Can someone explain South Korea and Taiwan?

Ahtong

Why I was growing up, the only thing I remember about South Korea is they have lots of student riots

Nowadays, they have well known electronic companies like Samsung and LG, their cars are on the up and also making an impact on the entertainment scene with their K-Pop and tv series.

How did this come about? Was there a guiding hand behind all these or did it just come about?

Taiwan is another one. Their politics seem farcical, their entertainment rather crass (imo) but they have companies like Acer, Asus and HTC.

Malaysia got blueberry.

Singapore got creative.

Sinapore got no guiding hand but got suppressive hand.

If singapore got any brilliant businessman engineer that can come up with a company as big as Acer, HTC etc, Govt will be very angry cos you smash the GLC ricebowl.

Govt would rather we work for GLC than become their competitor. Even if u want to be start up entrepreneur, Govt rather you be subcontractor to GLC.

Edited by Viceroymenthol

Why I was growing up, the only thing I remember about South Korea is they have lots of student riots

Nowadays, they have well known electronic companies like Samsung and LG, their cars are on the up and also making an impact on the entertainment scene with their K-Pop and tv series.

How did this come about? Was there a guiding hand behind all these or did it just come about?

Taiwan is another one. Their politics seem farcical, their entertainment rather crass (imo) but they have companies like Acer, Asus and HTC.

Because they have many chio mei meis and cmms instill creativity....

Malaysia got blueberry.

Singapore got creative.

If singapore got any brilliant businessman engineer that can come up with a company as big as Acer, HTC etc, Govt will be very angry cos you smash the GLC ricebowl.

Govt would rather we work for GLC than become their competitor. Even if u want to be start up entrepreneur, Govt rather you be subcontractor to GLC.

And a few "trapped" scholars whose creativity is "conditioned". The system has its way to groom young talents.

There is not surprise as in every industries and environment...there are ups and downs...In mid 80s, canto pop is leading the way....J pop and now K-pop...

Malaysia got blueberry.

Singapore got creative.

when people live in suppressive environment......it suppress their innovation and willingness to chiong....so not surprise we are lacked in these area...

Malaysia got blueberry.

Singapore got creative.

You are spot ON !

They are a group of intelligent people, like the japanese. All other Asian nations lack people with solid brains.

So far never see any Brand as successful as Creative for the last 20 years....when they revolutionise the world with the Sound Blaster....

People at Facebook and Google is already thinking tecnologies 10 years ahead of now....and more coming from Silicon Valley...

So far never see any Brand as successful as Creative for the last 20 years....when they revolutionise the world with the Sound Blaster....

People at Facebook and Google is already thinking tecnologies 10 years ahead of now....and more coming from Silicon Valley...

got a few brand in fashion that are successful. but you wont see technology brand here.

think already got 2 shoe become branded shoe brand oversea liao.

Both stories abt the same.. in the 50/60s ,many rich Taiwanese send their children to study in US. These children return to Taiwan to start business.. and *wah la* , you get acers , asus and htc..

Singapore got no children study in the US meh ?

I'd say two things, one .. education does not encourage Singaporeans to think out of the box, to MOE, same answer different method mean VERY WRONG. two .. too many stories of red tapes for small medium enterprises in Singapore. Big companies do not appear overnight, they start very small, then work their way up.

its the red tape or their descendant do not have the fighting spirit to make the company bigger?? have to define the different. some ppl dont like to take over family business you know.

Edited by Joseph22

HOw about OSIM? I heard their are quite recognised in Asia...recently enter US market?

Slightly OT.

Don't know if it's my own perception or ....

Areas where the govt need to be hands on (like public transport), they privatize

Areas that may be best left to private businessmen, they like to dominate

[dizzy]

HOw about OSIM? I heard their are quite recognised in Asia...recently enter US market?

also got owl and super.

Those who play game will know Razor too. famous oversea.

thing is, in singapore, we are relying on exotic stuff to succeed. even creative Sound blaster are consider Nich market.

Slightly OT.

Don't know if it's my own perception or ....

Areas where the govt need to be hands on (like public transport), they privatize

Areas that may be best left to private businessmen, they like to dominate

[dizzy]

got privatise meh?? in actual fact they just change to their investment arm called TH nia leh

Aniway... singapore tech companies are all killed at their infancy.. they become part of ST / F&N / Keppel..

So all the "big" and "famous" brand you see now are gov related ones.. SIA , Keppel , ST , DBS etc...

These big brands.. are not interested in the small consumers mkt.. so their pdts are geared towards business/countries/ states.

those brands you listed for KR and TW , are those well-known to consumers..

Edited by Jrage