Dual SIM smartphone users come in!

Kelpie

4th Gear

recently got 2 Redmi phones at M1 shop, w/o contract costing S$180 each.....comes with free M1 Prepaid SIM card worth S$18 per phone.........felt better deal than the Redmi offered on the web....

Edited by WTF

How come no one using Huawei 3x? Specs are good, both Sim card slot can use 3g so no need to take out Sim card and swap ard.

But I must admit, the price is a bit steep for a China brand.

was considering the Redmi also until my colleague told me the camera is not so clear.

anyway, if you are following, the new version is the Redmi S1 - same phone but using Qualcomm chip iso MTK.

bought a Gold battery on Qoo10 ... and from one 8 hours, my Note1 can now tahan about 2 days !! so if i am going to carry 2 phones, then no need to make any changes.

Yap, the S1 is coming,

btw i attached the photo taken from my Redmi. you do the judging.

post-19343-0-59047100-1402205442_thumb.jpg

post-19343-0-68491700-1402205457_thumb.jpg

post-19343-0-08931600-1402205479_thumb.jpg

Hi all,

Any experts there who can recommend a dual SIM Smart phones, that are currently available in SG/MY?

Thank you very much.

Regards,

Redmi from Xiaomi

Used the Redmi last week in Hong Kong for 7 days with a prepaid SIM card running on 3G. As mentioned previously, the Redmi's primary SIM is 3G and secondary is 2G. I plugged my M1 SIM into the secondary 2G slot for auto-roaming and use the prepaid 3G card to tether and share data with a Samsung phone and iPad. Setup is straight forward and quite idiot proof. The Redmi is stable as a rock and battery life is good. Spare batt is cheap ($9.99) or get the super Xiaomi power bank for S$14.

There are a few prepaid SIM for purchase in Hong Kong and if you are a heavy data user, go for PCCW with 5GB data and you can purchase this on the plane for HK$90 (usual HK$96). You will be able to log on to many hotspots with free wifi as well.

Am using a Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos (1st gen). There is a newer Galaxy Grand 2 Duos now. The Duos indicates 2-sim. Samsung brings in the single sim model but you should be able to get the dual sim version (grey market, parallel import) from those Ah Beng phone shops for <$400.

Phone is reasonably cheap for 5". Battery consumption average. Processor may not be the fastest but sufficient. Only thing I wish it had more is RAM. Comes with external memory card slot. Enough to take care of your memory space needs. Battery life is good for 1.5 to 2 days with WiFi and 4G usage. GPS use will of course drain the battery. Galaxy Grand 2 uses micro sim. The older version uses full size sim. Current version runs Android 4.2.2. Should be upgradeable as and when Samsung pushes out a new firmware.

Can consider the Asus Zenfone 5 too. Will post reviews once i get my hands on it on June the 21st.

Starting from July 2016.  Seem like Singapore telcom are going to phase out 2G network. Those using dual sim phone will faced problem.  When SIM 1 is on LTE/3G network.  The SIM 2 can only be on 2G network standby.    This is already happening in some shopping mall like selatar mall where the 2G network is not working.  This effectively killed the SIM slot number 2 which only 2G network is allowed at anytime.   Anyone have a dual sim phone to recommend where both SIM card can be on LTE/3G active? 

Edited by LoverofCar

Starting from July 2016.  Seem like Singapore telcom are going to phase out 2G network. Those using dual sim phone will faced problem.  When SIM 1 is on LTE/3G network.  The SIM 2 can only be on 2G network standby.    This is already happening in some shopping mall like selatar mall where the 2G network is not working.  This effectively killed the SIM slot number 2 which only 2G network is allowed at anytime.   Anyone have a dual sim phone to recommend where both SIM card can be on LTE/3G active? 

Bro. Not sure how my zenfone (only cost 210$) deals with this issue.

Let me go home and put my second sim inside to test if it is on 3g or 2g for you later.

Starting from July 2016. Seem like Singapore telcom are going to phase out 2G network. Those using dual sim phone will faced problem. When SIM 1 is on LTE/3G network. The SIM 2 can only be on 2G network standby. This is already happening in some shopping mall like selatar mall where the 2G network is not working. This effectively killed the SIM slot number 2 which only 2G network is allowed at anytime. Anyone have a dual sim phone to recommend where both SIM card can be on LTE/3G active?

with the increase in 4G network, I think most of the dua sim phone cone with both LTE slot.

Both sims can definitely access LTE network but only 1 at a time.

His question is what happens to the second sim if if the first SIM is already connected to LTE/3G.

Does it connect to 2G or is it able to connect to 3G networks.

Edited by Kusje

His question is what happens to the second sim if if the first SIM is already connected to LTE/3G.

oh I didn't know have such restrictions.

That's cuz no one cares about it at the moment because it isn't really an issue while 2G networks are still around.

But once the 2G networks are replaced, those old phones (whether dumb or smart) that run on 2G will be affected.

If Loverofcars didn't bring it up, I also wouldn't have realised that my dualsim phone could be affected.

The phase out of 2G is 1st April 2017.  I got the date wrong.  But if this is the case, all the dual sim card with 2G on SIM card slot 2 will be useless by then.    Current most dual sim card phone can only have one slot on LTE/3G and the other slot on 2G network.  

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/telcos-to-end-2g-services/1916108.html

NGAPORE: All three telcos in Singapore - M1, Singtel and StarHub - will pull the plug on 2G services from Apr 1, 2017, the companies said in a joint press release on Monday (Jun 15).

The mobile operators will cease 2G voice, messaging and data services, and the spectrum currently used for the network will be used to provide faster, more advanced 3G and 4G services to cater for consumers' increased demand for mobile data and faster access speeds, they added.

2G refers to the second generation of mobile phone technologies, capable of supporting voice calls, SMS and basic internet access. It was introduced to Singapore in 1994.

"Today, the majority of mobile customers are on 3G and 4G networks, only an extremely small percentage of customers remain on 2G-only mobile devices," the telcos said, adding that they will continue to reach out to affected users through various channels as relevant, including SMS, calls and posters at their retail outlets, in the run-up to the 2G network closure.

Those already using 3G and 4G handsets will not be affected, they said.

LOW 2G SUBSCRIBER BASE: IDA

In approving the telcos' request, regulator Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore (IDA) said it took into consideration the evolving technology landscape and the migration of consumers to 3G and 4G technologies.

Today, there are about 3 per cent, or about 250,000 individual SIM cards in Singapore, on 2G pre- and post-paid subscriptions, it said.

"The retirement of the 2G networks will allow more efficient use of the scarce radio frequency spectrum to provide the more advanced 3G and 4G services, which will better meet users’ demand for rich multi-media content," IDA said.

"Currently, all the three MNOs (mobile network operators) have achieved 99 per cent nationwide coverage for 3G services; and have achieved significant nationwide coverage of more than 98 per cent at outdoor street level for 4G services."

IDA noted that providers in countries such as Japan, Australia and the US have also closed their 2G networks, or plan to do so. It added that customers moving off their existing 2G plans will not be charged extra.

The agency said it will stop accepting registration of 2G-only mobile communication equipment from Sep 15 this year, and consumers are advised not to purchase 2G-only devices. It will closely monitor the migration progress, IDA added. 

In response to questions on whether the networks were robust and reliable enough for the change, an IDA spokesperson said telco operators have met the 3G Quality of Service (QOS) standards set out to ensure acceptable levels of mobile service quality for customers. It added that it will ensure that the operators continue to meet these standards.

Consumers Channel NewsAsia spoke to had mixed reactions about the move.

Mr Michael Tham, a retiree, said: "Simple things, just making a phone call to my friend or just keying in some SMS, are good enough (for me)." Student Yong Feng Wei noted: "More people are using more efficient and reliable networking services than 2G right now."

Another retiree, Mr Johnny Tan said: "Older generations such as us, we don't know how to use the new types of phones. But it's OK. We have to learn how to use the phones."

Several mobile phone retailers told Channel NewsAsia that the sale of 2G phones still make up a significant number of sales, with one saying they would sell about 100 units a month. These are often phones without a mobile service contract, taken up by older users, foreign workers and NSmen serving reservist time.

Foreign workers, for example, use 2G phones to contact their families in their home countries. 

Mr Amin Sarkar, a construction worker with HSL Constructor, said: "Everybody would have to change our mobiles. Then the cost will likely be more than before. Because now it costs us S$100, S$250 (for a handset). Next time if we use those kind of phones (3G handsets), it will mostly cost us $200. Likely more."

Said Mr Valla Shamsher, another construction worker with HSL Constructor: "Most workers are using 2G phones because they are easy to carry, easy to get network connections, and the battery life is longer."

HSL Constructor said its construction and engineering business operations will not be affected by the move. But other sectors such as retail and transportation that rely on 2G technologies for specialised equipment - such as point of sales terminals and tracking devices - will similarly need to migrate to 3G-enabled devices.

Now, some shopping mall in Singapore already phase out 2G.  Go to selatar mall, the SIM card slot on 2G standby will not connect anymore there. 

im using Xiaomi Note 2, both SIM card slot are 4G/LTE.

Damage S$229, so far so good stable and fast

Where do u get this?  I don't think it is LTE/3G standby for both slots at the same time.  At any one time, only one slot is LTE/3G.  The other slot will go to 2G automatically.   Can you confirm it?  Much appreciated.

Edited by LoverofCar

Samsung Galaxy S7 edge both sim slots are LTE/4G compliant?

Compliant is one thing.  Both slots can connect LTE/3G but only one slot can do it at any one time.  So slot 1 is LTE/3G.  Slot 2 will be 2G.  So if 2G network gone.  Only one slot is working....

The phase out of 2G is 1st April 2017.  I got the date wrong.  But if this is the case, all the dual sim card with 2G on SIM card slot 2 will be useless by then.    Current most dual sim card phone can only have one slot on LTE/3G and the other slot on 2G network.  

Now, some shopping mall in Singapore already phase out 2G.  Go to selatar mall, the SIM card slot on 2G standby will not connect anymore there. 

Where do u get this?  I don't think it is LTE/3G standby for both slots at the same time.  At any one time, only one slot is LTE/3G.  The other slot will go to 2G automatically.   Can you confirm it?  Much appreciated.

my earlier post mentioned the latest dua sim phone usually come with 2 LTE slots, if both sim card are LTE, why can't they both access to 4G network unless the telco restrict the signal?

Probably a hardware issue where there is just 1 LTE radio on the phone which is shared among both sim cards?