Small dent, how much to settle?

KARTer

A car reserved and hit my front bumper's corner (near the headlight) slightly when his rear bumper hit my car perpenticularly. His bumper kena a big dent of volley ball size (half ball), mine was fortunate and only about one-quater size of last finger's nail and depressed only slightly about the diameter of a sawing pin smile.gif WHen I stared at m dent, it is visible.

If its your car, would you:-

1. Tell the other driver "Never mind, small matter. No need to pay for the damage"
2. Give him a good scolding and dont collect a cent.
3. Dont scold etc, but ask for compensation on the spot.
4. Insist he pays the repair bill.

If it is (3), how much will you ask him to settle on the spot?

I used gut feel and estimated if I repair (fix dent, spray paint) it may cost me between $ 50 to $200? So I told him "Thanks for apologising, $50 and we settle"

(He apologised at least 4 times during the 8 mins 'discussion')

I will keep the money and only repair after my car collects more dents.

Btw, if its a SHE, will your answer be the same?

Skali he go report you hit him from behind and claim your insurance. His is bigger dent leh U better protect yourself first.

A car reserved and hit my front bumper's corner (near the headlight) slightly when his rear bumper hit my car perpenticularly. His bumper kena a big dent of volley ball size (half ball), mine was fortunate and only about one-quater size of last finger's nail and depressed only slightly about the diameter of a sawing pin [:)] WHen I stared at m dent, it is visible.

1. Tell the other driver "Never mind, small matter. No need to pay for the damage"

I used gut feel and estimated if I repair (fix dent, spray paint) it may cost me between $ 50 to $200? So I told him "Thanks for apologising, $50 and we settle"

|If it is a SHE , there must be 2 criteria.. One , she must be chio and two , must be humble and willing to accept that it's her fault.. Then I'll give response no.1... [rolleyes]

A car reserved and hit my front bumper's corner (near the headlight) slightly when his rear bumper hit my car perpenticularly. His bumper kena a big dent of volley ball size (half ball), mine was fortunate and only about one-quater size of last finger's nail and depressed only slightly about the diameter of a sawing pin [:)] WHen I stared at m dent, it is visible.

Be it He or She, I would write on a piece of paper the details of the accident and the agreement to settle with $50. Sign on the paper and photocopy and give the driver a copy later.

This is to protect you (in case the other party change story) as well as to protect the other driver.

Report the incident to your insurance and give them a copy of the letter.

Even small case, better to be safe than sorry.

Lau nang,

I'll ask him to go to my workshop and ask him to pay the workshop and not me to rectify the issue.

Be it He or She, I would write on a piece of paper the details of the accident and the agreement to settle with $50. Sign on the paper and photocopy and give the driver a copy later.

This is to protect you (in case the other party change story) as well as to protect the other driver.

Report the incident to your insurance and give them a copy of the letter.

Even small case, better to be safe than sorry.

Thats a good tip. Thanks for sharing... [:)]

careful he say u hit him.

u behind leh.

take pic bo? :mellow:

more details on what took place:-

I stopped to pump petrol at the pump. He was pumping up tyres at the air pump located about 9m from the petrol pumps, and his car was parked perpenticular to (with his rear facing the sides of) all the cars and mine which were filling up petrol.

By right he's supposed to park parallel to all of us and just drove strraight off when he finished pumping his tyres. But since he parked right angle to all of us for whatever reason, he had to reverse and then forward to turn to face the same direction as our cars before driving off.

His mistake was he rerversed straight without checking his rear.....his rear bumper hit the corner of my front bumper. If he had turned a little while reversing, he would have missed my bumper.

So I wasnt behind him, my side was facing his rear.

Skali he go report you hit him from behind and claim your insurance. His is bigger dent leh U better protect yourself first.

3 petrol kiosks attendents crowded around and asked him why he didnt check before reversing his car. I will ask the manager of the petrol station to show me the video of the cctv. [:)]

more details on what took place:-

I stopped to pump petrol at the pump. He was pumping up tyres at the air pump located about 9m from the petrol pumps, and his car was parked perpenticular to (with his rear facing the sides of) all the cars and mine which were filling up petrol.

By right he's supposed to park parallel to all of us and just drove strraight off when he finished pumping his tyres. But since he parked right angle to all of us for whatever reason, he had to reverse and then forward to turn to face the same direction as our cars before driving off.

His mistake was he rerversed straight without checking his rear.....his rear bumper hit the corner of my front bumper. If he had turned a little while reversing, he would have missed my bumper.

So I wasnt behind him, my side was facing his rear.

still his rear <_<

if a she 打一炮

she or he also must pay....must follow law

If the driver is a pretty lady, i will go for 4. So i can get hold of her hp numver. [cool]