How much do you think is needed to lead a comfortable life?

Chewbacca

How much do you think is needed to lead a comfortable life?  

81 members have voted

1. 1. X is in terms of income per year.

• X < 60K
    • 60K < X <= 70k
    • 70K < X <=80K
    • 80K < X <= 90K
    • 90K < X <=100K
    • 100K < X <=120K
    • 120K <X <=140K
    • 140K < X <=160K
    • X > 160K

Assuming as it is. That is, CPI remains at exactly like this for the rest of your life.

Yes, comfortable is subjective, driving a BnB maybe comfortable to some, but not to others. This I know, so it's up to your own definition.

Not trying to judge or anything. I'm just curious about the level of expectations for the people in this forum.

For me.....I think $120K should be quite reasonable.

You don't have to reveal what you chose if you don't want to.

A prudent plus happy-go-lucky person doesn't need too much to live happily although his life may not always be very comfortable.

Well said.

It's very subjective. To some, comfortable means not having to worry about unpaid bills although they cannot dine out often. To others, comfortable means can afford to dine at fancy restaurants every day.

And there is also other factors like how big the household is, or what kind of lifestyle they choose to live in given their salary level. Some earn $10k but drive Vios and don't have to worry about unpaid bills, some earn $10k but drive luxury cars (and stretch themselves thin).

It all depends on how old you are and whether the kids are grown up or not etc. If you are 55 and no other committments, perhaps 50k is more than enough

Well said.

It's very subjective. To some, comfortable means not having to worry about unpaid bills although they cannot dine out often. To others, comfortable means can afford to dine at fancy restaurants every day.

And there is also other factors like how big the household is, or what kind of lifestyle they choose to live in given their salary level. Some earn $10k but drive Vios and don't have to worry about unpaid bills, some earn $10k but drive luxury cars (and stretch themselves thin).

Agreed! Basically when the guy is not stretched financially, his life will be less uncomfortable. But some prefer a physically comfortable, financially uncomfortable life.

In any part of the world....

A human only need two things...

A fully paid up house and a paid up life/health insurance.

If the two things are settle by rich parents.......the kids can do all and anythings they want....to fully enjoy and experiment with their life and skills.

So monthly salary is Bullsheet to the rich kids.

Because they have the two basic needs coverEd already.

But for normal people, we are forever trapped in the monthly salary mindset, work work work. Dare not break rice bowl. Dare not venture. Dare not enjoy.

Everyday pay n pay for the house and cars.......forever 30years of working life got trapped in the loan debt!

Some may say just buy a cheap house and live simply. Sure....talk is cheap.

In any part of the world....

A human only need two things...

A fully paid up house and a paid up life/health insurance.

If the two things are settle by rich parents.......the kids can do all and anythings they want....to fully enjoy and experiment with their life and skills.

So monthly salary is Bullsheet to the rich kids.

Because they have the two basic needs coverEd already.

But for normal people, we are forever trapped in the monthly salary mindset, work work work. Dare not break rice bowl. Dare not venture. Dare not enjoy.

Everyday pay n pay for the house and cars.......forever 30years of working life got trapped in the loan debt!

Some may say just buy a cheap house and live simply. Sure....talk is cheap.

Can lah, instead of a four or five room HDB flat and be tied to a 20-30 yr loan, take a three room and only be tied to 15-20 yr loan using the same income? The latter option means less comfortable living, but not stretched as much as the former option.

Depends on your interpretation of 'comfortable'. Some pple eat at hawker/coffee shop breakfast lunch and dinner happy oredy whilst others eat at restaurants and other upscale establishment. Some pple say porsche audi beemer merc comfy but others say proton geely and kia is comfy enough!

talk c--k la this thread. What is your agenda? What is the target audience? Ask yourself what are you trying to achieve by doing this useless survey. How much is enough? Some jokers are comfortable with earning 1K per month others not happy earning $3.5k per month. You should up the catergories to 1Million or few billions. If there are billions i will click to vote.

Can lah, instead of a four or five room HDB flat and be tied to a 20-30 yr loan, take a three room and only be tied to 15-20 yr loan using the same income? The latter option means less comfortable living, but not stretched as much as the former option.

and at the end of the day after paying the loans

what is there left of your CPF

My own gauge of how 'comfortable' one's life is as follows:

- No, or minimal, car loan.

You can own more than one car, it does not matter.

- Target to be mortgage-free before you're 50.

Own/hold that title deed, rather than 'renting' your house from the bank till way past your 60's!

- Household salary must be at least $450-500K p.a.

- No outstanding, large debts

- Savings (or endowment fund) in place for children's university education (with overseas Uni, for worst-case-scenario planning)

- Not a problem gambler

- Your family is adequately insured

and at the end of the day after paying the loans

what is there left of your CPF

Then time to do reverse-mortgage? Gahmen says one ......