Local food in Melaka

Leiquiz

Dear Bros,

Any recommendations for good local food - specific restaurants/shops etc in Melaka?

Below are some that I already know,

1) BeiZhan

2) Teo Soon Leong Teochew food

3) Capitol Satay celup

4) 88 Chendol

Any other recommendations?????

Dear Bros,

Any recommendations for good local food - specific restaurants/shops etc in Melaka?

1) BeiZhan

3) Capitol Satay celup

4) 88 Chendol

Porridge House

Warong Coconut Shake @ Klebang Besar

Nan @ Pak Putra

Don't waste yr time at 88 Chendol. Had it on Sat. The way it was made changed liao. Gula Melaka got a burnt & bitter taste. They used instant coconut instead of freshly squeezed ones.

I tried Overtime there. The roast pork, mini pork knuckles r yummy.

1st Gear

Don't waste yr time at 88 Chendol. Had it on Sat. The way it was made changed liao. Gula Melaka got a burnt & bitter taste. They used instant coconut instead of freshly squeezed ones.

There's Overtime eatery in Holland V too right?

But I find it so-so only. My 2 cents.

i have to agree with that. The last time i tasted 88 it and i went "wow"!!!! [shocked] , but now......wah lau [shakehead]

Go to Jalan Bunga Raya, a small alley in the middle, serves the best char siew/roast pork rice you ever tasted! They call it Glutton's alley or something, serves during lunch.... Sit next to them chopping the char siew, roast pork and lap cheong..... Smothered in sweet sauce or curry, with some vegetables and fried crispy egg! Walau eh HEAVEN! Must always have it when I visit Malacca....

Dear Bros,

1) BeiZhan

3) Capitol Satay celup

4) 88 Chendol

Over rated in my opinion

Dear Bros,

1) BeiZhan

3) Capitol Satay celup

4) 88 Chendol

Restaurent Bibik Neo. Peranakan food.

I think I been there, is it the one exactly opposite the post office in Malacca Raya? Yes, very nice Nyonya food, please refrain from those other more commercialised ones further down the street, you can always see buses loads of tourists.......

Came back from Melaka trip few weeks back. Had a feast eating there, 4-5 meals a day. The food there was great, from the usual wan ton mee in coffee shop to Peranakan/chinese resturant. Of course there were some misses, like the fried oyster omelette. Didn't get a chance to try the satay celup/chendol/chicken rice balls/satay as my 'tank' full most of the time. Along the way stopped by some some famous attractions, Hang Li Poh well.

Recommendations for food (can't remember road name as based on visual landmarks):

1. coffeeshop behing Renaaisance hotel -

Wan Ton Mee - chewy not soggy, wan ton with good filling, chilli was nice

Nyonya Bak Chang

Been to Malacca road trips a few times this yr.

If you go jonker street, can try the asam laksa, damn crowded always no place to sit.

Another place of good nonya food is Nancy's kitchen, located near geography cafe.

Sun May Hiong Satay House: Pork Satay @ Taman Kota Laksamana

Jalan Kota Laksamana 1/1, Taman Kota Laksamana, Melaka

this is quite good... liver and intestine satay.. shiok

i'm going in Meleka next week.

Any more food recommendation?

Will be staying at Excelsior hotel. nearby food outlets there?

Been to Malacca road trips a few times this yr.

If you go jonker street, can try the asam laksa, damn crowded always no place to sit.

Another place of good nonya food is Nancy's kitchen, located near geography cafe.

Jonker Street got one asam laksa is quite good. Yup, its dam crowded along the whole street and no place to sit so had to tao bao and eat on-the-go...!

Nancy Kitchen I had tried last Sunday and its quite nice especially its curry chicken and asam fish. But its quite expensive, IMO.

Go for Bei Zhan. I find the place there very comfortable, service good and food nice too. Best of all, it is not very expensive! (just IMO) [:)]

Will be staying at Excelsior hotel. nearby food outlets there?

when u going next week?

i am going on 29, coming back on 31.

:huh:

Ha! i'm going from 27 Dec to 30 Dec. 3 nights

i probably going for a day trip sometime next week, if i can squeeze some time for to go [:(]