CPF- to or no to transfer to Special Account

Either way...you must live a long life in order to enjoy the monies inside CPF.

nope, still have the minimum sum barrier need to clear. currently at 131k, increasing every yr. if u 30 by time u suppose withdraw at 67, then it may reach like 250k min sum

CPF is never meant for ownself.

Its for your children. [laugh]

Actually our children will be beri rich.

Our house will be thiers. CPF also goes to them. Whatever $ we leave behind also thiers. :o

Actually in other countries, it's common for people to trade in their property's remaining lease for cashback. Insurance companies underwrite such policies, and the property goes to the insurer upon the insured's death. So the person can cash out and still have a place to stay, and have their property pay for their living expenses.

But here, insurance companies are kiasu, don't see many insurers offering such schemes.

We are destined to die poor. [bigcry]

u think so? by the time time comes to our children, minimum sum will be 500k, withdraw age 70, hdb 3 rm flat cost 600k, 5rm flat cost 1mil. uni education will be 80k.

When we set it for our children, means they can have it on the day we pass on. So minimum sum or withdrawal age don't matter.

At the current interest rates and property prices what would you do with your ordinary CPF. Seems wise to transfer to special acc.

cannot take out even for housing. but "safe" bet unless cpf collapse

My children can have our CPF. but housing will be mine, probably do a reverse mortgage.

yah, reverse mortgage not mature down here. either not attractive enough or not enough info on it.

At the current interest rates and property prices what would you do with your ordinary CPF. Seems wise to transfer to special acc.

Nope.. not wise.. if you put into special acc, it will be "trapped", you cannot withdrawal for property or things things anymore..

My advise is to put your $$ is high dividend stable blue chips..e.g. SPH - 6-7% dividend annually , good times or bad times.. beats the additional 1% that cpf is giving in special account.

When we set it for our children, means they can have it on the day we pass on. So minimum sum or withdrawal age don't matter.

They can have it but it will also be in their cpf account , they cannot have it as cash :-). So as ling as they have it as cpf they will be subjected to cpf rules like min sum for withdrawal.

No children how ? Go to goverment ?

Hrrrr....i thot after 55 yrs old, dont have to return the CPF monies back right ?

Can get outright CASH.

Either way..........house + CPF + Bank Savings CASH from daddy + mommy for 1 kid is hell a lot of money sia!!!!!!!!! [crazy]

Still got life insurance payout lei!!!!!!!!!! [dizzy]

They can have it but it will also be in their cpf account , they cannot have it as cash :-). So as ling as they have it as cpf they will be subjected to cpf rules like min sum for withdrawal.