Singaporeans lose jobs to FTs

Scion

heard this news on the radio, so decided to search for the full story online... but only Straits Times and Channelnewsasia covered it

the local tour guides, although many of them are free lancing, are badly treated by Singapore Tourism Board

many foreigners, on S-passes, come here to moonlight as tour guides, charging cheaper fees and forcing our own local ones out of jobs

despite years of complains, the situation does not improve

the bogus foreign tour guides have no qualifications (the local ones need to go through 9 months of trainings) and they have limited knowledge of our country (sometimes providing wrong information to the tourists, eg saying we are the descendants of Merlion according to legends)

of cos, the tour agencies play a part as they are usually the ones hiring the tour guides

personally after listening to their plights, i feel it's a sad thing because

- tour guides generally dun earn alot, and even so, they are being forced out of jobs by the bogus FTs

- the authority is sleeping and not protecting the interests of the local tour guides

- most importantly, tour guides are like unofficial ambassadors responsible in introducing our country, history and culture to the tourists... how can this role be taken by foreigners with limited knowledge?

haiz... <_<[:(][mad]

NTUC launches new chapter to safeguard rights of tourist guides

Published on Jul 2, 2012

By lua jia min

The National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) officially launched the Tourist Guide Chapter (TGC) on July 2 to better protect the workplace rights of licensed tourist guides in Singapore.

The chapter, which is under the Attractions, Resorts and Entertainment Union, was organised in July last year to prevent illegal tourist guide practices while also upgrading members' skills through familliarisation tours at attractions such as the Marina City Gallery and Maritime Experiential Museum and Aquarium.

The TGC also hopes to encourage older Singaporeans and back-to-work women to join the tourist guide industry.

The NTUC estimates that there are currently 2,600 licensed tour guides in Singapore.

What is there to learn?

Sentosa history?

Marina bay?

Casino?

Zoo bird park?

Shaping centers.

Need to learn meh?

Even the Merlion history story is a fakery.

Not difficult for FT/PR to add salt & vinega to make up stories to spice up their tour guide history knowledge about singapore.

What is there to learn?

Sentosa history?

Marina bay?

Casino?

Zoo bird park?

Shaping centers.

Need to learn meh?

Not difficult for FT/PR to add salt & vinega to make up stories to spice up their tour guide history knowledge about singapore.

talk is easy dude

how much do you know about the history of Singapore River and the city area?

bet you have failed your history exams last time anyway... your English exam probably failed big time too

Aiya , make so much noise also no use one. They can always say nobody want to do this kind of jobs .

the problem is there are 2,600 registered ones in Singapore and many of them are full-time local tour guides, who are trying to earn that little day-to-day commissions to support their families

talk is easy dude

bet you have failed your history exams last time anyway... your English exam probably failed big time too

Aiya , make so much noise also no use one. They can always say nobody want to do this kind of jobs .

the problem is there are 2,600 registered ones in Singapore and many of them are full-time local tour guides, who are trying to earn that little day-to-day commissions to support their families

I see ! One way to get rid of FT trash is the local guides quote rate $2/= per hour , for maybe 6mths . By then all the trash die of hunger in SG , then can up rate by 5 fold to make up the lost . [:p]

Edited by Jasonjst

Wow. Did not know their sad plight. We don't use their services for obvious reasons.

Too little too late now. Classic.

Any other occupation kena this kind of fate too?

Edited by Littleknown

What is there to learn?

Sentosa history?

Marina bay?

Casino?

Zoo bird park?

Shaping centers.

Need to learn meh?

yes not difficult, anybody can do but question is can you do a good job?

Wow. Did not know their sad plight. We don't use their services for obvious reasons.

Too little too late now. Classic.

Any other occupation kena this kind of fate too?

Like I told my friends, its not a matter of which industry, its a matter of when!

If you have this hung all over the opening of Gardens by the Bay, you know this is no longer your home [bigcry]

Oct4_Flags.jpg

talk is easy dude

bet you have failed your history exams last time anyway... your English exam probably failed big time

You are not wrong, I last time never study...so now drive taxi loh.

If you have this hung all over the opening of Gardens by the Bay, you know this is no longer your home [bigcry]

Knn. Guess this is my country, this is my flag. [:(]

heard this news on the radio, so decided to search for the full story online... but only Straits Times and Channelnewsasia covered it

the local tour guides, although many of them are free lancing, are badly treated by Singapore Tourism Board

many foreigners, on S-passes, come here to moonlight as tour guides, charging cheaper fees and forcing our own local ones out of jobs

despite years of complains, the situation does not improve

the bogus foreign tour guides have no qualifications (the local ones need to go through 9 months of trainings) and they have limited knowledge of our country (sometimes providing wrong information to the tourists, eg saying we are the descendants of Merlion according to legends)

of cos, the tour agencies play a part as they are usually the ones hiring the tour guides

personally after listening to their plights, i feel it's a sad thing because

- tour guides generally dun earn alot, and even so, they are being forced out of jobs by the bogus FTs

- the authority is sleeping and not protecting the interests of the local tour guides

- most importantly, tour guides are like unofficial ambassadors responsible in introducing our country, history and culture to the tourists... how can this role be taken by foreigners with limited knowledge?

haiz... <_<[:(][mad]

NTUC launches new chapter to safeguard rights of tourist guides

Published on Jul 2, 2012

By lua jia min

The National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) officially launched the Tourist Guide Chapter (TGC) on July 2 to better protect the workplace rights of licensed tourist guides in Singapore.

The chapter, which is under the Attractions, Resorts and Entertainment Union, was organised in July last year to prevent illegal tourist guide practices while also upgrading members' skills through familliarisation tours at attractions such as the Marina City Gallery and Maritime Experiential Museum and Aquarium.

The TGC also hopes to encourage older Singaporeans and back-to-work women to join the tourist guide industry.

The NTUC estimates that there are currently 2,600 licensed tour guides in Singapore.

FT fault again????????

I didn't follow the news on TV lately. What happened during the opening of gardens by the bay? I know it was officialy declared open during the weekend but what the heck with cheena flags here. :angry:

FT fault again????????

ar bo then?

u think can suka suka come here on s-pass and moonlight in other jobs? (on second thoughts, if the authority is sleeping, why not?)

if our singaporean students, studying at australia, work part-time as unlicensed tour guides there, and tell the tourists australians are descendants of kangaroos, how will the australians feel?

ar bo then?

u think can suka suka come here on s-pass and moonlight in other jobs? (on second thoughts, if the authority is sleeping, why not?)

if our singaporean students, studying at australia, work part-time as unlicensed tour guides there, and tell the tourists australians are descendants of kangaroos, how will the australians feel?

carrying on bashing FT then...