Lim Hock Siew-untold story of y he & colleagues left PAP

Relacklabrudder

Dr. Lim Hock Siew - Unfulfilled Dream of the Fajar Generation....

We are all saddened by the passing of Dr. Lim Hock Siew, a patriot who lived by his principles and held on to his ideals throughout his life.

The past few years, members of the Fajar Generation came forward to speak to the present generation to tell us of the truth behind historic events and bring to us lessons from the past. There is a string of history that connects the masses standing in the field in Hougang several weeks ago to the men and women in the Fajar Generation 50 years ago - it has been a long struggle to fulfill a dream for Singapore.

51 years ago, Dr. Lim and his colleagues broke away from the PAP to form the Barisan Socialis. Here s the editorial from the Fajar, the organ of the USC(University Socialist Club) in Aug 1961, one month before the formation of the Barisan Socialis. It outlined the difference in principles that led to the formation of the Barisan Socialis.

"We call the PAP not to resort to undemocratic practices in its bid to remain in power, lest the few democratic rights we have painfully achieved will be lost and the next stage......." - The Fajar 1961.

Lim Chin Siong outlined the goals of his party and his vision for Singapore in 1961 after the formation of Barisan Socialis. He envisioned a Singapore that is democratic and free. In 1963 while they were preparing for the General Election which they had a good chance of winning, they were arrested and jailed without trial. Operation Cold Store crushed the dream and vision of Dr. Lim and his colleagues for a free and democrathile they supported the PAP in the comiic Singapore.

50 years later, Singaporeans live in a semi-authoritarian state still struggling for their basic rights to assemble and to speak freely. Elections have been tweaked to preserve PAP's dominance and Singapore ranks very low in press freedom. The same laws that were used to detain these leaders still exist in Singapore today. Why do we need the ISA when no other developed countries need this law to ensure the security of its citizens?

Dr. Lim's stood by his principles and never wavered from doing what was right. He was detained for 19 years for his beliefs by those who resorted to undemocratic means to retain power. His life is an inspiration for current and future generations of Singaporeans. We must keep fighting for a democratic future and never forget if we ever waver, the other side will win and govern us and our children using fear and propaganda.

Today the Asian countries around us have progressed and moved away from their authoritarian and undemocratic past. Many have found new and better ways to thrive and succeed in a freer more democratic environment achieving more equitable outcomes for their citizens. When we look at the dream of the Fajar Generation, it is not the dream of a past generation but a dream for our own generation and a dream for our children. We have to keep this dream alive by not falling for tricks used by men who will resort to undemocratic means to retain power. We must not succumb to greed and easy promises. The path to democracy will always be made hard and painful for Singaporeans. Dr. Lim fought for it all his life and the people of Hougang fought against threats and financial temptation for 20 years to retain a small area that serves as a beacon and inspiration for the rest of us.

Yesterday, Dr. Vivian Balakrishnan said on his Facebook page:

" He was a good and honourable man" - Dr. Vivian Balakrishnan

Why does the law that detains good and honourable men without trial still exists? Dr. Vivian Balakrishnan should do the honourable thing and ask the gvot to repeal ISA and replaced by an anti-terrorism act. By retaining the ISA, the PAP govt reminds us that it has not changed and the existence ISA symbolises the frustrating lack of political progress in Singapore.

Dr Lim Hock Siew

in the 60s political dissidents in other countries, disappeared in the middle of the night... the bodies never to be found... our system quite kind liao... let you lived to a ripe old age and still you published books

Actually who really cares except for the opposition who is trying to make him a symbol of their struggle to over throw the garment? Politics is big risk and big rewards & the opponents don't play nice. The proof of good leadership is in the pudding & Singapore did not turn out badly at all.

The way I see it people are struggling with their current issues to care too much about old warriors.

Yalor. It's about the power struggle between the two in the past. Even if they build an alter to worship him as a democratic symbol ppl dun really care coz ppl care more about money. I think the ppl here worship the wealth god more dan democracy. [:p]

ask yourselves. then who was governing? and to whom this body is putting its support to?

in my view, they def fought a worthy cause, a vision that is easily 30-40 yrs ahead of its time but no 天时,地利,人和。easy to be quashed.

What IF Barisan Socialis becomes our ruling party ?

Will they use ISA on the pappies ?

Will SG be as prosperous ?

Will HDB flats be so expensive today ?

Will MRT built with 12 carriages instead of 8 ?

Will Orchard road flood truly once every 50 years ?

Will FTs come in swarms ?

Will their minstars draw as highest the salary ?

Will HG, Aljunied be won by Pappies DC and GY & team ?

WHAT IF LKY had been held for treason and executed back or killed by the the local chinese freedom fighter in WW2 for helping the japs?

probably mediacock can shoot a fiction movie of someone going back into the past to save LKY from being assassinated or executed if not they won't be a singapore.

Like jap cars which were once sought after, value for money, things can go down hill although part of their past strengths may still keep them relevant (but only just) today, for the time being. Their relevance can continue to deminish when arrogance, greeds, complacency take over their minds of those who run the design and production. It doesn't help also when these ppl choose not to really listen to the users or buyers. Past glories don't guarantee the future. [:(]

kenna lock up so long in the end get what?

at least Nelson Mandela became the president of south africa

does he even have enough CPF$ for minimum sum since locked up so long no work?

in the 60s political dissidents in other countries, disappeared in the middle of the night... the bodies never to be found... our system quite kind liao... let you lived to a ripe old age and still you published books

Our system kind, Dun talk coke lah ! Let you live till old age, ( U haven't seen these warrior suffered enough, let alone eat well, locked up in confinement, eat, sleep and breath to write books, it time to wake up

If one is a political dissidents, you ain't got freedom nor guest to comfort you, you are locked away for good, The ISA can make or break U and family,

The late Lim Hock Siew should be released early for he does was long time ago, he does not caused much disorder, the trauma he has suffered was much to be desired, he believed in his spirit and set out for the fight. What he has on his mind was not evident on us, we were much younger, history only published after a person passed on . . .

Credits to those writer who dare to tell the truth and true be told to all who wish to know, Politics are never righteous and righteous people will never be in politics . THe rule of the thumb makes it right from wrong, we have seen , heard and witness enough, it is always ' dirty ' from start to finish.

You called it democratic society ?

Give me a break . . .

Our system kind, Dun talk coke lah ! Let you live till old age, ( U haven't seen these warrior suffered enough, let alone eat well, locked up in confinement, eat, sleep and breath to write books, it time to wake up

If one is a political dissidents, you ain't got freedom nor guest to comfort you, you are locked away for good, The ISA can make or break U and family,

The late Lim Hock Siew should be released early for he does was long time ago, he does not caused much disorder, the trauma he has suffered was much to be desired, he believed in his spirit and set out for the fight. What he has on his mind was not evident on us, we were much younger, history only published after a person passed on . . .

Credits to those writer who dare to tell the truth and true be told to all who wish to know, Politics are never righteous and righteous people will never be in politics . THe rule of the thumb makes it right from wrong, we have seen , heard and witness enough, it is always ' dirty ' from start to finish.

You called it democratic society ?

Give me a break . . .

at least he has a proper grave... you know how many unmarked graves there were in Indonesia when Suharto toppled Sukarno?

does he even have enough CPF$ for minimum sum since locked up so long no work?

They dont ask you to pay the food & lodging is already very good [laugh]

If Barisan National becomes Singapore ruling party, you will have ALL you above wishes come true, except maybe they will say the flooding good for the padi fields and maybe the MP dont earn much official salary as they will be rewarded in other ways, like contracts of buying military parts for $10 but selling to Govt at $1000 [laugh]

if barisan socialise become ruling, i have no doubt we will not be cheated by US bancs, suzhou industrial park losses, there will not be familee in big T and G investment funds, we will definitely do better thn we are now, no dependece on FTs, achieve a std of living on par with Nordic countries and maintain high growth as well.

This i s can assure u will happen. Who is to say it will not be better

if barisan socialise become ruling, i have no doubt we will not be cheated by US bancs, suzhou industrial park losses, there will not be familee in big T and G investment funds, we will definitely do better thn we are now, no dependece on FTs, achieve a std of living on par with Nordic countries and maintain high growth as well.

This i s can assure u will happen. Who is to say it will not be better

more likely we have militant union like SATU and scare away investors...

It tells u LKY is not the 真名天子

in china histroy 真名天子 is the one who manage to outsmart its folk.

apparently LKY did.