HO SEH LIAO! Pay Less Tax!

Mustank

http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/...304-331538.html

Middle income earners to pay less income tax

Singaporeans and permanent residents who earn less than $120,000 a year will see a reduction in their income taxes this year. -AsiaOne

Sun, Mar 04, 2012

AsiaOne

Singaporeans and permanent residents who earn less than $120,000 a year will see a reduction in their income taxes this year.

This reduction will help middle income earners to cut back on paying more taxes.

The previous tax rate of 3.5 per cent for the first $30,000 chargeable annual income has been reduced to 2 per cent. This means the gross tax payable will be $200, instead of the previous $350.

The next tier of $40,000 chargeable income will have a tax rate of 3.5 per cent, compared to the previous 5.5 per cent, making the total amount of gross tax payable to be $550 instead of $900.

Those who earn up to $80,000 a year will also see a 1.5 per cent reduction in their taxes from 8.5 per cent down to 7 per cent, or a gross tax of $3,350, instead of the previous tax rate of 8.5 per cent, or $4,300.

The tax reductions are capped at an annual income of $120,000. These income earners will see a reduction of 3.5 per cent in their tax rate, reducing the gross tax payable from $11,200 to $4,600.

Those who earn an annual income of $120,000 and above are not entitled to income tax reductions.

The public is reminded to file their income tax returns online by April 18, or send in paper returns by April 15.

For enquiries, taxpayers may call 1800-252 5011 or 1800-356 8300 or email IRAS via Contact Info at www.iras.gov.sg.

potential haolian thread spotted :D

you mean like :D

yah.... $20,000 no need to pay tax at all [bounce2] [bounce2]

After reading your Post, a few MCFers pressed "cancel" iust after drafting HL posts for this thread :D

Can worKers ask boss cut their Pay from 120K to 119,999? Maybe nett after tax income better!

Edited by KARTer

you mean like :D

yah.... $20,000 no need to pay tax at all [bounce2] [bounce2]

ya loh haolian how can jus restricted to rich, poor also can [cool]

i know... "since i don't qualify for this, are they telling me that I'm a top income earner just because i earn more than this?"

Can worKers ask boss cut their Pay from 120K to 119,999? Maybe nett after tax income better!

no they only volunteer to donate more to CDAC [:p]

GST now is very very possible to go up to 10%...

I'd say by next year

I agree <_< That is a very likely possibility [smallcry]

i know... "since i don't qualify for this, are they telling me that I'm a top income earner just because i earn more than this?"

No they just want to make you poorer to close the income gap [laugh]

No need lah. Just donate to charity can liao

I'd say by next year

Dun anyhow say lah. Our GDP so good previous year still up GST? For what reason? [rolleyes]

I'd say by next year

if GST up, wil b quite jialat since almost everything here is imported. [:(]

Dun anyhow say lah. Our GDP so good previous year still up GST? For what reason? [rolleyes]

The reason: "Better to take the bitter medicine now" .... you never hear before? The Eminem fella with the knuckle duster say one

I am not trying to haolian here.. seriously.

anyone know how much I have to pay in tax? My monthly income is abour $30,000 on a really terok month and about $100,000 on an average month. Prior to year end my income will hit about S$200,000 a month.

Sometimes I get so pissed off by the government for changing the income tax rate like how I change my red panty daily. How I wish I can just throw them a lump sum of $100,000 a year in tax consistently so that I wont be bothered to file for tax.

*yawn*