Going to HK, what are the food must eat?

Donut

Ok, I'm being persuaded to get car cam from local contact.

Since not spending time finding car cam in HK, i focus on finding best places to eat

I state what i wan to try, as below. I want those dirty small shops. [laugh][laugh]. No need to eat in high class.

Wanton noodles

Beed noodles

Any kind of noodles

Roast pigeon

BBQ pork (char siew)

No goose. I know some ppl will recommend yuan kee. Not interested. Over-priced

I did some research, as below. What do you think?

Ho Hung Kee Congee & Noodle Wantun Shop

Variety is no stranger to Ho Hung Kee Congee & Noodle Wantun Shop. Although notorious for their congee and wontons, plenty of other noodle dishes, such as the spicy Singapore-Style Fried Vermicelli, serve as another reason why this restaurant is a must try place. With the wonton noodle kitchen on one side and the congee kitchen on the other, it

橋底辣蟹...just tell it to the taxi driver..they will know where to bring you...must order the ''urine prawn'' Edited by LoverofCar

for breakfast either timsum or glutinous rice set at cafe de coral (try be there early, always sold out) and roast pigeons *yum yum

Edited by Sunny

Several places.

Firstly for dimsum with pushcarts, Lin Heung.

nzd5Al.jpg

yVI6ll.jpg

KU4cpl.jpg

Seaweed porridge at Lin Heung. Have to queue in the store to get your bowl-full.

lcWerl.jpg

Then egg tarts can go Tai Cheong. Last governor Chris Patten's favorite.

pRPhnl.jpg

VAcEFl.jpg

Then to me ngow lam meen anywhere also can lah.

4lTbjl.jpg

Roast goose anywhere also can lah.

5rYxfl.jpg

Then along Temple St a lot of stalls that have the "ho jeen" Super crispy fried oh luak.

2RlcYl.jpg

Same stall (45 Temple St) have claypot rice. Here is pork ribs version with lap cheong but I have not added the black sauce yet.

ZPtBhl.jpg

Fish belly version.

s54TKl.jpg

Who can forget Tim Ho Wan. This the HK Station branch. 08:00 and there is a queue.

ThPdbl.jpg

Their famous char siew pau that is baked, not steamed.

VpVE9l.jpg

o4wc9l.jpg

Siew Mai

ACh5Ll.jpg

Har gow

ol43fl.jpg

Both not as good as Tao Heung actually. Tim Ho Wan is basically cheaper than usual and is accorded 1 Michellin Star.

Cheong fun

gscYZl.jpg

This I like from them. Beef balls wrapped in bean curd skin.

vsQNRl.jpg

These are like miniature soon kueh but more delicate and fragile. Very nice.

rIWdml.jpg

Edited by Genie47

I donno, but I see thread title, I botol botol know is you start one. kekekekeke....EGG TARTS LAH! [laugh]

is nbext thread,

go HK, what kind to play with [laugh][laugh]

is nbext thread,

go HK, what kind to play with [laugh][laugh]

[laugh][laugh] .

Play? Go shenzhen. Cheaper....... [laugh]

Don't distrub Donut lah. [laugh][laugh]

next he will ask

go HK, where to get married ah [:p][:p]

nah..he cannot give me card [laugh]

[laugh][laugh] .

Play? Go shenzhen. Cheaper....... [laugh]

[laugh][laugh] u dun participate in protest hor.,.....there think prison no BB

lastly go to HK, which credit card better? [:p]

think by now whole of HK know a donut gg there

eh donut...dun bring back bird flu hor.... [:p][:p][:p]

yoz donut bro...usu HK i dun specifically target any restaurants to go cos to me their std is quite ok generally. u know like tokyo u walk-in any nobody eatery the std is stil there.

but food wise, we will surely eat dim sum, po lo buns, hk tea, Xu Liu Shan desserts.

only last trip my wife specifically wanted to go 九记牛腩 at upper central. it is a long running shop n patronised by stars apparently. i thk it is def worth the effort if u r ard tat area. enjoy.