Good Workshop To Repair Clutch and Gearbox for Auto Trans

sidetrack a bit....how to determine if the gearbox is faulty? How long can a gear box last?

Edited by Estrangable

Sg workshop overhaul GB range over $2K+ at least & take couple of days too (those earlier posted WS i checked b4 too). I did my GB repairs in JB for 1/2 of wat SG workshop normally charged & took 1 day only. Will post address later on as using mobile outside.

IMG_2091_zpse8428bbf.jpg

A picture is worth a thousand words [laugh]

Sharing is Caring!!! [wave][drivingcar][inlove]

sidetrack a bit....how to determine if the gearbox is faulty? How long can a gear box last?

I guss diff ppl got diff situation. For my case was loud 'ding' 'ding' while change gear (4 AT type), can be heard loudly within my cabin too. My mechanic says main shaft up lorry liao, suggest me to continue driving until car can't move. Just can't tahan the sound & proceed to change lor.

As for how long a GB lasted, depends on your driving behavior. I usually drag gear @ low speed & maybe that's y my GB gg so fast.

The GB ws also said AT oil to change @ about 20k interval as the oil very thin wor.

Mine GB INVECS III CVT was overhual at Muar back in Dec 2010. Total damage RM 2400 labour + $12 bearing & $36 ATF which bought here.

During that time mileage was only 60k km.

Edited by Jordanplus

Thanks alot for sharing.

I checked with Top Speed Motors and they quoted me about $1.5k exclude GST. Warranty will be 6 months.

Will be choosing them to overhaul my gb.

I also like to know how long can a gearbox last. Hearing how expensive a change can be, I hope I dont need to change at all. I need to keep my car till end of 10 years and then switch to public transport, unless COE goes below 20k. Now it's 6yrs and 8 mths and 206k mileage.

Mine Is A 04 city. In The Morning Shift To D GEAR BUT CAR WONT MOVE KEEP JERK FORWARD.ALREADY FLUSH AND CHANGE AT FLUID. PLEASE ADVISED

A cheaper option is to chk wh scrapyards if ty hv a 2nd hand autobox fr u or if ty can bring in.

Sud b a few hundred n a couple of hundred to install.

Just make sure ty guarantee its working well or ty replace foc.

Last time seng tat do fr total 500 bucks. Now seng tat closed but others might hv same deal.

Even those ws wil get 2nd hand unit fr u n mark up till abt $2k.

I also like to know how long can a gearbox last. Hearing how expensive a change can be, I hope I dont need to change at all. I need to keep my car till end of 10 years and then switch to public transport, unless COE goes below 20k. Now it's 6yrs and 8 mths and 206k mileage.

A lot depends on how well u take care of it n how u drive.

Last time my corona autobox spoil abt 300k km. Overhaul/replace at khangs fr 2k.

If i know scrapyard lobang earlier i wud save abt 1.5k. [bigcry]

Try to change atf more. Now i drain n fill atf every 20-30k km n see colour of old oil. If its very black i change more often.

Most autobox fail cos atf never change or fill too low or fill too high or use wrong or poor quality atf or always stuck in jam n atf overheat n fail.

A lot depends on how well u take care of it n how u drive.

Last time my corona autobox spoil abt 300k km. Overhaul/replace at khangs fr 2k.

If i know scrapyard lobang earlier i wud save abt 1.5k. [bigcry]

I do nothing. What is there is take care? I leave everything to TCM and I service my car every 10k (about every 3.5 mths) as per their maintenance package. So far no major problem or expensive replacements except changing of dampers.

Hope I dont need to change at 300km like you cause I will sure to touch more than 300 before end of life.

Edited by Dumb

I do nothing. What is there is take care? I leave everything to TCM and I service my car every 10k (about every 3.5 mths) as per their maintenance package. So far no major problem or expensive replacements except changing of dampers.

Hope I dont need to change at 300km like you cause I will sure to touch more than 300 before end of life.

Ok.......... And yr point is???????

Just keeping my fingers crossed that GB can last more than 10 yrs if regularly serviced by agent so that I dont need to change.

I dun trust quality of agent.

I prefer to trust myself. I tell my mech what i want n i stick around to make sure ty do what i want.

U just leave it to them i doubt ty so on to do a proper job. Some dun even know how to do it properly.

Ive seen e way ty work. Really make me scared.

Automatic transmissions generally need a wee bit extra care and precautions while overhauling them. The best way to ensure this is to get it seen to your authorized service station. If you ever need a complete new transmission (God forbid that!) you can always find OE good quality used ones on automotix(dot)net/usedtransmissions for really economical prices and many more related parts.

Hi any bro change their oil seal at the auto gearbox before?

last 2-3 week found some ATF on the floor after overnight parking, drive to few WS, some mention in this forum and they state that is is the torque convertor oil seal. I google online and have a rough idea of what the part is.

drive a round to different WS in sing & JB and the following is the quote.:

1st WS General WS : 500-600 to change the oil seal

2nd WS Auto gear box Specialist :Have to overhaul, that the only way ; $2500

3rd WS Auto gear box Specialist : replace seal $1300, overhaul (optional) 3k plus

4th WS (JB) Auto gear box Specialist : replace seal RM500, will check if the oil pump inside the gearbox is spoilt, if need total RM1800 (seal + oil pump)

5th WS (JB) General WS: all part from me; RM150 labour to replace oil seal plus 2 at the drivedshaft.

6th personal friend advise: minor leak, leave it.. else you migh open can of worm :oops:

have check with socktist the seal only cost $8, while the seal at the driveshaft is $12.

the price really varies very much LOL.......

what your take??

Thanks

Try to change atf more. Now i drain n fill atf every 20-30k km n see colour of old oil. If its very black i change more often.

Most autobox fail cos atf never change or fill too low or fill too high or use wrong or poor quality atf or always stuck in jam n atf overheat n fail.

If ATF change colour, something is seriously wrong liao. Unlike engine oil, ATF should not change colour.

the color will still change a bit due to deterioration over time and buildup of debris....but there's no agreed principle on whether flushing and replacing ATF is always good....some ppl believe tat beyond a certain mileage, better dun touch the ATF but juz top up....