How do I reduce wear and tear?

Poker

Oooh..soli didn't realise this is a tiko thread and not some member seeking advise on how to reduce "wear and tear". [laugh]

Dont use the car everyday. Use it only when u need to fetch chiobu.Other than that take a public transport.

By reducing the use of the vehicle, wear and tear will also reduce according.

Err.... 18 year old Honda, fetch Lao Bu better [laugh]

Edited by Nkps

Beat, 1993.

That's what i was told too. Rev till 9k for the 1st 2 gears and subsequently 6.5k

i was thinking [hur]

errr no i really meant it as a serious thread but duno how it became this in the end.. [knife]

have been getting different words of advice from different parties, also duno who to trust..

my mechanic asks me to whack leh..

i didnt drive it for a short while last yr and the car really went kaput..

so what another bro has mentioned here may be correct, which is the same as what my mech said

Driving an old coe Honda currently.

Always had these questions in mind so perhaps someone can clarify my doubts.

I've tried searching through this forum but to no avail.

Please pardon my inexperience or ignorance, if any.

1. Is it true that changing gears too quickly (i.e. at low rpms) will shorten the life of the gearbox?

If that's the case, wont I have to rev to higher rpms, so as to preserve the gearbox?

2. If i constantly rev at higher rpms, wont i cause more wear and tear to the engine?

3. What is the definition of 'dragging gear'?

to constantly drive at high rpms without changing gear or to drive at a high gear at low speeds and low rpm?

Question 3 is due to me reading other forums on this wear and tear issue, and different ppl giving different definitions. Duno which to believe.

I used to think that dragging gear means low gear high rpm.

I think you worry too much. Just drive normal. Check your oil and fluids regularly and service your engine when it reaches the relevant mileage. That was how I used to maintain my 15 year old COE car (something like yours).

[thumbsup] thanks bro!

guess i'm not doing it wrong then.. got a manual as i was worried abt the gearbox kaput

p.s the tiko thing not i start one

Modern automatic transmission boxes are pretty sturdy. So they should be fine if regularly maintained.

And dirty as well.

Read between the lines.

just to add on to more fun..

The smoother and quieter your car runs

the less wear and tear.

So if you rev to 6k and change up,

the engine will be sceaming and

the car will jerk forwards

when you change gear.

If you are doing like 10 kmh

and you change to 5th gear

and your car shudders and pick

up speed very slowly then the

shuddering and jerking is also

a sign of wear and tear.

So when should we change up?

At very high revs or very low revs?

We should just follow the men and ladies'

leg rule.

Some men like ladies with long legs and

some men like ladies with short legs

but most men prefer something in between.

Some ladies like "longer gear stick" from men and

some ladies like "shorter gear stick"

but most ladies would prefer avg ones... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

So the least wear and tear is to change

up smoothly and as noiselessly as possible

at about 2 - 3k rpm. Something in between

is the sweet spot.

Edited by Rezorn86

just to add on to more fun..

Some ladies like "longer gear stick" from men and

but most ladies would prefer avg ones... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

[thumbsup]

I think you worry too much. Just drive normal. Check your oil and fluids regularly and service your engine when it reaches the relevant mileage. That was how I used to maintain my 15 year old COE car (something like yours).

Definitely worrying as I dun wana go through the trouble of doing a major maintenance once again.

Doing my best to preserve my car. Btw, what was your old coe car a vw as well [:)]

there's a reason why they are called short shifters..

Miata5.jpg

short, fat and efficient [laugh]

there's a reason why they are called short shifters..

short, fat and efficient [laugh]

Short and thick, do the trick. [laugh]

Definitely worrying as I dun wana go through the trouble of doing a major maintenance once again.

Doing my best to preserve my car. Btw, what was your old coe car a vw as well [:)]

Nope. It was a Jap car. A swift.