Should I sell my car the Owner-to-Owner way?

Holyarmer

Hi everyone, I'm looking to sell my car. As I have quite a bit of free time and I'm not in a hurry, I was thinking I could save a big sum of money by selling the car by myself. I also have a dealer agent who will do the paperwork for me and give me a $400 cash rebate. As compared to selling to dealers and consignment, I know it's going to be more tedious.

What are your views? How much harder is it to sell by yourself? Any pitfalls? Share your experience if any! Thanks.

Hi everyone, I'm looking to sell my car. As I have quite a bit of free time and I'm not in a hurry, I was thinking I could save a big sum of money by selling the car by myself. I also have a dealer agent who will do the paperwork for me and give me a $400 cash rebate. As compared to selling to dealers and consignment, I know it's going to be more tedious.

What are your views? How much harder is it to sell by yourself? Any pitfalls? Share your experience if any! Thanks.

once i linked up with a forum member from elsewhere to sell my car to him. he appointed an agent and i let the agent handle my nric and other paperwork as well. although i think i can handle the paperwork pretty well as well but for him, maybe he is not so adept. what i don't like is he still deduct some admin charges from my proceed even though he was strictly doing the work for buyer than me.

the way i look at it, pretty straightforward. if you wanna save the money, DIY. if you want to save the hassle but pay some handling charge, also not a problem. if you sell dealer, their margin is usually around $3k- $6k by buying low, selling high.

Zero pitfalls compared to handling it over to a second hand car dealers.

If your man-hours are low, then you should try to sell it yourself and learn a thing or two about the business and transactions. It's fun.

Please give your car a good grooming inside out. It will greatly enhanced your resale value!

Yes, including washing your engine and armorall every plastic/rubber parts.

Good luck.

Zero pitfalls compared to handling it over to a second hand car dealers.

If your man-hours are low, then you should try to sell it yourself and learn a thing or two about the business and transactions. It's fun.

Please give your car a good grooming inside out. It will greatly enhanced your resale value!

Yes, including washing your engine and armorall every plastic/rubber parts.

Good luck.

hehe but from a practical perspective, engine bay shouldn't be squeaky clean in case buyer examine and thought you langga the car recently.

Sell yourself is very easy and problem free. If the buyer getting loan, the his agent will settle everything, usually no admin fee crap. If cash purchase, also simple. Just meet at LTA, 5mins later -> done ! Just make sure he pays by cashiers's order.

Sold my last 2 cars direct.

Oh, and prepared to be LOW-BALLED ! So you might want to place ad that says Price Fixed. That time I already sell 2-3K below market, and yet got jokers wanna slash 3-4K off ....

What car are you selling? Care to provide details??

the last time i wanted to buy from a direct owner... the kotek say....

Me: Can i test drive your car?

Kotek: my car powerful, later you accident how

Me: but you drive a 2L euro R i now driving 2.2L euro R.. hello!!

Kotek: But skill different....

Me: Ok lor...then can send to inspection?

Kotek: Inspect what

Me: Inspect lar to see the car ok anot

Kotek: Sure ok de.. no problem

Me: But still need to inspect leh if not how to buy

Kotek: If inspect liao then you don''t want to buy , you waste me 1 day time

Me: Hello i pay for inspection wether i buy or not, i also need to be there whole day.. not you only

Kotek: you want you buy lar..

Me: Don't waste my time.. like that how you sell car.. scared this and that...

I drove off in my not so powerful 2.2l euror while he sit on kerb with his so very powerful euror

knn farking waste time........

Low ballers are usually car dealers in disguise. They are quie good in their acts.

Can easily test them out, by asking what kind of work they doing in a casual friend like chit chat, got name card.

Those very sure of the asking price and wiling to put a downpayment immediately are mostly dealers, they don't want to waste time talking and negotiating too much and their time are precious.

90% of caller likely to be dealers.

Got to be patient to wait for the direct buyer to call up, and the reward is can sell at higher price which is at the mid-point of the advertised price & dealers take in price.

I sold my last Altis thru sgcarmart as well. Very nice and eye opening experience.

the last time i wanted to buy from a direct owner... the kotek say....

Me: Can i test drive your car?

Kotek: my car powerful, later you accident how

Me: but you drive a 2L euro R i now driving 2.2L euro R.. hello!!

Kotek: But skill different....

Me: Ok lor...then can send to inspection?

Kotek: Inspect what

Me: Inspect lar to see the car ok anot

Kotek: Sure ok de.. no problem

Me: But still need to inspect leh if not how to buy

Kotek: If inspect liao then you don''t want to buy , you waste me 1 day time

Me: Hello i pay for inspection wether i buy or not, i also need to be there whole day.. not you only

Kotek: you want you buy lar..

Me: Don't waste my time.. like that how you sell car.. scared this and that...

I drove off in my not so powerful 2.2l euror while he sit on kerb with his so very powerful euror

knn farking waste time........

haha, hilarious! i think direct selling/buying has this aspect of possibility to meet inexperienced persons that will amuse us or make our blood boil.

but still worth it to go through this type of experience.

Sell yourself is very easy and problem free. If the buyer getting loan, the his agent will settle everything, usually no admin fee crap. If cash purchase, also simple. Just meet at LTA, 5mins later -> done ! Just make sure he pays by cashiers's order.

Oh, and prepared to be LOW-BALLED ! So you might want to place ad that says Price Fixed. That time I already sell 2-3K below market, and yet got jokers wanna slash 3-4K off ....

if after talking to them on the phone and tink they're a genuine buyer, i always tell them upfront my min price. any lower, pls dun waste coming to try luck coz i wun sell at below mkt price.

hehe but not all time is buyer the problem. sometimes seller can be the problem. recently i was shopping for baby pram over internet. when i contacted the seller just to view it, he kind of like expected me to confirm i am buying it. i kind of like gave in and say i will buy it if condition ok but he keep repeating "you confirmed buying, hor"

after hanging up, i spoke with my wife and found another cheaper unit on internet then i told him i am not meeting him. with act of petulance he replied "fine by you, i have ready buyer ...."

childish is understatement for person of his age.

hehe but not all time is buyer the problem. sometimes seller can be the problem. recently i was shopping for baby pram over internet. when i contacted the seller just to view it, he kind of like expected me to confirm i am buying it. i kind of like gave in and say i will buy it if condition ok but he keep repeating "you confirmed buying, hor"

after hanging up, i spoke with my wife and found another cheaper unit on internet then i told him i am not meeting him. with act of petulance he replied "fine by you, i have ready buyer ...."

childish is understatement for person of his age.

that's why for small value items, i'd rather give them away than trying to sell them. not worth the headache dealing wif time wasters, low ballers and weirdos.

haha, hilarious! i think direct selling/buying has this aspect of possibility to meet inexperienced persons that will amuse us or make our blood boil.

but still worth it to go through this type of experience.

ya... i take it as a big joke.. had a very good laugh that day

that's why for small value items, i'd rather give them away than trying to sell them. not worth the headache dealing wif time wasters, low ballers and weirdos.

hehe actually i also throw away a lot of such low value item cos lazy to post and find takers. but you are right, value too low to worth the hassle with such people.

Hi everyone, thanks for your advice and encouragement. I think I will give it a shot!

My car's a May 2009 Hyundai Avante. Sent for grooming already.

I'm selling cus I'm going overseas in August. Think will start selling now while COE prices are high still..

good luck... remember when you are selling the car and receiving payment, take the payment in form of Cashier's Order only before you exchange car owner details at LTA.

I rather do it in person then allow an agent to do on behalf on me. Don't mind taking half day leave for such things. Rather go through hassle myself then have the possibility of something go wrong and the car ownership has been transferred but money not taken yet.