Cheap red wine

Aaron_soh80

Guest EverestLeasing

Try visiting Tampines One's bottles & bottles @ B1 last week i pass by, i think i saw there is sale going on. worth checking out if you stay at the east side.

If you like a little spiciness in your wine, go for Shiraz...there is this value for money Shiraz at NTUC. The label is Bulls and Roses. It's a South Australian wine. You can pair this wine with lamb (best) or any roast meats. Wait for them to have a promo on this wine, and you can get a bottle easily for around S$14-$15. There is another label "2 Old Men", which is pretty nice as well. Both labels are under $20.

u are damm weird.... no one likes siap siap taste except you

anyway since u love siap siap one, you buy anything except Merlot wine. As you know, red wine has different types, right? (Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, etc). Merlot is lighter and gives smooth taste, so it doesn't have the siap siap taste.

just go NTUC buy.... lots of cheap wines there

if you live near Kallang, go to the Kalleng Leisure Park, at the basement you see Cold Storage. There is a Wine shop there, selling really cheap wine from $10+ up..........

Yupz.. i like siap siap more than those la la (hot)...everytime i buy aso very hot.. cos i anyhow choose..

got one time i buy ALICE white .. quite nice.. but no promotion le..

NTUC got so many brand below $30.. so need to ask u guys which is better.. i know siap siap is young wine.. but i dun mind lar.. as long as not those la la taste can liao..

i stay jurong lay.. anway thanks.. u drive a city aso rite ?

If you like a little spiciness in your wine, go for Shiraz...there is this value for money Shiraz at NTUC. The label is Bulls and Roses. It's a South Australian wine. You can pair this wine with lamb (best) or any roast meats. Wait for them to have a promo on this wine, and you can get a bottle easily for around S$14-$15. There is another label "2 Old Men", which is pretty nice as well. Both labels are under $20.

No no.. i dislike la la (hot) spicy taste..any siap siap brand?

Everyone got different taste mah. Siap siap wine could also be quite nice with meat.

For TS, I think you are referring to high tannin wine which gives you the dry and siap siap taste, not exactly sour. If it turned sour, then it could be spoiled. So next time you go to Wine Connection or whichever place which allows wine tasting, you can ask for high tannin or full-bodied wine.

Yah He likes Tannic Wine. Most Sgeans don't go for such wines, which can be due to our diet.

Unless you can afford a wine cellar., Wine cooler is a must. :) Singapore wine prices vary too much, I think because nobody cares much about the wine they buy. Every place could be different price for same brand/year at the same time, and changes over short term. When cheap, just buy half a dozen and keep at home. Many places got discount for half a dozen purchase.

Even if can afford wine cellar, also no approval to dig hole and build one. [laugh] [laugh]

I usually buy 2 - 4 bottles each time and consume them within the week.

My next doctor appointment for my liver should be coming soon, if you are interested to know. :D

Everyone got different taste mah. Siap siap wine could also be quite nice with meat.

For TS, I think you are referring to high tannin wine which gives you the dry and siap siap taste, not exactly sour. If it turned sour, then it could be spoiled. So next time you go to Wine Connection or whichever place which allows wine tasting, you can ask for high tannin or full-bodied wine.

I always think siap siap taste is those budget red wine .. i juz drink for fun de.. not much expectation..

there are so many brand in NTUC which make me confuse when come to selection.. tends to forget the brand which is nicer..

By the way if i open a red wine.. how long will it last? can put inside fridge?

Yupz.. i like siap siap more than those la la (hot)...everytime i buy aso very hot.. cos i anyhow choose..

got one time i buy ALICE white .. quite nice.. but no promotion le..

NTUC got so many brand below $30.. so need to ask u guys which is better.. i know siap siap is young wine.. but i dun mind lar.. as long as not those la la taste can liao..

i stay jurong lay.. anway thanks.. u drive a city aso rite ?

how u know i drive city arh? LOL

siap siap is called dry wine.... i think u shld go to a wine shop and ask for recommendation, then u will learn from there. so that next time u know what u want to buy.

Even if can afford wine cellar, also no approval to dig hole and build one. [laugh] [laugh]

My next doctor appointment for my liver should be coming soon, if you are interested to know. :D

wah lau.. 2-4 bottle per week? dun over consume red wine.. one day one glass is healty..

u are an alcoholic.........

TS, this is just a general rule of thumb, yah? Choose afew bottles of wine which is within your budget, and like what another poster here said, the younger the wine, the higher the tannin in it. So, more siap.

Next, try this...poke your thumb into the base of each bottle. Buy the bottle which allows you to poke the deepest...aiyah...I know poke is not a right word lah...mebbe insert better, but knowing how MCF has become, poke or insert will also turn into something that can usually be found in SBF.

I find that this works for me 90% of the time, especially when I'm in Aust and the wines can be as low as $4.99 to $7.99. I was told of this by an Australian liquor store owner. So far, it hasn't failed me. Don't ask me the logic. I was too busy 'poking' to remember what that fellow was saying...:)

Bro, Alice White is a brand that got many varieties you know ?

Tat time i buy a blue cap on it.. which taste siap siap.. but now the price go up again.. got to choose other brand..

how u know i drive city arh? LOL

siap siap is called dry wine.... i think u shld go to a wine shop and ask for recommendation, then u will learn from there. so that next time u know what u want to buy.

MCF very easy to CSI.. lol.. urs 5G ?

i got ask before but the NTUC auntie like blur blur de...

Asian food here typically matches well with Pinot Noir, Merlot, Chardonnay, Riesling.. in order of strong to lighter taste food.

He like siap siap means also he likes to Chiak GU Bak one...

I personally like Ice Wine but @ $99/bottle from DFS ... [bigcry]

So a Riesling or Pinot Noir is good substitute lor...

What's strange though is a lot of Singaporeans go for Bordeaux, which is the most well known and common French wine and most of them are Cabernet Sauvignon, or a blend. The cheaper ones tend to be exported more and are Cabernet heavy.

Bordeaux - was there many years ago. you brought me to memory lane...

MCF very easy to CSI.. lol.. urs 5G ?

i got ask before but the NTUC auntie like blur blur de...

dont ask NTUC lah.... wrong place to learn anything.

go to those specialised wine shops and ask.... lots of them around, even in the west. just google around.

u can try the kallang leisure one, though its far for you.

mine is 4G only... where got $$ to upgrade?