Singapore ranked 90th in latest Happy Planet Index

Kelpie

From Yahoo!News

Are Singaporeans a happy lot? Not quite, if the latest Happy Planet Index (HPI) is anything to go by.

The index measures how governments from around the world provide long, happy and sustainable lives for their people, based on three factors: life expectancy, happiness and environmental sustainability.

The results from the 2012 study, which was released on Thursday, ranked Singapore a lowly 90th out of 151 countries. Coming in top for the second year running is Costa Rica, while the highest-ranked Asian country is Vietnam (second). Hong Kong, in 102th position, is the only Asian nation that is ranked lower than Singapore.

Singapore scored well in life expectancy and well-being, but did poorly in environmental sustainability. Overall, it scored 39.8.

The Lion City performed better in the same study done in 2009, where it was ranked 49 out of 143 countries, with a score of 48.2.

But its showing this year is an improvement from 2006, where it came in at 131st position, out of 178 countries, with a score of just 36.1.

For more information on how the Happy Planet Index is calculated, go to http://www.happyplanetindex.org/about/

From Yahoo!News

Are Singaporeans a happy lot? Not quite, if the latest Happy Planet Index (HPI) is anything to go by.

The index measures how governments from around the world provide long, happy and sustainable lives for their people, based on three factors: life expectancy, happiness and environmental sustainability.

The results from the 2012 study, which was released on Thursday, ranked Singapore a lowly 90th out of 151 countries. Coming in top for the second year running is Costa Rica, while the highest-ranked Asian country is Vietnam (second). Hong Kong, in 102th position, is the only Asian nation that is ranked lower than Singapore.

Singapore scored well in life expectancy and well-being, but did poorly in environmental sustainability. Overall, it scored 39.8.

The Lion City performed better in the same study done in 2009, where it was ranked 49 out of 143 countries, with a score of 48.2.

But its showing this year is an improvement from 2006, where it came in at 131st position, out of 178 countries, with a score of just 36.1.

For more information on how the Happy Planet Index is calculated, go to http://www.happyplanetindex.org/about/

We are not a happy lot are we? [laugh]

We can be happy too just visualize yourself in one of Channel 8's Kampong themed series/Malaysia Taiwan travel guide/Old Celeb revisit to relive Happier times. [laugh] [laugh]

Don't worry, we can import happiness as well.

More like export happiness . Everytime I am out of SG , I feel happy and relax [cool]

2006 - rank 131

2009 - rank 49

2012 - rank 90

so we should be happy or sad because we rank better than in 2006??

2006 - rank 131

2009 - rank 49

2012 - rank 90

so we should be happy or sad because we rank better than in 2006??

The 2009 ranking is flawed.

This report wrong liao, Zorro says very happy when he looks at his CPF figures!

The 2009 ranking is flawed.

2009 the government giving rebates and other bonuses to citizen like no tomorrow mar...who not :D ..but now they stop liao...so many will be [smallcry]

Edited by Eviilusion

from the happy list, those happy countries, 90% are poor countries. i rather not to be happy in such cases

True blue Singaporean. Our world cass education have teaches us : Richer -> More happy. [:p]

"no countries in the world where population decreased, happiness increase."

.. Hence the saying goes, the more the merrier?

Pun intended