The problem with Singapore

Donut

Now we know why we can never have a Steve Jobs or Bill Gates in Spore?

Coz we are taught to be KIASU!

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/the-flipsid...BHRlc3QD;_ylv=3

At the recent pri school renion, met a 'long lost' classmate who quit elite school at sec1 when he decided he wanted technical knowledge.... went to techical school (which was looked down upon at the time) mixing with all the 'gangsters' new classmates bigger size than him (these boys repeated classes 2 times!!).....

he was a rebel type of person..... eventually also didnt go NUS but found his way to the States for university education......... now he's a Professor but quite an unconventional one..... laughed the loudest when he talked to us and takes public transport in his 50% unkept look/dressing.... what you call this type of rebel+intellect+siao-lang??

carefree .... not the sanitary pad ads [laugh] [laugh]

At the recent pri school renion, met a 'long lost' classmate who quit elite school at sec1 when he decided he wanted technical knowledge.... went to techical school (which was looked down upon at the time) mixing with all the 'gangsters' new classmates bigger size than him (these boys repeated classes 2 times!!).....

I would like to address your ex-classmate as LT, our Singapore "Lost Talent"

Lee Kuan Yew sad about Drained Brains, its really his only Hard Truth in his lifetime.

The Singapore system started out and remained with the same notion till now :

WE CANNOT FAIL.

So this breeds Kiasuism and all follow a straight road of learning that leads to the slaughter house.

The more MOE tries to shift focus from Scores to Grades to Aptitude, the more the Parents pump steroids into their children with Tuition.

Many people say the International school educational methods prepares the kids to face the real world but very expensive but is it possible for SG MOE to adopts their methods by educating the Teachers with such skills and put into our Neighbourhood schools ??

The Singapore system started out and remained with the same notion till now :

WE CANNOT FAIL.

So this breeds Kiasuism and all follow a straight road of learning that leads to the slaughter house.

The more MOE tries to shift focus from Scores to Grades to Aptitude, the more the Parents pump steroids into their children with Tuition.

Many people say the International school educational methods prepares the kids to face the real world but very expensive but is it possible for SG MOE to adopts their methods by educating the Teachers with such skills and put into our Neighbourhood schools ??

On our Sunday family outing, I noticed my only daughter was very sleepy in the front seat while I'm driving, asked her never sleeps well last night, she said studied untill 4am to prepare for her GP test papers on Monday(today), I'm glad that she take everythings seriously but bleeding in my heart to see her struggling.

Trying very hard to persuade her to take it easy, explaining to her that we as parent already very happy to see her putting hard efforts and will accept whatever results comes by.

She softly answered...papa mamie, don't worry about me, I know how to care for my health and studies. Straight away I make a U-turn back home for her to rest and drive on to buy take-away-meals for the family.

On our Sunday family outing, I noticed my only daughter was very sleepy in the front seat while I'm driving, asked her never sleeps well last night, she said studied untill 4am to prepare for her GP test papers on Monday(today), I'm glad that she take everythings seriously but bleeding in my heart to see her struggling.

Trying very hard to persuade her to take it easy, explaining to her that we as parent already very happy to see her putting hard efforts and will accept whatever results comes by.

She softly answered...papa mamie, don't worry about me, I know how to care for my health and studies. Straight away I make a U-turn back home for her to rest and drive on to buy take-away-meals for the family.

GP, English, Chinese, need to prepare one meh? How to prepare? I never prepare these (languages) for all my life. I thought it's a skill acquired through daily use and practice?

If you talk about Physics, Chemistry or Maths, I can understand it needs preparation. But,......!!!!????!!!! [:/] [:/] [:/]

If the papa never insisted on a Sunday day out....then she may not have a to study so late on Saturday night to compensate for the hours that would be lost on Sunday doing family things.

So you see....who make the situation worst?

GP, English, Chinese, need to prepare one meh? How to prepare? I never prepare these (languages) for all my life. I thought it's a skill acquired through daily use and practice?

If you talk about Physics, Chemistry or Maths, I can understand it needs preparation. But,......!!!!????!!!! [:/] [:/] [:/]

She took tuitions at Bishan, she got some homeworks from her tuitor to exercise writings, my regrets is to allow her to joins these tuition classes with all the Hwa Chong Smart Students, thus seeing her to chase the best out of the excellent.

Edited by Fongmy

If the papa never insisted on a Sunday day out....then she may not have a to study so late on Saturday night to compensate for the hours that would be lost on Sunday doing family things.

So you see....who make the situation worst?

For years, we've been eating out on weekends, both ladies enjoys eating and shopping, I'm only interested sipping coffee at snacks shop. This is what our family outing all about in Singapore besides Malaysia States hopping or oversea vacations.

The way I see it, students are instill with fear at a young age. The fear of failure. Following the system is a must. By not following you will fail or so seems to be what the "big picture" is about. I think students must experience failure inorder to achieve success. Hence the phrase "if you first dun succeed, try, try again". To fail in the system does not mean "it's the end" but the system somehow make it seems like it's so. Why do that?

There's a lack of "freedom" in our education. Teachers point the way and students must follow. They are not given the chance to roam around figure things out and find their own way. In the old days this would be called brainwash cos you are not to question the authority, you are to follow without doubt and you will achieve the success...or so it seems.

"Training" ppl to listen & follow make things easy. You dun have to come up with ideas to deal with troublemakers and "fix" them. Whatever you say, they follow. Isn't it great? [sly]

then the garment shouldnt even start talking about entreprenuership, venture overseas blah blah. they fully know that our education system will never make it so long as they are not willing to change it

If one keeps an open mind, one will not see anything weird in his behaviour, dressing, his career, his education path, etc.

Why assume that a professor must come from certain schools, act a certain way, dress a certain way? That is such a conformist and straitjacketed Singaporean way of thinking. Why must everything and everyone be categorised and classified in a certain way, ie:- if you are such-and-such, you cannot do such-and-such, etc?

If i am a masters degree graduate from an elite US university, work in a bank, drive a nice car, read German literature, am i also allowed to dye my hair, smoke weed, dress like a mat rok, hang out at coffeeshops, go lupsup KTV and listen to hokkien songs? Or is that too "unconventional" (in your words), it shatters the entire classification system of Singapore society and people will look at me like i belong in IMH?