Chee SJ's speech Oslo Freedom Forum

Relacklabrudder

familiar words, but striking nonetheless as it's always relevant. too bad the 60.1% won't turn on the video due to impressions created by others.

never like him. like a gangster. he only mellows down when he is broke... if he is rich again, maybe his gangster personality will come back

agreed. screaming like a mad man at a hawker center at your political opposition. Wouldnt vote for him if i had to choose between him and PAP. I rather PAP as much as i hate them

i wont even vote for his party if he is the adviser

To be honest, I'm not convinced. I'm the type that's not easily influenced by what ppl say. I use my eyes to see, not my ears.

IMO If you want social welfare or even healthcare benefits or whatever benefits other citizens are enjoying in whatever country, are you willing to part with 1/2 of what you earn so that everyone young & old can benefit? OR do you want to part with a fraction of what you earn and pay for your own whatever medical/healthcare/welfare you wanna seek?

We cannot compare ourselves with countries who have huge natural resources which they can export and grow their economy, give social welfare, give almost free education & healthcare and ppl work at snail pace stress-free lifestyle. When I look around... to be honest, we got nothing, no natural resources, I dun even consider our ppl as an asset or even as resources.

We cannot rely on other ppl to give us anything, sad to say not even our gahment. We must learn to live with what we have and pay in full coz we got no support from anything or anyone. This is reality. Even if you KPKB it will not help.

don't think he's asking for votes. he's raising awareness of a problem.

office block youtube. what he say huh?? if about giving welfare to those poor and needy.

i will say forget it. seen enough ppl who abuse the welfare given by government in singapore liao.

those in real need one let those charity organisation screen and provide (they do a better job than government in screening.)

Edited by Joseph22

office block youtube. what he say huh?? if about giving welfare to those poor and needy.

i will say forget it. seen enough ppl who abuse the welfare given by government in singapore liao.

those in real need one let those charity organisation screen and provide (they do a better job than government in screening.)

Well said. [thumbsup]

no la...bigger issues...plus those old folks who got to slog.

To be honest, I'm not convinced. I'm the type that's not easily influenced by what ppl say. I use my eyes to see, not my ears.

IMO If you want social welfare or even healthcare benefits or whatever benefits other citizens are enjoying in whatever country, are you willing to part with 1/2 of what you earn so that everyone young & old can benefit? OR do you want to part with a fraction of what you earn and pay for your own whatever medical/healthcare/welfare you wanna seek?

We cannot compare ourselves with countries who have huge natural resources which they can export and grow their economy, give social welfare, give almost free education & healthcare and ppl work at snail pace stress-free lifestyle. When I look around... to be honest, we got nothing, no natural resources, I dun even consider our ppl as an asset or even as resources.

We cannot rely on other ppl to give us anything, sad to say not even our gahment. We must learn to live with what we have and pay in full coz we got no support from anything or anyone. This is reality. Even if you KPKB it will not help.

yes yes only little problem -> we have huge budget surplus every year. we still need to tax ppl heavily for the benefits u mention?

btw here's a interesting article:

Make believe of Temasek Holding

The Make Believe World of Temasek Holdings and Singapore, Inc.

Posted on April 16, 2012

Singapore stands as one of the great economic success stories in recent history. Sustained GDP growth and sovereign wealth funds that boast hundreds of billions of Singaporean dollars of investments around the world have made Singapore the envy of many countries. However, beneath the surface lie strong indications that Singaporean finances are demonstrably false.

The problems begin with Temasek Holdings, the domestic focused Singaporean sovereign wealth fund. In its annual reports, Temasek claims that since inception it has earned an average annual return of 17%. Temasek

no la...bigger issues...plus those old folks who got to slog.

actually does he really think they need to slog??

i speak to a few before, they dont really need and their children ask them to stop working. but they say this.

"If i dont work what can i do. i already so old liao. if i dont work i will feel so useless."

sometime its easy to say they are slogging or they need help. but is it what they want?

of course not to say there are no ppl in real needs.

bigger issue one i go listen later. :D

anyway i only respond to giving aids nia cause only see that mention

Edited by Joseph22

If he had spoken like that every time he speaks rather than screaming, I'm sure he would have more supporters.

actually does he really think they need to slog??

i speak to a few before, they dont really need and their children ask them to stop working. but they say this.

"If i dont work what can i do. i already so old liao. if i dont work i will feel so useless."

sometime its easy to say they are slogging or they need help. but is it what they want?

of course not to say there are no ppl in real needs.

bigger issue one i go listen later. :D

anyway i only respond to giving aids nia cause only see that mention

of cos not referring to those macdonalds aunties. it's those pick cardboard, clean toilet for low pay, very low pay in fact.

yes yes only little problem -> we have huge budget surplus every year. we still need to tax ppl heavily for the benefits u mention?

Got as heavy as 1/2 of what you earned? I take my wife for example lah, she work as a finance manger position. After parent relief, child relief, wife of NSman relief(LOL I dunno where this come from), she hardly paid anything for income tax. So the other form of tax is left with GST. Whatever surplus gahment already say is from the casinos, IMO not from "heavy taxing" from ppl like you said. This kinda thing I cannot bluff you wan. If you kenna heavily tax, that means you are single. Thank you for your contribution to nation building. :D

u noe y? Cos she is hi income earner and the system here tax more of the poor while relieving the rich.

If u low income mostly likely u wun have children so a lot relief dun qualify.

btw wat makes u tink tax is main source of revenue? Coe, HDB(partly contribute to singlehood of ppl), gst, labour levies, rd tax, property duties and as u mention blood $ frOm casinoes.

Anymore smart alecky arguements?

u noe y? Cos she is hi income earner and the system here tax more of the poor while relieving the rich.

???? you got to be kidding.

I think the rich is tax more heavily than the poor in Singapore. Much more heavily.