Chiropractic Treatment

Elmo

my personal experience.........those who know me may remember my back issue..............I tried everything under the sun........and my conclusion is ................"exercise and diet"..........keep your body weight low and strength the muscles ard that area to hold it up........our body is a funny system............as long as you work on it and provide good nutrition.............it will somehow find ways to heal itself............maybe slow tho..............but it will...........

now i have stop going to all these so call whatever........except one where i go and release some blocked blood once a month........but i watch my food and control my body weight.......... and exercise................even the doctors are surprise to see my recovery............ [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

my personal experience.........those who know me may remember my back issue..............I tried everything under the sun........and my conclusion is ................"exercise and diet"..........keep your body weight low and strength the muscles ard that area to hold it up........our body is a funny system............as long as you work on it and provide good nutrition.............it will somehow find ways to heal itself............maybe slow tho..............but it will...........

now i have stop going to all these so call whatever........except one where i go and release some blocked blood once a month........but i watch my food and control my body weight.......... and exercise................even the doctors are surprise to see my recovery............ [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

I thought you were a guy..... How come got menstruation? 

i am female mah................you mean you never knew???........... [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

knn..........release blocked blood ard the lower back lah...........if menstruation block every month is big problem liao...........

do u still hold the same view today?

had lunch with some friends and couple of them had their pain (back and neck) resolved through chiro.

i have slipped disc and will get some pain the back whenever I am not careful about posture or sleep on the wrong mattresses

wondering if I should let a chiro take a look

I too, have slipped disc ... L4 & L5 ... 

Successful Operation done during the army days ... But recovery was slow ...

Even after Operation, I will still get relapses once in a while ... 

This Year, 1 week before CNY ... Bad Relapse ... Was in Bed for 1 Week ... Went for MRI ... Same Disc Same Problem ...

My Physiotherapist advised me some exercises and I'm at the Gym everyday for 1hr till now ...

So far, so good ...

You need to Help Yourself correctly to Grow Stronger ... Not depending only on Chiro or Physio ...

FYI ... Physio at NUH is $80 per session ... You will need a referral from a GP ...

I too, have slipped disc ... L4 & L5 ...

Successful Operation done during the army days ... But recovery was slow ...

Even after Operation, I will still get relapses once in a while ...

This Year, 1 week before CNY ... Bad Relapse ... Was in Bed for 1 Week ... Went for MRI ... Same Disc Same Problem ...

My Physiotherapist advised me some exercises and I'm at the Gym everyday for 1hr till now ...

So far, so good ...

You need to Help Yourself correctly to Grow Stronger ... Not depending only on Chiro or Physio ...

FYI ... Physio at NUH is $80 per session ... You will need a referral from a GP ...

What are the exercises that u have been doing?

Lower Body Stretching and this ... 30mins everyday with Inclination and Resistance ... 

post-25591-0-69078800-1460031714_thumb.jpg

I have some disc problems as well and tried physio, chiro, acupuncture, tuina, TCM, etc.

Chiro (and my chiropractor is a real medical doctor who switched to chiropractic practice) actually worsened my conditions after a while (provided some initial pain relief) and now I am back to physiotherapy. My friends however vouched for its effectiveness but their problems are not as serious as mine.

But if spending some money can buy you good health, why not? I would however suggest you find a chiro practice that charge a reasonable rate on a per session basis and not buy a package deal as it may not work for you. Don't be lured by the "discount" and end up wasting more money as it may not work for you. Just my 2 cents.

Actually, the basic back strengthening exercises don't need much equipment. 

I only say niah, cos I'm someone who can't sustain discipline to exercise.

I have some disc problems as well and tried physio, chiro, acupuncture, tuina, TCM, etc.

Chiro (and my chiropractor is a real medical doctor who switched to chiropractic practice) actually worsened my conditions after a while (provided some initial pain relief) and now I am back to physiotherapy. My friends however vouched for its effectiveness but their problems are not as serious as mine.

But if spending some money can buy you good health, why not? I would however suggest you find a chiro practice that charge a reasonable rate on a per session basis and not buy a package deal as it may not work for you. Don't be lured by the "discount" and end up wasting more money as it may not work for you. Just my 2 cents.

As for physiotherapy, going to those once a week appointment is not very helpful.. The main objective of the therapy is to strengthen the muscles that support your body, i.e the core muscles. What better and more effective way is to regularly train your core muscles yourself. Simple sit up, push up, and back muscle training can be done at home. And these can be done more frequently. 

My slip disc already 30 years liao. Hasn't bother me for 25 years or so.

Edited by Ender

I think there are some misconceptions.

1. Spinal disc prolapse or herniation

Generally unless debilitating should improve with age as the disc becomes dehydrated and shrinks. But by then when you feel that the discomfort had previously improved but now become worse with increasing age, it is like due to spondylosis (spine version of osteoarthritis) and this problems come from joints and ligaments.

2. Chiropractor I have my reservations. The principles they employ are suppose to align bones that are not aligned properly and to loosen joints when needed. Both situations the chiropractor appear needed amount of strength is estimated with reference to your pain threshold. They can't see if the bones or joints are truly aligned after manipulation. All assumed. In doing so often there are micro tears in the ligaments that holds the joints be in the spine or elsewhere.

All micro tears results in some inflammation as the body tries to heal and subsequently may lead to scarring and osteoarthritis or spondylosis.

Personally I believe in most times the chiropractor is doing you a disservice rather than helping you. The consequences of these manipulation causing micro trauma will manifest itself when you are older.

Some claim that it helped.Possible reasons: counterpain when you introduce another type of pain the original pain appears to disappear; the other like viral flu eventually the flu gets cure by itself without the need for medication as medication treats the symptoms and not killing of the virus and so is manipulation.

There are cases of chiropractor causing permanent paralysis from manipulating the neck spine.

It is not an exact science. Perhaps an art form and hence depends on the chiropractor.

The basis for any form of treatment should be logically determine the underlying cause first.

I would be very very careful as once injuries the nerves in our body cannot regenerate or repair back to original. They basically lead to scar formation.

Edited by Still2016

As for physiotherapy, going to those once a week appointment is not very helpful.. The main objective of the therapy is to strengthen the muscles that support your body, i.e the core muscles. What better and more effective way is to regularly train your core muscles yourself. Simple sit up, push up, and back muscle training can be done at home. And these can be done more frequently.

My slip disc already 30 years liao. Hasn't bother me for 25 years or so.

Agree. It depends on the affected disc, you need to strengthen certain muscles. For my case, stretching is also a big part of my daily routine. Swimming is supposed to help but don't quite work for my case, perhaps due to the fact that I can only swim once a week. Edited by Voodooman

i am female mah................you mean you never knew???........... [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

knn..........release blocked blood ard the lower back lah...........if menstruation block every month is big problem liao...........

release blocked blood or is it other fluid?  You will get a lot of fluid blocked if you don't get any release in a month.  Somewhere will get very bloated and cannot wear pants properly...... :grin:

knn...............next time I must not write anything in relation to blood lah..............fluid lah..........always come back to haunt me........ [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

BTW............my fluid always release one........... [:p]

knn...............next time I must not write anything in relation to blood lah..............fluid lah..........always come back to haunt me........ [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

BTW............my fluid always release one........... [:p]

u r condemned to that category already la.

I'm sure u get released always.  u r a very happy MCFer here.... :grin:  

I heard if no release for too long, it will leak out from the nose :grin:

u r condemned to that category already la.

I'm sure u get released always.  u r a very happy MCFer here.... :grin:  

I heard if no release for too long, it will leak out from the nose :grin:

yah.............I know I am condemn till ban liao........... [laugh] 

and I dont know seriously.............i always release before it gets up anywhere..............sometimes not enough even........... [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]  

My own experience with a chiropractor was not a good one, first 2 sessions were shiok when he cracked the backbone etc and coming from the clinic everything just felt great. On my third session (1 day before Xmas) the chiro was rushing multiple patients and after the session I went back and started feeling dizzy / pukish. Called the clinic and they told me its due too the toxins being released into the blood blah blah, anything this continued till X'mas and I was pretty fearful that the chiro did something which impacted the nerves, googling around also showed cases of people getting stroke or paralyzed after such sessions (in the US). 

Anyway I saw a neck specialist after Xmas and he reckons it might be a minor whiplash, but after reading all these possible incidences of stroke and what not I decided no more chiro's for me. Would stick to a good physio any day.