Cheap red wine

Aaron_soh80

dont ask NTUC lah.... wrong place to learn anything.

go to those specialised wine shops and ask.... lots of them around, even in the west. just google around.

u can try the kallang leisure one, though its far for you.

mine is 4G only... where got $$ to upgrade?

lol..okie..den wad taste u like ?

mine aso 4G.. more poorer.. non vtec..

Blue cap, red wine according to the website is Merlot what.

yupz.. tat y the price go up.. i had to change brand le.. i like the blue one ..siap siap.. but the red one quite la la (spicy)

wah lau.. 2-4 bottle per week? dun over consume red wine.. one day one glass is healty..

Can drink often, but don't have to drink it all up. Maybe invite MCFs over to finish for you :)

I got a 40 bottle wine cooler to keep our supplies steady.

u are an alcoholic.........

Guys, don't liddat leh. I got wife to share the wines with. So that makes 2 alcoholics.

[laugh] [laugh]

Anyway, wine cannot keep too long under normal conditions or in the fridge. Especially the reds. Vibrations and wrong temperature will spoil the wine.

Am I right?

lol..okie..den wad taste u like ?

mine aso 4G.. more poorer.. non vtec..

i'm a very light drinker, so i go for Merlot or Moscato. smooth and light. LOL

Can spoil, but not really so easy. Humidity and temperature is important especially in our warm climate, therefore, buy a wine cooler.

The wine you buy from supermarket or wine cellar also keep for some time. Some supermarket never store well, wine taste like vinegar. Actually kenna once from DFS, wasn't sure if it was DFS storage or own storage problem.

ya... my place no space now... [laugh] [laugh]

i'm a very light drinker, so i go for Merlot or Moscato. smooth and light. LOL

May I interest you in Wolf Blass Moscato? Buy 2 give 2 crystal glass for luxurious drinking experience. Only thing is, too fragile to wash later on!

[laugh][:p]

May I interest you in Wolf Blass Moscato? Buy 2 give 2 crystal glass for luxurious drinking experience. Only thing is, too fragile to wash later on!

[laugh][:p]

I know! i always buy Wolf Blass Moscato everytime!

He likes "siap", Chianti should suit his taste but price-wise may be a bit more expensive. Can find a few brands of Chianti in Carrefour (Suntec City).

Yupz.. i like siap siap more than those la la (hot)...everytime i buy aso very hot.. cos i anyhow choose..

got one time i buy ALICE white .. quite nice.. but no promotion le..

NTUC got so many brand below $30.. so need to ask u guys which is better.. i know siap siap is young wine.. but i dun mind lar.. as long as not those la la taste can liao..

i stay jurong lay.. anway thanks.. u drive a city aso rite ?

If u stay at Jurong, go to Fairprice Extra in Jurong point. Lots of wine there. Otherwise, look out for promotion at Auric Pacific.

Bought a carton with 2 bottles free during Dec 11

Wow great post and lots of advice =D :D

Like to know, is it true that Australia wine is better tasting compare to others at the same price.

Meaning that a $30 dollars Australia wine taste as good as a $40 from frace or someother place. Heard this phrase before but donno how true is it lol.

Any red wine lover ? can recommend cheap brand to me ? i like those sour taste so call siap siap ..

budget below $30..thanks.. [:p]

Make your own wine, harvest yr own grape . . . one day you're a wine vineyard owner.

As with many things here we get a raw deal on wines.

You wouldn't find any French or Australian paying S$25 for an everyday wine.

Bonkers.

In fact I reckon any wine over 2 or 3 years old is palmed off on us at a high price because it's gone over the top quallity wise and unacceptable in the country of origin.

My australian friends are in agreement.

When in France and I've been many times when I worked in UK you see most French buying daily drinking wines for the equivalent of S$4 or less per bottle.

There are maybe 4 or 5 different ranges of wine at this price.

It's better than most wines you'll find in the supermarkets here.

Drink tao huay zhui and Sugarcane lah. i didn't know we grow wine in SG.

I can also say sugar cane juice taste better in SG then in France.

Sorry to say a S$ 4 bottle of wine bought in France will be better than 90% of wines bought here up to S$ 30.

I will guarantee it :ph34r:

Can't vouch for the wines bought here over S$ 30 because I won't waste my hard earned on them, they certainly won't be worth the price we have to pay.

I take on board the alcohol duty we have to pay but that doesn't alter the quality.

And I repeat a lot of countries will off load their poor quality stuff here and charge high prices for it because 'most' Singaporeans won't know the difference.

I too, like some on here, enjoy a glass with my food and will consume maybe 2 bottles a week.

BTW a glass of wine is worth about 1.5 points and a bottle around 10 points if it's 12.5% proof.

Many governments give an advisory limit for consuming alcohol set at 24 units per week for health reasons so please be aware of that.

That's true, a bottle of Lindeman Cawarra Merlot which i normally drink cost S$22.50/bottle at NTUC which i only paid A$4.75/bottle here, wine in Spore are simply too expensive.

If I remember correctly, in Australia, Wyndham Bin 555 cost about 6 bucks per bottle at those wineshop. Then when it was gaining popularity saw it in local supermart, retail around $25.

Wine appreciation is like coffee appreciation or even tea appreciation.

The most easy way to remember is use your own feature top down.

1) eyes - colour for age, clear or opaque for body .....

2) nose - to sniff for hint of....., then swirl the wine to infuse with air, sniff again for hints of other scents...., another swirl will smell yet another scents.

3) mouth - Take a small mouthful let it sit on your tongue feel the 'weight', below it, at your cheeks, soak it, suck in some air to allow the release of more aroma. swallow it slowly. To taste, to feel the body of the wine and the aftertaste at the throat. This parts has the most description, all the dry, mellow, spice, chocolate, banana, apple, apricot, pineapple, papaya, all comes out, then tannins, acidity and rancid also come out if not to liking.

Use decanter for mature wine to fully bring out the aroma. Unless really have time to slowly swirl it in a large wine glass.

Go to Sheng Siong.....lots of cheap wines. All good table wines.

I will have laughed at your post if I read it few month ago... Recently, I was at Sheng Siong-The verge branch, and I ask the sales lday which wine does she drink.

She recommended Chateau Roberperots 2005. After drinking it, I went back to buy another 6 bottles.

My simple theory of wine drinking is "As long as I like the wine, it is a GOOD wine!"

Cheers.