Checking in to a hotel room

8oo8

any rules? I know it may sound stupid, but recently checked in to a hotel for work sharing room with a collegue, I learned many things. First he knock the door, then flush the toilet bowl, then let the water run for a while and finally mess the bed.

I ask him why but he did not tell me on the spot.

I think many people knows the "rules" upon checking in to hotel room but............... Does all this work?

Or we are just paranoid?

Have your say and share.

my mum taught me these and i have been practising it, without fail...better be safe than sorry.

first knock the door. when i step in, i'll just say sorry to disturb, staying here for while...

then when take off shoes, one side put upright, the other on its side. reason why is because of the 2 red pieces thing that chinese throw - same side means no; one up one down means yes. so in a way, it's like saying yes, you're allowed to stay here.

then just lift the mattress to check...

any rules? I know it may sound stupid, but recently checked in to a hotel for work sharing room with a collegue, I learned many things. First he knock the door, then flush the toilet bowl, then let the water run for a while and finally mess the bed.

I think many people knows the "rules" upon checking in to hotel room but............... Does all this work?

Or we are just paranoid?

Have your say and share.

My girlfriend does the exact same thing whenever we check into the hotel room..she has to knock the door before entering....i ask her once and she told me it's to tell "whoever" inside the room that we are now coming inside....

Edited by Estrangable

I don't believe in such things, but still do some weird stuff just to comfort myself. Example,

1. Mess my shoes

2. Check every drawer and cupboard

3. Lift up mattress and check

4. If it's a king or queen size bed and I'm sleeping alone, I will put my stuff and clothes on the empty side of the mattress. The idea is I don't wan to see an empty side of the bed

5. I 'on' the TV 24 hrs, even sleeping or i'm out of the room. The idea is to have noise in the room

6. I sleep with toilet lights on and toilet door open halfway. The idea is I don't wan the toilet to be dark

7. Pull and keep all curtains, I don't like to see curtains drawn and cover windows

Or we are just paranoid?

Have your say and share.

knock door and flush toilet ....................yes....

let water run and mess up the bed...............never do it before...........

I don't believe in such things, but still do some weird stuff just to comfort myself. Example,

1. Mess my shoes

3. Lift up mattress and check4. If it's a king or queen size bed and I'm sleeping alone, I will put my stuff and clothes on the empty side of the mattress. The idea is I don't wan to see an empty side of the bed

5. I 'on' the TV 24 hrs, even sleeping or i'm out of the room. The idea is to have noise in the room

6. I sleep with toilet lights on and toilet door open halfway. The idea is I don't wan the toilet to be dark

7. Pull and keep all curtains, I don't like to see curtains drawn and cover windows

Can I know why must lift up mattress huh?

I think I shared a Blog of mine here before. I had travel quite a lot for the past decades and never did this before because I think all "these" are all in one's mind. After I encountered in a Villa, since then, I will follow , by knocking on the door before going in the room ( Only when there is no Bell boy )

Paranoid or not, I think it's all up to individuals, and I think Only Chinese practice this, correct me if I'm wrong! My 0.02 worth!

u want the bed to be messed up when in action right?? [;)] [;)]

anyway, did all the above except let water run.. scared later see the water start flowing to be red colour, then flood the bathroom then................................ :o :o

u want the bed to be messed up when in action right?? [;)] [;)]

anyway, did all the above except let water run.. scared later see the water start flowing to be red colour, then flood the bathroom then................................ :o :o

guess we have the same thoughts about messing up the bed...... [laugh] [laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

I stayed in countless hotels and rooms during my company business trips.

When I arrived, I just open the door, throw my things in, take a bath, take a nap.

First time i heard of this. My parents brought me overseas many times never see them do this and I also never do all these cuz i dunno.

Infact I always put my shoes neatly.

For me I will take out an amulet and place on top/near to the tv as 1 of my shifu says the magnetic field of the tv will magnify the amulet's "power" :D So far this method let me feel safe.

Anyway just a piece of mind la. But I usually sleep with at least a light on be it the corridor or toilet light. My OC will on her mp3 on the mobile phone as the tv is too glaring liaoz. If the mirror is too near the bed will use a blanket or towel to cover it coz had a bad experience of frighten myself when going for night pee. [laugh]

my mum taught me these and i have been practising it, without fail...better be safe than sorry.

first knock the door. when i step in, i'll just say sorry to disturb, staying here for while...

then when take off shoes, one side put upright, the other on its side. reason why is because of the 2 red pieces thing that chinese throw - same side means no; one up one down means yes. so in a way, it's like saying yes, you're allowed to stay here.

then just lift the mattress to check...

lift mattress to check for dead bodies?? :ph34r:

1. Mess my shoes

3. Lift up mattress and check

4. If it's a king or queen size bed and I'm sleeping alone, I will put my stuff and clothes on the empty side of the mattress. The idea is I don't wan to see an empty side of the bed

I opposite from you leh bro...usually all curtains closed coz will wana sleep through till the morning but dun wana sunlight to shine on my face.

2nd is I like to sleep NAKED. [laugh] [laugh] wait opposite got peeping tom then kena newspaper headline liao. [laugh]

haha...GM bro neber try...i usually let water run and wash clean clean for "bedside action" later... [laugh] [laugh]