Car horns question

Mllcg

Are car horns waterproof?

i think mine got damaged at the car wash ytd..

suddenly no sound.

Dun fit ur car horns with the trumpet hole facing upwards. Else sure collect water n spoils

change a new set. less than S$50 including installation at most audio shop.

I forgoten the brand. it is a pair of RED colour horn.

The holes should be facing down. The horns spoil probably cuz water got in and got trapped inside the horn

1st Gear

Make sure that it is the horn that's faulty.

No sound could be due to bad connection or fuse blown or something else.

generally, yes they are weatherproof. Means can tahan rain but not submerged under water. Horns are always situated behind the front grille, sure will kenna water one, and usually the flare part faces down (the correct mounting position)

horns are cheap. go and get them changed. Get those two tone type, loud and shiok !! Eg. Stebel Magnum II

hijack abit... :) noob question... is aftermatket horns like hella/ bosch approved?

No approved or not approved. Only air horns are NOT ALLOWED.

generally, yes they are weatherproof. Means can tahan rain but not submerged under water. Horns are always situated behind the front grille, sure will kenna water one, and usually the flare part faces down (the correct mounting position)

horns are cheap. go and get them changed. Get those two tone type, loud and shiok !! Eg. Stebel Magnum II

I am using Stebels for my car and bike! Super shiok sound! Last time use Hella, but Stebel more kick! :wub:

Drill draining holes in those spriral horns.

I did that for my motorcycle horn.

To get maximum sound forward you need to 'aim' the opening forward. But that will cause water to go into the horn during rain and washing.

The holes should be facing down. The horns spoil probably cuz water got in and got trapped inside the horn

Bro, isn't front facing more effective? Louder por por?

Will installing new horns mess up the car's electric circuit? Heard something about resistor to go with the installation. [confused]

No approved or not approved. Only air horns are NOT ALLOWED.

Air horns don't install, just put it within reach on the dashboard.

Lower window and blast! [laugh] ooops! [lipsrsealed]

Air horns don't install, just put it within reach on the dashboard.

Lower window and blast! [laugh] ooops! [lipsrsealed]

isnt there electric air horns?

those connected to that little button? :D

Football air horns lah . . . . [laugh]

lol.

but are the electronic air horns allowed?

the high pitched ones

Football air horns lah . . . . [laugh]

might as well blow the african horn vuvuzela

Mr Radx, I don't mind if they are louder then the Steibels but seriously I'm having second thoughts about replacing the stock horns. [sweatdrop]