ST Forum:Do Parallel Importers Ignore Manufacturers' Recall?

Vulcann

From ST Forum:

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/...ory_757250.html

Do parallel importers ignore manufacturers' recall advice?

Published on Jan 19, 2012

TWO years ago, I deviated from my habit of buying a car from an authorised dealer, opting instead to buy one from a parallel importer because of the huge savings. But I regret that decision now.

Some time ago, I received a letter informing me that there was a manufacturer's recall for my Honda Stream.

When I telephoned the workshop named, I was told that I had to pay for my car to be checked.

From my experience with authorised distributors, I knew there was no such charge. But as the amount was small, I did not object.

When I took my car to the workshop, the staff inspected it briefly and said there was no need to change anything. I was shocked because from my experience with authorised dealers, whenever the car company announced a recall, the part would be changed regardless of whether it was defective.

When I demanded that the part be changed, the workshop manager said there was no stock and that I had to obtain the part from the parallel importer.

When I checked with the parallel importer, I was told that as long as the workshop said the part was not faulty, there was no need to replace it.

I discovered that some of my colleagues who had bought cars from parallel importers also faced the same situation during a recall. None had the car parts changed.

The Land Transport Authority should investigate the practice for safety reasons.

Sam Gan

Edited by Vulcann

Don't worry lah.

Recalls are generally not essential to change anything.

It not like the whole car for the past two years of ownership means nothing, n suddenly become critical after knowing about the recall? Come on.....ignorance is bliss. And if ther is nothing wrong for two years. It will last few more years to go.

Don't worry lah.

Recalls are generally not essential to change anything.

It not like the whole car for the past two years of ownership means nothing, n suddenly become critical after knowing about the recall? Come on.....ignorance is bliss. And if ther is nothing wrong for two years. It will last few more years to go.

Yar lor, without knowing the content of the recall we should not jump to the conclusion.

Recall can be a quick check, part replacement and sometimes removal of part.

This guy is a joker. JDM means Japanese Domestic Market, the PI car he bought is meant for Japanese Market.

The PIs buy from Japanese car exporters and not the car manufacturers.

May be he can ship the car back to Japan and get FOC rectification for the recall. LOL. :D

Edited by Alim

Classic case - when buying you must understand what you are paying for.

It's like the difference when buying computers between international warranty, onsite and walk-in.

When buying from AD you are paying for all the infrastructure that supports the dealership, including servicing, recalls, ensuring the model is "customised" to the local market, and more.

If want to forgo all of this by all means use a PI - just don't KPKB later when it comes back and bites you in the backside.

Generally speaking, my rule of thumb would be: the more "basic" the car, the more reason there is to go to a PI - as the car becomes more "premium" or uses newer technology, the more reason there is to stick to an AD. (or to put another way - the more expensive a car, the better off you are sticking to AD)

I bought cars from AD and PI before. My view is to stick to AD for continental cars and PI is fine for Japanese car. I'm a fussy car owner and having bought a continental car for over $200K i expect service and I'm glad i chose AD. All problems were resolved without headaches and worries.