Private nursing home recommendations

Littleknown

MOH will do means testing to determine if you get any subsidy. Unfortunately, for my mum, she is not entitled to any. So when we put my mum, who is totally bed bound and requires tube feeding, in a nursing home, it is full rate.

We used UMC @ Toa Payoh. Got professional nurses 24/7 and doctor visits once a month. Overall I find them ok. Just the restricted visiting hours I dont like. They have very rigid visting hours and they lock their main gates. We are paying $3k+/month for a bed in a six bedder. Around $1k on top for milk and other miscellaneous. So total around $4k+/month.

http://www.unitedmedicare.com.sg/facilities/toa-payoh/

woah that's a lot of $. I thought it was like closer to 3k than 4  :mellow:

Yup, thatz why we got a helper and it cost just 50% of that.

But when helper go home, we place my mum in the nursing home. No choice. Lucky both my bro and i share the cost. If one person only, I think will be struggling.

Yup, thatz why we got a helper and it cost just 50% of that.

But when helper go home, we place my mum in the nursing home. No choice. Lucky both my bro and i share the cost. If one person only, I think will be struggling.

yeah if u are an only child. The cost will be a huge strain on the finances.

Can refer to this MOH website :

https://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_web/home/costs_and_financing/schemes_subsidies/subsidies_for_government_funded_ILTC_services.html

When in hospital, a social worker will be attached to you. They will help you calculate the means testing and let you know. They will also recommend the various nursing home available. And for our case TTSH send their own doctor and nurses to visit my mum every month for 6 months after discharge. Then Home Nursing Foundation take over. The nurse will schedule an appointment monthly for visit and change of feeding tube. They dont handle emergency cases thou.

We are using MW Medical for home doctor for emergency. The doctor is very good and knows what she is dealing with. Although recently MW Medical was on the news for the wrong reason.

https://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_web/home/costs_and_financing/schemes_subsidies/subsidies_for_government_funded_ILTC_services.html

When in hospital, a social worker will be attached to you. They will help you calculate the means testing and let you know. They will also recommend the various nursing home available. And for our case TTSH send their own doctor and nurses to visit my mum every month for 6 months after discharge. Then Home Nursing Foundation take over. The nurse will schedule an appointment monthly for visit and change of feeding tube. They dont handle emergency cases thou.

We are using MW Medical for home doctor for emergency. The doctor is very good and knows what she is dealing with. Although recently MW Medical was on the news for the wrong reason.

As far as my experience goes, when patient is still in hospital, Medical Social Worker will be the key contact for after care arrangement, whereby they will link up with specialist (for assessment of patient conditions), AIC / MOH (mean testing and interviews), and nursing home.

@Lala81, there are 3 main categories of nursing home:

- Full Private, without any form of government subsidies ($4K and above - all in)

- Semi Private, with limited government subsidies (~$2K+ - all in)

- Non-profit, with max. government subsidies (Up to $1.2K - all in)

For the last group of nursing home, patient cannot choose which home they want to go, allocation is strictly by AIC/MOH (subjected to bed availability).

ic. Oh they one of those with the errant chas claims.

As far as my experience goes, when patient is still in hospital, Medical Social Worker will be the key contact for after care arrangement, whereby they will link up with specialist (for assessment of patient conditions), AIC / MOH (mean testing and interviews), and nursing home.

@Lala81, there are 3 main categories of nursing home:

- Full Private, without any form of government subsidies ($4K and above - all in)

- Semi Private, with limited government subsidies (~$2K+ - all in)

- Non-profit, with max. government subsidies (Up to $1.2K - all in)

For the last group of nursing home, patient cannot choose which home they want to go, allocation is strictly by AIC/MOH (subjected to bed availability).

we can still handle up to semi-private ... full private is out of the question ... esp when I still have a 2 yr old to take care of.

when my dad was in the hospital, the social worker never offered us options ... just discuss my dad's condition with us only.

lucky I bought health insurance for my dad, else my candle would be burning at both ends.

we can still handle up to semi-private ... full private is out of the question ... esp when I still have a 2 yr old to take care of.

when my dad was in the hospital, the social worker never offered us options ... just discuss my dad's condition with us only.

lucky I bought health insurance for my dad, else my candle would be burning at both ends.

This is a big worry I agree but the biggest worry is that most young people these days never plan a budget for their parents.

They have a budget for a big home, cars, holidays but never their parents. Since you have experience from taking care of your dad, you better plan for yourself, don't expect your kids to take care of you.

Maybe our generation will be the last to even have a budget for parents :a-bang:

This is a big worry I agree but the biggest worry is that most young people these days never plan a budget for their parents.

They have a budget for a big home, cars, holidays but never their parents. Since you have experience from taking care of your dad, you better plan for yourself, don't expect your kids to take care of you.

Maybe our generation will be the last to even have a budget for parents :a-bang:

well said.

Medical in SG is really expensive.

I hope the price of nursing homes will come down when my time comes. I like those that dont restrict patient movement or have strict visitation hours. Prefer a more independent style and assist only on certain needs.

My late grandma had asked me to check on it about 5-6 yr ago. I had the impression that it was around $1.6k/mth... 

Never realised it's close to $4k... Not many people will be able to pay for the full rate...

I hope the price of nursing homes will come down when my time comes. I like those that dont restrict patient movement or have strict visitation hours. Prefer a more independent style and assist only on certain needs.

Govt already clash with lien foundation over this already mah. Lien Foundation recommend those western style retirement home concept.

Govt say more $, more manpower, don't see the need for it.

My late grandma had asked me to check on it about 5-6 yr ago. I had the impression that it was around $1.6k/mth... 

Never realised it's close to $4k... Not many people will be able to pay for the full rate...

if dun need special medical needs, just normal living in the centre will be around that amount.

Yup, indeed expensive... and still they could be mostly full...

Some time ago, came across something like this circulated on whatsapp:

On a cruise ship (those maybe like Royal Caribbean), there was a regular old lady on wheelchair, who would be seen on those very long cruises (i heard from a retired teacher that she went on a 3-mth cruise before). And the service staff on the cruise ship were surprised to keep seeing the old woman, after each cruise. But she was very nice to the staff, and would tip them generously. The staff of course in turn, served her very well. Initially the staff thought the old woman loved the experience and the service so much that she kept going back for more...

After a few cruises, one of the staff finally went to ask her why does she not tire of the cruise.

And her reply was that it was cheaper than staying at a nursing home, and the service and food were many times better  [laugh]

Don't know whether really more affordable or not...

if dun need special medical needs, just normal living in the centre will be around that amount.

Bro, it's a fact that most people are having a longer life but how many of those are having better QUALITY of life?

People around their 40s or even 30s these days will have some form of health issues, how many will not need medical needs in their retirement days.

So any committee that is looking at old age support should take that into serious consideration when it comes to estimation of cost.

For full rate, the price of the bed is already fixed, $3+k. The only variable portion depending on your needs is the $1k portion. If require everything like my mum, tube feeding + milk + diapers + their misc then $1k.

If can ownself go toilet and eat common food, should be a lot lower. But bed price already $3+k. So thatz the minimum.

Oh ya and their dinner is very early, 5pm. No supper one hor. 8pm lights off liao.