National Service in Singapore

Scb11980

ns50_1.jpg

I wondered if any of these has an real impact on the moral of our National Service men.

With our military assets being more and more sophisticated, more and more secret or classified information, would we see a professional army being form?

I wondered if any of these has an real impact on the moral of our National Service men.

With our military assets being more and more sophisticated, more and more secret or classified information, would we see a professional army being form?

$$$ confirm got impact la. Don't give lame shit like Safra membership, useless medal/watch can already. 

Singapore will never abolish NS.... Otherwise how to keep the population in check? NS is where they kill the spirit of young men so they just follow like sheep.

well, operating complex assets will need deep training..

helo, fixed wing, missile FO. all regulars

repairs maybe outsourced..GLC contractors?

arty and tanks maybe still NSF.

elements of engineers maybe getting more complex.

navy always mix NSF and regular. they always short of men. potential to see more de-NSFing.

again the numbers and back bone.. the cannon fodder, that's still NSF.

how much to pay a rifleman? not going to change that for sure.

$$$ confirm got impact la. Don't give lame shit like Safra membership, useless medal/watch can already. 

Singapore will never abolish NS.... Otherwise how to keep the population in check? NS is where they kill the spirit of young men so they just follow like sheep.

true. except for bandung, everything also can... that's the exception.

already have all the time ..... e.g. SOF  :D   

Anyone wanna buy my vouchers? Selling at 85$ when I collect it  [laugh]

i think i saw at the NTUC checkout counter, can use these vouchers.

Yeah but I seldom go to NTUC.... Most prob these vouchers will sit at home and I forget about them until expiry....

I also have 3 golden village cards (with 38 bucks inside each) that expires in nov or something.... 25% discount, any movie freak wants?  [sweatdrop]

Otherwise I will put in the angbao for my cousin's wedding next month  [lipsrsealed]

Yeah but I seldom go to NTUC.... Most prob these vouchers will sit at home and I forget about them until expiry....

I also have 3 golden village cards (with 38 bucks inside each) that expires in nov or something.... 25% discount, any movie freak wants?  [sweatdrop]

Otherwise I will put in the angbao for my cousin's wedding next month  [lipsrsealed]

these vouchers are very widely accepted. I got a pdf from my ICT unit whatsapp group.

Really lot of places can use...

Big Boss spotted. :ph34r:

no time for grocery and movies...

You can exchange the vouchers with shopping mall vouchers.

https://www.mindef.gov.sg/NS50/merchantlist.html

Food & Beverage

Agrobazaar GREAThai Polar Puff & Cakes AJ Delights Griddy Pondok Gurame Ajisen Gourmet Town Hanamidori Ramen Champion Ajisen Hong Kong Sheng Kee Dessert Restaurant Hoshigaoka Andersen’s of Denmark Hot Stones Rocku Yakiniku Ah Poh Kitchen House of Roasted Duck Saizeriya Bakerzin J3 Cold Pressed Juice Sakae Sushi Bangkok Jam Jack’s Place Santaro by Gion Barossa Japanese Gourmet Town Seoul Garden Beard Papa Ju Hao Xiao Long Bao Seoul Garden Hotpot Bee Cheng Hiang Jumping Jack Shabuya & Shochu Bar Botejyu San Kazokutei Shiok! Kitchen Catering BreadTalk Kotsujiru Nabe Siam Kitchen Butterscotch Cafe Krispy Kreme Si Chuan Dou Hua Carl’s Jr. Kuro Izakaya Simply Wrapps Charcos The Flaming Chicken Le Bistrot de l’Olive Social Square Cornery the Popcorn Gallery Lenas Spizza Crave Lerk Thai Spruce Creative Eateries Catering McDonald’s*^ Suki-Ya Daessiksin Megu Catering Swensen’s Danro Menya Musashi T Bob’s Corner Dolce Tokyo Menzo Butao Tajimaya Dutch Baby Cafe Miam Miam Tambuah Mas Earle Swensen’s Ministry of Food Tensho Eat at Seven Muugu Fork Texas Chicken Eat at Taipei New ManLee Bak Kut Teh The Carvery Eatzi Gourmet Bistro Osaka Ohsho Tip Top Foodfare*# Paddington Pancakes The Ramen Stall Food Republic Paradise Group Talay Thai Fragrance PastaMania Toast Box Fremantle Seafood Market Patara Fine Thai Cuisine Tunglok Group*** Fruit Paradise Pezzo TWG Tea Gao Peng Cuisine Pho Street Vineyard HortPark Insadong Korea Town Pizza Hut Zulos Dessert Place Ginza Kushi-Katsu    

Shopping & Lifestyle

7-Eleven Frasers Centrepoint Malls+ Reebok+++ AMK Hub+ Giant Robinsons+++ AsiaMalls+ Golf House+++ Royal Sporting House+++ Bebe+++ Guardian Sabermach Bershka+++ Hush Puppies Salomon Braun Büffel Isetan Sheng Shiong** Barber Shop Jurong Point+ Singapore Mint Black Tactical Lacoste+++ Spectacle Hut Bossini Lendlease+ Sperry+++ Caesars Lazada# Sportslink CapitaLand MallAsia+ Mac Shop Stradivarius+++ Casio Marks & Spencer+++ Suntec City+ Cheers* Massimo Dutti+++ Kallang Wave Mall+ Cold Storage Miniature Stories TANGS Coast London+++ Mizuno Ted Baker+++ Columbia Mothercare The Grandstand Crystal Time(s)## MPH Bookstores The Social Foot+++ Endermospa Nanyang Optical TOG Connection ezbuy~~ Nautica+++ Urban Homme NTUC FairPrice* OrangeComms Watsons FairPrice Xpress* Orchard Gateway+ Wisma Atria+ Far East Organisation Malls++ Popular World of Sports FortyTwo Pull & Bear+++ X-Boundaries Fossil Quiksilver & Roxy+++ Zara+++

IT & Telco Automotive Education & wellness A.C.Ryan Budget LCentral English^^^ Audio House Caltex Jurong Health Services Aztech ComfortDelGro Kaplan Best Denki Rent-A-Car Raffles Medical Group Courts Sg Drivers Shelton Garmin Thrifty Car Rental Thomson Medical Harvey Norman     M1     Massmark International     MIO     Newstead Technologies     Notebook.com     Nübox     Samsung  

Travel & Leisure Entertainment Bounce Singapore Sentosa Island Canvas Singapore City Tours Adventure Cove Waterpark Golden Village Gardens by the Bay Amara Hotels & Resorts Indochine-Group Green Holidays Tours & Travel 4D Adventureland Club Kyo Holiday Inn Butterfly Park^ Shanghai Dolly JetStar### Go Green Segway^ Shaw Theatres Jurong Bird Park iFly Singapore^ Switch by Timbre KidsSTOP Images of Singapore LIVE^ Timbre Group Millennium Hotels and Resorts Kidzania^   Misa Travel K-Live   Mount Faber Leisure Group Luge^   Novotel Madame Tussauds Singapore^   National Service Resort & Country Club Mega Adventure^   Night Safari Mosh^   Singapore Omni Theatre Resorts World Singapore^^   PARKROYAL on Beach Road S.E.A. Aquarium   River Safari Sentosa Merlion^   Science Centre Singapore Tiger Sky Tower^   Singapore Flyer Trick Eye Museum^   Singapore Zoo Universal Studios Singapore   Star Cruises WaveHouse^   Sun Tanning Studio Wings of Time^   Snow City  

perlini is silver. dunnoe about ring but their necklaces and pendants are pocket friendly for a limited budget school kid... [:p]

Ya lor.  Last time got many outlets.  Now all closed down liao.

Wah. Such a long list...

But I don't spend money on any of them other than m1.

Think no need to sell since I'm planning a new phone in Sept. Maybe the new lg v30

Wah. Such a long list...

But I don't spend money on any of them other than m1.

Think no need to sell since I'm planning a new phone in Sept. Maybe the new lg v30

u only use redmart?

No CS/Sheng Shiong/NTUC?

u only use redmart?

No CS/Sheng Shiong/NTUC?

Very very very seldom.

Maybe when I run out of eggs/bread then I'll just pop by and buy that 1 item before heading home. Purchase not likely to hit $10 which I assume will be the lowest denomination for the coupon.

Baywatch!  :wub:

Luckily I read your post. Later I will go and check my GV card  [;)]

Edited by Bismarck

Some 18,000 soldiers to be trained in counter-terrorism yearly as SAF ramps up response to terror threat

SINGAPORE - The Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) is making a suite of changes to land, air and sea operations to better tackle the scourge of terrorism, which has risen in worrying intensity and proximity to Singapore.

Outlining the steps, Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen said some 18,000 soldiers, including full-time national servicemen (NSFs) and NSmen, will be trained yearly at the Island Defence Training Institute, which opens in end-July.

The training will cover areas such as scenario-based simulation and live-firing for homeland security operations; search-and-arrest procedures to be undertaken by SAF personnel; knowledge of legal powers and rights of private defence; and retractable truncheon drills.

If the need arises, selected NS units may also be deployed for homeland security operations during in-camp training (ICT), such as joint deterrence patrols with the Singapore Police Force island-wide and coastal surveillance operations.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/some-18000-soldiers-to-be-trained-in-counter-terrorism-yearly-as-saf-ramps-up-response-to

Edited by Blueray

Some 18,000 soldiers to be trained in counter-terrorism yearly as SAF ramps up response to terror threat

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/some-18000-soldiers-to-be-trained-in-counter-terrorism-yearly-as-saf-ramps-up-response-to

Should have done this long ago lah. At least make the must-waste duration of NS a bit more worthwhile. Can also teach something of use (the law) to the ns guys.

Better than what they made me do: carry bridging parts build bridge, use the what jack-hammer thing to break the cement road, blow lots of holes in Area A/B, strip and replace the vehicle tracks, etc. etc.