Homogeneous Tiles Polishing

Octopus

Hi All,

Does anyone has experience on homogeneous tiles polishing service, especially those glossy type of tiles?

I hear from ID and contractors that glossy homogeneous tiles cannot be polished. But from internet I discovered 2 companies whom claim it can be done.... For fine scratches on the homogeneous tiles I understand from one of the company saying "diamond cutting" method can remove it? Please let me know your experience if any. Thanks.

How can be done... homogeneous tiles only got top coat hor, you polish liao then left with what??? hahahahaha...

Marble can lah, cos whole piece is marble mah...

How can be done... homogeneous tiles only got top coat hor, you polish liao then left with what??? hahahahaha...

Yup, once polished becomes dull liao 'cos coating gone.

I saw some of my tiles have dull corners (polished off due to uneven surface).

Hi All,

Does anyone has experience on homogeneous tiles polishing service, especially those glossy type of tiles?

I hear from ID and contractors that glossy homogeneous tiles cannot be polished. But from internet I discovered 2 companies whom claim it can be done.... For fine scratches on the homogeneous tiles I understand from one of the company saying "diamond cutting" method can remove it? Please let me know your experience if any. Thanks.

Polishing can be done. But the method nothing to do with diamond cutting. Hard stone used to polish the tiles by grinding just like terrazzo flooring. Just curious: why so many people want their floor hard, glaring, and slippery?

That is not homogenous tile. That is glazed tile. Do get the facts right, before you misled with your 'advice'

Hi All,

Do not listen to conmen. Only glazed tiles are glossy and can not be polished. Homogenous tiles are dull by comparison but can be polished to even out the undulating worn tiles.

That is not homogenous tile. That is glazed tile. Do get the facts right, before you misled with your 'advice'

Agree that my knowledge is lacking in tiles. Whatever i know came from renovation done a decade back and from my contractor. First time i hear about glaze tiles... Anyway, i was told only marble and real timber can sand down and polish. Cheers.

We do polishing, not sanding, on marble and terrazzo. We do sanding on timber. Glazed tiles we do not sand/polish. At one time there was contractor doing applying a coating to refurblish worn glazed tiles (not heard of them recently).

So nobody ever done polishing on homogeneous tiles?

I not quite sure what is the difference between homogeneous tiles and glazed tiles, but from internet I read homogeneous tiles can either be glazed or un-glazed. Homogeneous tiles is a type of ceremic tiles with same colour & pattern through out the thickness.

I assume polishing for glazed homogeneous tiles for fine scratches (not deep cut or cracks) is like removing the swirl marks on a car paint work? The top coat of car paint work can be like the glazed surface of a tiles, so fine scratched or stains can be removed and yet base coat still looks good? It can be done in theory, right?

So nobody ever done polishing on homogeneous tiles?

I not quite sure what is the difference between homogeneous tiles and glazed tiles, but from internet I read homogeneous tiles can either be glazed or un-glazed. Homogeneous tiles is a type of ceremic tiles with same colour & pattern through out the thickness.

I assume polishing for glazed homogeneous tiles for fine scratches (not deep cut or cracks) is like removing the swirl marks on a car paint work? The top coat of car paint work can be like the glazed surface of a tiles, so fine scratched or stains can be removed and yet base coat still looks good? It can be done in theory, right?

homogeneous as the name suggests, means that the composition of the tile is essentially the same no matter whether you take a cross section or longitudinal cut of the slab. There is nothing superficial about the composition. Therefore, when one does invasive procedures which involves removing the topcoat, the composition of the tile will not be affected. Of course, if the homogeneous tile has been laid with a shiny top coat, that will be affected obviously.

Glazed tiles are no different from your porcelain wares. The core of the tile is simply white or grey for the matter, the top coat that provides the external appearance is simply a veneer. If you try hard enough, you will strip this layer and end up with a dull interior. The top coat provides the colour and texture, so even if you replace the shiny clear coat, the appearance of the glazed is essentially ruined.

Edited by Happily1986

Hi All,

neber heard homo tiles can polish. better to ask them to demo on their own tile instead of experimenting on your floor in case it causes more damage than b4 and use it as an excuse to upsell you a new homo 'package'.

Hi, I am stone restoration specialist, and has been in this line more than 20 years. Please let me offer my insights. 

Nowadays, homogeneous tiles can be grind and polished like marble floor, leaving no pointing gap, and relieving you the trouble of re-polishing. 

End result will render a dust/ stain-free pointing gap. 

Please feel free to visit https://www.facebook.com/Seiko21PteLtd/

for more information. 

You may call me up at 90040986, Ah Long for more information. 

Thank you.  [;)]