Recommend which credit card to use for wedding?

Little_prince

hi guys. as above. any recommendations for best credit cards to use for my upcoming wedding?

as in best perks or freebies etc?

thanks in advance!

The cash rebate is not very attractive with manhattan now. But i cant think of any better cards.

Nowadays the frequent flier miles cards are not worth it anymore.

My credit limit is only $5000.

Not sure how high is your limit on your credit cards.

Assuming a typical low class $30,000 Chinese wedding. Will need six different banks cards.

I learnt my lessons few years back when I helped my friend to partial pay for the wedding package using my standard chartered card.

I called to ask for a temporary increase in credit limit, and it was approved over the phone. So I signed around $9k++ with my card. Thinking wow SC so good.

When the bill came just a few days later(not the usual 25days). I got the shock of my life.

The increase limit was actually a OVERDRAFT!! KNNBCCB. I was charged 24% on the total charges!!

LLST paid for the whole sum. I never called them up to ask for waver or explain. As I know it was my mistake to ASSume.

I had two cards with SC. Visa and master.

Few weeks later, I went to the ATM machine to purposely key in the wrong password to allow the cards to be makan by the ATM machine. Thinking that SC will send me a new card as replacement(wished to punish SC). But I never received any letters or calls from the bank about my cards at all.

I still have my house loan with them till today.

But they never ever ask me to apply or per approved credit cards to me since.

Till today....I never received any other mailers from SC. Other than my monthly housing loan letter.

So TS please check clearly about the overdraft and increase limit clearly!!! Two different thing altogether!

hi guys. as above. any recommendations for best credit cards to use for my upcoming wedding?

as in best perks or freebies etc?

thanks in advance!

best if u receive so much angbao that u dun hv to use credit card!

Very hard to recover nowadays.....

Maybe can recover 50-70%.

best if u receive so much angbao that u dun hv to use credit card!

so easy

just hv the dinner at restaurant.. gd chance to cover back..

why need 30k? my dinner only $12k or $13k for 20 tables

angbao is $16k

Edited by Raymondism

Just out of curiosity... how much is the average cost for a table at hotel? not the 6-star ones. Last time most of us were usually able to cover the cost, or at most lose a bit. Seems like nowadays with the runaway prices hard to recover

4 yrs back.. a table at hotel costs ard $1k... --may not taste gd

a table at a gd restaurant e.g. peony jade cost $600 - taste gd

i checked jewelbox.. $1.3k a table in 2008

Edited by Raymondism

My credit limit is only $5000.

Not sure how high is your limit on your credit cards.

Assuming a typical low class $30,000 Chinese wedding. Will need six different banks cards.

I learnt my lessons few years back when I helped my friend to partial pay for the wedding package using my standard chartered card.

I called to ask for a temporary increase in credit limit, and it was approved over the phone. So I signed around $9k++ with my card. Thinking wow SC so good.

When the bill came just a few days later(not the usual 25days). I got the shock of my life.

The increase limit was actually a OVERDRAFT!! KNNBCCB. I was charged 24% on the total charges!!

LLST paid for the whole sum. I never called them up to ask for waver or explain. As I know it was my mistake to ASSume.

I had two cards with SC. Visa and master.

Few weeks later, I went to the ATM machine to purposely key in the wrong password to allow the cards to be makan by the ATM machine. Thinking that SC will send me a new card as replacement(wished to punish SC). But I never received any letters or calls from the bank about my cards at all.

I still have my house loan with them till today.

But they never ever ask me to apply or per approved credit cards to me since.

Till today....I never received any other mailers from SC. Other than my monthly housing loan letter.

So TS please check clearly about the overdraft and increase limit clearly!!! Two different thing altogether!

24% is p.a. lah... i requested increase from citibank before, not overdraft leh..

for me i cant be bothered to call the bank.. i just used 2 to 3 cards...

though repayment will be easier if consolidated into one card

4 yrs back.. a table at hotel costs ard $1k... --may not taste gd

a table at a gd restaurant e.g. peony jade cost $600 - taste gd

i checked jewelbox.. $1.3k a table in 2008

Wow... my time was only $600 in a orchard road hotel, and tat was in the late 90s. Ang pow $60 bucks can recover liao [laugh]

ya thats why i hold it at peony jade... one table less than $600 but award winning restaurant..

serving staff all pro... cos its running at their normal capacity...

pple give me $60 i break even... some give $80 i make some..some give $100 i make even more...

the only thing is u hv to go back to your own house after that lor.. and someone has to "guard" the ang baos...

the best thing is..every anniversary.. just go back to that restaurant to eat.. at least the food is gd

ya thats why i hold it at peony jade... one table less than $600 but award winning restaurant..

serving staff all pro... cos its running at their normal capacity...

pple give me $60 i break even... some give $80 i make some..some give $100 i make even more...

the only thing is u hv to go back to your own house after that lor.. and someone has to "guard" the ang baos...

the best thing is..every anniversary.. just go back to that restaurant to eat.. at least the food is gd

Some people dun think like you... must hold at a 6 * hotel wor. Want face [laugh] and it doesnt make economic sense if you cant afford and end up subsidizing everyone. To each his own

Manhatten card

every quarter 4k u rebate 200

free TV for my home [laugh]

meaning within the 3 months if i spend 4k i will get $200?

Some people dun think like you... must hold at a 6 * hotel wor. Want face [laugh] and it doesnt make economic sense if you cant afford and end up subsidizing everyone. To each his own

i dun expect bro LP to follow...

i was just sharing with Simon on how i dun suffer any losses for my wedding...