"New Zealand" is 纽西兰 or 新西兰???

Lurpsexx

To add on,

Indonesia: 印度尼西亚, not 印尼 already

印度尼西亚 has always been the name............印尼 is the short call for it...............i learn this since school days leh.................

印尼 also change to 印度尼西亚 liao

印度尼西亚 has always been the name............印尼 is the short call for it...............i learn this since school days leh.................

Recently all media used the term 新西兰 as new zealand and 澳大利亚 as australia. I heard this is the correct way, as the so-called "old names" are not their official name?!

Well, the most important word here is " recently"

As far back as I can recall, the adverts called new Zealand as niu xi LAN.. It was a milk powder advert, think was anlene or something..

And Indonesia was pronounced as 印尼 when the newscaster was a local lady..

Only recently, did these new terms emerge.. Guess which country people also happened to flood our country recently?

Quantity does hv it's own quality; of screwing up our local lingo..

ok ok..............li wu wah a qiu dian wei ho pey tio boh............ai lim kopi ka dian wei hall wah............. :D :D

ok wa dian li lim kopi.2nd sentence simi ar? [laugh]

I don't really care who is custodian of the language, but how its universally accepted. Look at American English, even Hong Kong Cantonese.

which is why i pointed out initially that you are confusing yourself between the concept of "romanising TOR (terms of reference)" and the concept of "variant of a language".

Wa bro., u English lecturer ah? Your England damn tok long leh.. Still can talk language theory!!

that one i understand but the one with the ending tio bo...... :wacko:

maybe i reading wrongly......hahaha

Tian mo saying u got his hand telephone number tio boh? Hahaha

ohhhhh......hahaha.....sure.....no wonder...i waiting for the "wo pager li"...

.hp number....new for me :D :D but kum sia for the translation...

Edited by Eviilusion

ohhhhh......hahaha.....sure.....no wonder...i waiting for the "wo pager li"....hp number.... :D :D

Pager? Simi Lai eh? Hahaha!

Xiang Ka pager??!!? :D hahaha..

ok wa dian li lim kopi.2nd sentence simi ar? [laugh]

KNN............you have my mobile number right................call me when you want to have coffee.............. [laugh] [laugh]

ohhhhh......hahaha.....sure.....no wonder...i waiting for the "wo pager li"...

.hp number....new for me :D :D but kum sia for the translation...

pager???................pager your CCB lah .............pager.............you have also cannot reach you liao................ [laugh] [laugh]

handphone----------qiu dian wei

number---------------ho bay

handphone number--------------qiu dian wei ho bay.................. [:p][laugh]

KNN............you have my mobile number right................call me when you want to have coffee.............. [laugh]

ok..ok..u got me there....mbile number.....thats y i scratching my head [laugh] [laugh]

i sure callu one....

KNN............you have my mobile number right................call me when you want to have coffee.............. [laugh]

ok..ok..u got me there....mbile number.....thats y i scratching my head [laugh] [laugh]

i sure callu one....

[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]