ST Forum: Doctors, Don't Lose Your Principles

Vulcann

Interesting piece.

Where is our resident MCF doc Lala81 to comment? [laugh]

Alas there are black sheeps in every profession...

From ST Forum:

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Online...ory_811310.html

Doctors, don't lose your principles

Published on Jun 16, 2012

THE medical profession has become, for some doctors, the means to amass great wealth.

Two encounters I had with doctors left me disgusted.

Some years ago, I took my son to a specialist for a procedure. After I paid the bill, the specialist chided me for not telling him that my son was covered by my company's medical insurance scheme.

His exact words: 'Had I known that you were covered by insurance, I would have charged you twice the amount.'

Recently, I consulted a specialist on a medical condition. I paid for the consultation, blood test, medication and a series of three treatments, which were to follow.

At one of the treatments, the specialist happened to enter the treatment room while I was being attended to by a nurse. We engaged in some small talk, which inevitably drifted to a conversation on my condition.

At the end of the treatment, I was billed $96.30, including goods and services tax, for the 'consultation'.

On querying the nurse, I was told that as long as I spoke with the specialist, a consultation charge would be incurred.

I found this baffling as my visit to the clinic was for treatment, and I did not have an appointment with the specialist. Nevertheless, I paid.

It has become increasingly hard to find doctors who are true to their calling - dedicated, professional, compassionate and humble.

Lawrence Loh

Just like some of the workshops when they know insurance is paying for the repair of the cars..... [shakehead]

I wouldn't be surprised at the events described.

For 1st example,

As with all companies who do business with insurance companies before, for certain procedures, there are usually extra charges somewhere cos for example, they will pay u a lesser consultation fee or some medications can only be claimed at their rates (even if its loss making for u).

For 2nd example,

Well its up to the doctor whether he want to charge for the consultation. It also depends on the content of the conversation.

For some patients, they treat our advice like small talk. I've ceased to be surprised when pple can talk to u for 30mins regarding their medical problems and walk out without expecting to pay consult fee.

If it's really casual small talk, then i would say its not too nice for the patient to pay for that.

I think people are not stupid, if u treat them like carrots, they will know.

$ complicates all relationships ... -_-

Wait till you go to those atas hospital here. They charge u everything. The gloves cost $45. The photo they show you cost $8 each. A 1hr surgery with 7 hrs of usage of their bed come up to $9k.......

LOL transparent itemised billing introduced by KBW mah [laugh] So that patients will have that long list to justify what they paid.

But really some expendable items within hospitals are not cheap, some of these small small things are a few dollars each. It does add up.

If u buy them in pharmacies or outside, u guys would know.

Last year, I brought my daughter to the New Ketupat Hospital

in Yushun cos she had food poisoning.

I thought that the A&E charges will be cheaper as compared to

24 hrs clinic.

We waited for more than 2 hours before she was seen by the doc.

I got a shock when the bill came up close to $100.

When I ask the nurse on duty why so expensive.

She replied that it a semi-garment hosp.

I would have gone to a 24 hr clinic near my home and get it done in 20mins.

KNN.

Actually it's (the equipments) has not much different with one in govt hospital.

You are spot on. Out of that $9k, $2.5k was for the doc service. The rest are mainly for used once and throw away equipment.

Last year, I brought my daughter to the New Ketupat Hospital

in Yushun cos she had food poisoning.

I thought that the A&E charges will be cheaper as compared to

24 hrs clinic.

We waited for more than 2 hours before she was seen by the doc.

I got a shock when the bill came up close to $100.

When I ask the nurse on duty why so expensive.

She replied that it a semi-garment hosp.

I would have gone to a 24 hr clinic near my home and get it done in 20mins.

KNN.

So it must be free, then u feel it's worth it right.

24hr clinic charge u 100 dollars then u also feel its expensive? [rolleyes]

The concept of going to A&E because it's cheaper is precisely why the charges need to be like that ... [mad]

Most medical practitioners become business minded once they set up /join private practice.

It's a matter of 'survival' due to high overhead costs and competition.

So it must be free, then u feel it's worth it right.

24hr clinic charge u 100 dollars then u also feel its expensive? [rolleyes]

The concept of going to A&E because it's cheaper is precisely why the charges need to be like that ... [mad]

Way back in the old days, when A&E charges were reasonable, people tend to abuse the facility;

People went there for treatment of cough and cold, army guys go there for minor ailments because only MC from A&E were accepted.

All kinds of weirdos go there, we had a black book of 'regulars'! :D

every industry is the same. the way u dress and the watches u wear.

if wearing high end items (LV, Rolex, Patek, Chanel, Gucci etc etc), sure can carrot chop.

almost every week i read about doctors selling cough syrup wrongfully, and drink driving, makes me condlude that we should not expect any profession to have moral values or principal. just as ourselves dont have much more than them.

I wouldn't be surprised at the events described.

For 1st example,

As with all companies who do business with insurance companies before, for certain procedures, there are usually extra charges somewhere cos for example, they will pay u a lesser consultation fee or some medications can only be claimed at their rates (even if its loss making for u).

For 2nd example,

Well its up to the doctor whether he want to charge for the consultation. It also depends on the content of the conversation.

For some patients, they treat our advice like small talk. I've ceased to be surprised when pple can talk to u for 30mins regarding their medical problems and walk out without expecting to pay consult fee.

If it's really casual small talk, then i would say its not too nice for the patient to pay for that.

I think people are not stupid, if u treat them like carrots, they will know.

$ complicates all relationships ... -_-

Juz wondering, sometimes i wonder how bored or lonely those GPs get at work? I mean, they dun realli have 'colleagues' to TCSS wif, sitting in the often windowless room everyday, treating the same ol' common ailments everyday, dishing out the same ol' cough medicine and signing the same ol' MC everyday......

My GP here always like beri busy 'cos either wifey or children calling him on the phone to go holidays..... [lipsrsealed][laugh]

maybe it's the chio pharmaceutical sales rep jio-ing him to go to big splash carpark..... [lipsrsealed][laugh][laugh]