive @ average 130 km/h with 2 pit-stops (toilet break and makan2) and 2 top-ups.

do have a co-driver to talk to u throughout the trip so that u dont feel sleepy.

take care and have a safe trip. use a GPS if u have 1. its really handy.