Maid may have to do double the work the next day. Comments?

Darthrevan

IT IS ironic that with the days off for maids, employers with young children and the elderly must now have to work even harder ('Weekly day off for maids a must from next year'; Tuesday).

Otherwise, who will do the chores and look after the children and the elderly when the maids are enjoying their days off?

My annual leave allocation will not increase, so if no one does the chores, it will only mean that the maid will have to do double the amount of work the day after her day off.

Chew Kum Chung

source: http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Online...ory_775484.html

-------------------------

Any thoughts or opinions on this? Anyone who have a boss who makes you work 3 times harder after u come back on Monday assuming u had enjoyed Sat/Sun off? Or a boss who makes u work 21 times harder after u clear 21 days of annual leave?

The man treats his works same as the maid. Office works can pile up but maid's job is very routine and do same thing everyday. She does not need to do double her work to complete the housework.

I guess more concern is during the off day and the maid get into trouble or get injured, who is responsible for her?

Singaporeans are god damn lazy la...

1 day do housework can die meh..mayb not all housework but bit oso ok wat..

I know 1 family, like dat..pinoy maid sun off, sun whole family tarpao food, use disposable utensils, even wen maid go back homeland for leave.

they will eat out or tarpao, use utensils, laundry send to nearby laundry shop wash.. :wacko: ..toilet all unwashed till maid come back.

if dishes never wash can accumulate,

then its double work

but if toilet never wash,

next day twice as dirty

but also wash once only wat

y will double work?

likewise, for sweep the floor

mop

dust

Sporean juz dun like to do dirty work. Many of my friends hire those freelance PRC house cleaners to clean their house weekly during weekend

No such thing as double work.

Sweep floor once per day, if Sunday no sweep, then Monday sweep loh. But one time.

If Sunday lunch and dinner plates in the sink unwashed, then Monday morning wash loh.

It will not be double work, but definatly, the maid will have to work double fast to clear up the backlogs.

Just like office mah, Friday e-mails and work, we dilly dally and leave it to Monday. Friday and weekends go Happy hours with XMM.

Monday go to office Monday Blues.....also LAN LAN have to finished the work.

It's the same everywhere, be it you are maid, office worker, or toilet/table cleaners.

Don't try to justify the maid off days as bad for them lah.

Those geylang pros will have less business from Bangalar on Sunday, and will earn less. Because the maids will be in amply supply to satisfy the Bangalar needs at even cheaper costs to the Bangalar.

The most happy is the Bangalar, I believe many of them are looking forward to come to work in Singapore in 2013 if the recruiters can sell the pinoy maids off on Sunday to the Bangalar as an advantage and perks of working in Singapore.