Will Chen GuangCheng and his wife survive?

KARTer

Till end of this week? :o

Β 

Btw, his escape plan can be made into a movie "The Great Escape 2". The late Steve McQinn may want to come back to play the lead role.

↑ Advertisement

Hypersonic

Till end of this week? :o

Β 

Btw, his escape plan can be made into a movie "The Great Escape 2". The late Steve McQinn may want to come back to play the lead role.

Β 

The US can't do anything for them anymore. Their fate lies with the chinese govt. Good luck to them. [:/]

Supercharged

The US can't do anything for them anymore. Their fate lies with the chinese govt. Good luck to them. [:/]

Actually who is this Chen Guang Cheng? I know he is blind and the US wants him! But what is so important about him?

Actually who is this Chen Guang Cheng? I know he is blind and the US wants him! But what is so important about him?

He is blind since childhood, self taught and became a lawyer fighting cases for common men/women. Offended the govt by his stand against forced abortions in one-child policy. Jailed four year for that. After release, put under house arrest and together with his wie, were beaten by officials/"thugs" at home regularly, sometimes for hours.

Β 

Β 

Turbocharged
(edited)

I'm not sure if his persecution and abuse is on orders of the central govt itself, or is it just the "initiative" of local / provincial officials??

Β 

China is a huge country and, as they say, 'the mountains are high, and the emperor is far away'. Local officials very often take matters into their own hands and behave like evil warlords in the olden days.

Β 

Anyway, this is China's own "MSK escape" [laugh]. We have a pai-kah (lame) man who managed to escape high-security jail, while China has a blind man who did the same!! [laugh]

Β