What does this tell you about ......

Scb11980

what does this tell you about .............

the % and amount is staggering when you think about it

alot of poor singaporeans just cannot afford our first world medical services

this also mean that there are alot of poor singaporeans just dont seek medical services because they cannot afford to

and rather die than having to spend that kind of money on themselves

why singapore keep building its reserves

it is so bloody big that even our former MM have boasted to world about it

it was meant to be used during raining days

rainy days for who

citizens or GIC/TH

I am saddened because we can only realised the pain of those who have to suffer sickness and yet cannot receive medical treatment

if you receive medical treatment for these people, the hospital debt collectors will make sure you sell everything to claim their money

what is the point of living for some

what kind of society do we really want

i am saddened by this news

when our health ministers say, foreigners going to A&E get subsidized treatment equivalent to locals

firstly, our tax payers money leaking to where, secondly, dont these foreigners use up our already limited and stretched resources for our locals

secondly, our health ministers, ask us to seek cheaper medical services and including old age homes in JB .....

i ask myself, why am i paying taxes and doing NS for

why am i paying our ministers millions of dollars to tell me to go to another country to seek basic medical services in another country and not my own

anybody think otherwise

Public hospitals owed $48 million in arrears in 2011

By Imelda Saad | Posted: 28 February 2012 2057 hrs

SINGAPORE: Health Minister Gan Kim Yong said Singapore's public hospitals were owed $48 million in arrears as at end 2011.

Mr Gan told Parliament on Tuesday that this accounted for 136,000 bills, outstanding for two months or more.

In a written reply, Mr Gan said 83 per cent of the outstanding bills were incurred by Singaporean patients.[/u]

He said a significant part of arrears are eventually recovered or paid over time, but a portion will still become bad debt and has to be written off.

In 2010, $37 million was written off - this was up from the $26 million written off the year before.

Mr Gan said hospitals will send patients a reminder if they do not settle their bills.

If there is no response, hospitals may refer the case to an authorised debt collection agency.

If a patient says that he or she has problems paying, the hospital will explore options for financial help such as instalment payments or Medifund assistance.

Some say the 'greatness' of a nation and its leaders is demonstrated in the ways the rulers treat the lower ranks / the poor in the society. :D We have GREAT LEADER(s), so we are ok, everyone, rich or poor, are well taken care of. :D

Bro, you sick you stay hospital you go operation and you pay.

Unless you want to have the Western system of free healthcare but tax the working population heavily ?

What happened ? They now Money no enough.

Nowadays a LIFE is worthless if you are of no use to the society that cares about the pennies.

Maybe the Movie IN TIME says it all.

LLST - really here is you can DIE but you cannot be SICK.

My fren took 2 years to pay for an operation which costs abt $1500.

The govt hospital did give him time to pay up but did not press hard on chasing him.

Another case,my wife's aunt who is a PR,was to have her ovaries removed as she had a stage one cancer.

The hospital will not operate on her until she put up the deposit( abt $10k) b4 they go ahead with the ops.

Bro, you sick you stay hospital you go operation and you pay.

Unless you want to have the Western system of free healthcare but tax the working population heavily ?

What happened ? They now Money no enough.

Nowadays a LIFE is worthless if you are of no use to the society that cares about the pennies.

Maybe the Movie IN TIME says it all.

LLST - really here is you can DIE but you cannot be SICK.

Some (western) countries' healthcare system is being abused at the expense of the working class, this is one extreme. The other extreme is when only and rich can afford to fall sick, the poor might as well die instead of falling sick. Hopefully there is a more balanced way to avoiding extremes... our million dollars ministers owe the pple the solution, thats why they are appointed, not to shake legs.

so far no western country welfare model works.

All of them Money No enough.

But I also don't like SG model, tipped at the other side of the Balance. with stingy welfare system.

I will prefer death than prolonged sickness.

My wife's God Pa stayed in Hospital for 6 mths and passed away and his family member (all poor also) spent all their Medisave they can pull out and exhaust their cash also.

Finally still CMI and died.

But I also don't like SG model, tipped at the other side of the Balance. with stingy welfare system.

My wife's God Pa stayed in Hospital for 6 mths and passed away and his family member (all poor also) spent all their Medisave they can pull out and exhaust their cash also.

Ever wonder, one day we will be this old man lying in the hospital bed, tears flows our eyes which we can't bear to see our children spent all their Medisave they can pull out and exhaust their cash also.will they live happily after finance exhausted.? Problem is, can we opt to die, do we have the ability to die voluntary? Am sure more than 50% of population will be in this states someday, while the lucky ones will pass away without burden to the younger generations.

Its very saddening indeed. Are we all just a number? (Be it NRIC or even Car Licence Plate number, etc.)

Is our life just an inked number in this place while we are alive, and that ink just fades off and becomes feint when we are poor or sick, and finally

the ink is just erased leaving no trace when we depart from here?

God please have mercy on all of us.

Because you know every country welfare system? Not to critizse, but we have been brought up to think our government & welfare system (or lack of it) is the best. We are the best country in the world etc .We keep hearing this & that country become in debt & people abuse the system...

Only when I am able to be more travelled, know more people from many places to realise so many things about the outside world that ware drill into our mind are off the marks.

I prefer go with karter at 'Some', as I cannot speak for all. Nope is perfect though. That, no one can deny.

If you have people in your country that takes life easy like the Greeks, or you are kind enough to let in fugutives that live on benefits like U.K, or people who lived off credit & loans then of course you have problem.

There are countries that do well, like Netherlands, or Norway for instance. In fact, in Germany, people do not in general like to use credit cards (you can't say the same for Singapeans), its consider bad to be in any kind of loans, except housing (that cannot be help lah).

In every welfare system, for sure there will be people who will abuse it, but to deny universal heathcare, & welfare to all, when some may really need it, because you are afraid that there are some people who abuse it?

You think this is right? This is exactly what happen in Singapore.

Not saying our system is bad, but its certainly not the best in the world like our government make it out to be.

Do you think this is a fair report by the SDP

How much do you think the Government charges for a consultation at the polyclinic? A bill obtained by the SDP puts it down at $35 (see below). No medication, no tests

if i go to GP, i pay 20 plus medication fees additional

if i go polyclinic, i pay 9.50, and medication additional

overall, i paid lesser in polyclinic...

but wait...if i go to company's panel of approved GP, i only pay 5 bucks for everything...used to be free, but stoopid HR, trying to lower costs, got dunno what insurance deal

HDB...got mine cheap cheap at about slightly more than 100K, fully paid via CFP since day one, if i retire and go to either bolehland, or tomyamland, i can sell my HDB at a profit of at least 200k to 300k, then with my CPF money, i think i can still be a farmer in rural tomyamland...have a few puyings to satisfy my hunger...

ok lah, singapore is a land for those rich , for middle class and poor, there are places for us to go to....