Territorial claims in South China Sea

Ahtong

Both PRC and ROC claims all islands within the 9 lines drawn by PRC, and ROC calls it the U boundary.

PRC and ROC claims are distinct from what we are discussing. ROC dont claim the 9-9 line....only China did so. The issue is does China have the right to claim the whole of SCS according to their 9-9 claims which many SEA nations also claims?

No point digging up history, it is all about resources... Famous quote from Dune, "He who controls the spice, controls the universe."

The area is unexplored and rumoured to be 'oil-rich'...

I'm referring to the comment about islands being "far". So what gave the US and British rights to occupy islands already settled by humans ? Ownself give ownself ? How far away are they from their invaders ?

Saipan and Guam is a far more different case than the current South China Sea fiasco.

Guam, was claimed by the Spanish in the 1500s. It inhabited by the natives then.

In the early 1900s, control was transferred to America after Spain lost the Spanish-American war.

Saipan was more or less the same story, with an intermediate period of German possession before Japan come to occupy it and US took control after WW2.

Falklands was uninhabited when the English landed and took control. And Argentina then did not protest the British presence on the island.

PRC and ROC claims are distinct from what we are discussing. ROC dont claim the 9-9 line....only China did so. The issue is does China have the right to claim the whole of SCS according to their 9-9 claims which many SEA nations also claims?

Wanted to +++5  to up your views bro.. but gave u earlier already..

Totally agree with you on your points....  [thumbsup]

Saipan and Guam is a far more different case than the current South China Sea fiasco.

Guam, was claimed by the Spanish in the 1500s. It inhabited by the natives then.

In the early 1900s, control was transferred to America after Spain lost the Spanish-American war.

Saipan was more or less the same story, with an intermediate period of German possession before Japan come to occupy it and US took control after WW2.

Falklands was uninhabited when the English landed and took control. And Argentina then did not protest the British presence on the island.

+++5 for you too.. but also already give u earlier liao... haha...

Yup, agree that these historical points are different case from the current China ownself say ownself claim issue..

Is this report right?

Singapore's Foreign Minister is Vivian Balakrishnan and not K. Shanmugam!!

cat out of the bag...now we know the content of the Minister portfolio reshuffling.. :XD:  [bounce1]  :a-m1212:

Wanted to +++5  to up your views bro.. but gave u earlier already..

Totally agree with you on your points....  [thumbsup]

+++5 for you too.. but also already give u earlier liao... haha...

Yup, agree that these historical points are different case from the current China ownself say ownself claim issue..

think what China is thinking and asking:

Why gwailo countries can claim? who are to say they can claim? or was the end off WW2 the beginning of history? why other ppl cannot claim? why we cannot claim?

The mature ones here know how the world works. Big countries eat small countries, big companies eat small companies, MNC senior management eat small middle executives and so on. That's the hard truth and the way of the world.

All this arguing about historical claims is BS, only excuses. Just like WMDs in Iraq were excuses. That they even bothered to give excuses, is very "give face" already. Wake up!

Why gwailo countries can claim? who are to say they can claim? or was the end off WW2 the beginning of history? why other ppl cannot claim? why we cannot claim?

So why the Chinese also wan to chap jit kar? Just bec other people can i cannot? Juvenile reasoning...

No wonder Asians so kiasu ....

If the US really wants to claim for themselves, Japan, S Korea would already by their colonies after WW2.. 

Knowing Chinese penchant for face, they'll never acknowledge this tribunal ruling.. With no clear legal backing now, China will hv to resort to bullying, carrot giving, or stealth land grab to consolidate whatever they have built in the south China Sea..

So long as all countries are willing to economically starve China by pulling out any manufacturing activities and boycott China made stuffs, in 3-5 years, the ATs will not have the financial capabilities to act as aggressor or patrolling the 9-dashed lines. Probably by then, they can't even manage a dot, least to say manage 1 line.

They will be better controlled then.

The mature ones here know how the world works. Big countries eat small countries, big companies eat small companies, MNC senior management eat small middle executives and so on. That's the hard truth and the way of the world.

All this arguing about historical claims is BS, only excuses. Just like WMDs in Iraq were excuses. That they even bothered to give excuses, is very "give face" already. Wake up!

End of the day is self-interest...

The world is run by self interest, it's ruled by self-interest..

If its not in their self-interest, they would not do it.....

So long as all countries are willing to economically starve China by pulling out any manufacturing activities and boycott China made stuffs, in 3-5 years, the ATs will not have the financial capabilities to act as aggressor or patrolling the 9-dashed lines. Probably by then, they can't even manage a dot, least to say manage 1 line.

Yes, the economic boom over the past 30+ years gave the Chinese the means to do what they want now.. 

But I don't think anyone wants to control China, we just want each other to get along well and not be the aggressor and grab other's properties...  

I doubt Philippines can do anything when China refuse to back off. 

Will US want to war with China on SCS? If Donald Trump as president...hmmm maybe?

But we certainly do want war now( or anytime)......economy so bad already....

ROC has already made official statement to protest against the ruling. ROC does not agree that they are "not islands", and will continue to send naval ships to the area.

http://www.chinatimes.com/realtimenews/20160713001940-260407

南海仲裁案判斷結果出爐,國防部今指出,我國擁有南海主權,不因常設法庭仲裁而有任何改變,國軍將堅定捍衛國家領土與主權。

國防部表示,為因應南海情勢變化,除與海巡署加強南海地區情監偵及掌握海、空動態外,並提升聯合作戰指揮中心值勤層級,國軍將持續派遣機、艦實施南沙巡弋、運補與護航,支援海巡任務,國軍將堅定捍衛國家領土與主權,保持高度警覺,以有效掌握全般狀況,確保國家安全。

This is one of the so-called "reef"

600_php9VYVRU.jpg

If the ATs can just ignore the judgement as they pleased, the next thing M'sia will also ignore the judgement that Pedra Branca was awarded to SG. And in fact Pedra Branca are just "rocks" which are even smaller than those currently in disputes.

For our case, at least there are some transfer documents from the British times. The ATs don't even have any documents, other than maps, which is totally groundless.

This Hague ruling only states that China's claims are unsubstantiated and illegal, but does not award the islands to anyone.

Usually if there's conflicting claims, Hague will always award to the party who has proven historical administration in the last 100 yrs or so (eg, pedra branca).

But in this case, the islands have gone under the radar until very recently.

It'll be interesting to see how Phil (and other SEA claimants) will use this ruling.

One thing for sure, there is still a sense of mistrust about China's intention. For some reason, I feel more comfortable with Uncle Sam flexing his muscle than PRC doing the same thing.

That Ruling should award all the islands to a neutral country..... :yuush:

And that country is SINGAPORE ...    :a-happy:

:grin:                  :grin:

Malaysia is neither US or China. The US and Russia have ignored international rulings multiple times.  This is how the game is played, and how Singapore needs to recognize the geopolitical realities and not become a puppet of this game. All the other countries are playing along.

Unless you also call the Taiwanese ATs ... ROC is also known today as Taiwan.

Taiwan is part of ROC & PRC.

:XD:

China is too powderful to be starved of trade or boycott, just a temporary frenzy always I can see ,all talk but nobody takes the walk much, yet

Everyone hates China for such reasons as so many countries are affected;  but every body will want to do biz with china 'cos they are the cheapest and most efficient in delivery ...etc..... quality is now gone but price is what people look at . All the big conglomerates are operating already in China at full steam from a simple light bulb to the MRT trains.... they have it all  and can deliver, no matter what. Even our vege's come in from China

They have become very strong in the last 10-20 years, kept a low profile and now have decided to stylo milo but this one back fired on them as they had big wet dreams, wet ones in the oceans by procreating more lands out of nowhere and now in contempt of Court Orders or decision

Edited by BanCoe

cat out of the bag...now we know the content of the Minister portfolio reshuffling.. :XD:[bounce1]:a-m1212:

Why gwailo countries can claim? who are to say they can claim? or was the end off WW2 the beginning of history? why other ppl cannot claim? why we cannot claim?

Would love to see Mongolia claim china as traditional hunting ground. . They have a much better case

Recently, I chatted with a teenager or maybe 20-something, on this matter. And I mentioned something from WWII, and he was like "What is world war? Brad Pitt movie?" [laugh]

Man is forever forgetful.

Same if you ask him about bank robbery (until recent case), about goldsmith shops robberies, food rationing, curfews. They will say what arr... :slow:

you must be kidding, the whole world cannot live without taobao liao, dun believe you ask @mustank   [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

That Ruling should award all the islands to a neutral country..... :yuush:

And that country is SINGAPORE ...    :a-happy:

:grin:                  :grin:

the ocean so big, singapore dare to swallow or not?   [sweatdrop]  [sweatdrop]