How to feedback on hospital service?

Fuelsaver

Hi all

Not exactly lite n easy. my MIL hospitalized in SGH. Have been doing this test that test but always give non-conclusive statement and only when we asked.

Any avenue for broadcasting such issue of healthcare facility?

Can't imagine the bills after staying for nearly 2 weeks and those tests.

On a side note, I think in pursuit of shaping good economy, govt related bodies / subsidiaries have become very lax in their work.

Examples - can peasant pursue justice without going thru great lengths like engaging lawyer, media etc? Can peasant wait for proactive medical update of patient status in black n white rather than going to private hospital.? In both cases peasant have no money and avenue.

How can we change the society? Other than chasing material want and more money, what else is missing?

write in to either ST forum or Today Voices.

pls dun say no use ... coz i have done that many times already.

write in to either ST forum or Today Voices.

pls dun say no use ... coz i have done that many times already.

somethings no so easy to detect.

Due to some suspected problems, I visited a specialist in a public hospital who said I had to undergo an MRI+several blood test and an appt with another specialist.

He wanted to admit me for SEVEN DAYS. I told the hospital that this is a half a day check up..... Going to a private hospital soon.

somethings no so easy to detect.

that's the problem with the medical services everywhere.

hard to detect does not mean negative.

when finally detect, too late liow !!

i got friends who until now dunno what is the cause... although recovered liao.

Yes. Moral of the story is don't waste money to detect [laugh]

What does the E in hospital A&E stands for? Let me tell you, it is Elephant.

Accident & Elephant.

Got high fever 39.3 - 39.7 and still waiting to see doctor after 2.5 hours. 30 over patients and only 3 doctors in attendance. Every patient spends about 5-10 mins then a lapse of 15 mins before the next patient is called. Aiyoh!and there's a sign saying fever patients will be isolated in a different waiting area.

Accident & Elephant.

Got high fever 39.3 - 39.7 and still waiting to see doctor after 2.5 hours. 30 over patients and only 3 doctors in attendance. Every patient spends about 5-10 mins then a lapse of 15 mins before the next patient is called. Aiyoh!and there's a sign saying fever patients will be isolated in a different waiting area.

Just pretend to faint on the floor and all the doctors and nurses will attend to u immediately!

Please don't do that. We have patients who do this and after they are placed on a trolley they "miraculously recover" after a doctor attends to them.

While this means faster treatment, it also means the next patient who is supposed to be seen might end up getting delay. Maybe not in the consultation area but in another area.

So bottom line is there will still be a delay, it is just a question of who is delayed.

You can complain about the manpower crunch but please don't fake severity of illness. If the fever is bad, maybe you can request if you can lie down (as opposed to fainting) but if the ane is really jammed, it cannot be helped.

Accident & Elephant.

Cos ane doctors have to do other stuff like review results. Meaning if you see a doctor and got blood tests done, the same doctor has to review your blood results / x ray before deciding on further action. Ane doctor is not like gp, once seen, discharge with Med and mc.

They have blood results to review, x rays to review and if they tell you to lie down with Meds, they need to follow up with you to make sure you are OK.

And not forgetting they need to eat, go toilet and other things. And ane is accident and EMERGENCY. They might get called away if there is a very ill patient. You might say ane has doctors to cover very ill patients but if there is a sudden influx of very ill patient they might need to be called away to assist in that case.

Overcrowding is an issue. Long waiting time is an issue. But the front line staff are doing their best.

Edited by Philipkee
  • Praise 11

Accident & Elephant.

If you want fast service, go to private hospital lo. Govt hospital confirmed need to wait de esp when the queue is long. Unless you have really emergency case, like you went in to see when you have suspected stroke etc, then they would attend to you very fast. Think even high fever to them is not consider emergency and serious case.

When I as in in A&E for 1.5yrs, demanding entitled patients who think their problem is the worst in the whole hospital, full bladder bursting, skipped or 10min meal break, unpaid overtime 1-2hrs beyond the shift is the norm.

Almost the most thankless of thankless job out there.

Anyone still wondering why I changed by mind not to specialize in AnE?

Haha! Too drama liao but it was terrible. By the time I left, it was 4:30am. 8 hours at the hospital.

Some genius predicted that SG should have almost 7 mil population then will be ideal right??

But the hospitals, doctors and nurses often cannot cope leh.

Am sure there are many different things for the hospitals and healthcare system to consider when attending to patients. The bottom line is we the end-users feel that the system is far from being able to cope, but the MOH must feel that it's good enough. Or maybe they think need to increase/improve, but dunno how or cannot do so...

I remember some years ago, when I brought my elderly grandmother to TTSH (yes the notorious one famous for the longest wait) in the mid afternoon initially to just get x-ray done (she was complaining of pain in her hip, having rolled off a (quite low) bed onto the floor some days before that. Had to bring her to TTSH as she couldn't lie on the metal bed for the x-ray, kept saying v pain, when tried to do at a x-ray clinic near the GP. So GP said the only way is to go hosp where they will have anaesthesia if really necessary. After the A&E triage doc saw her, and considered her age, said it's safer for her to be warded for observation.

She was pushed to the observation area to wait for a bed in the ward. And so the wait began.

Yes, it was non-life-threatening, but my grandma was very advanced in age, and weak to begin with.

I reached TTSH before 4 pm. By the time i got impatient and finally went up to the counter to ask what was the delay, it was 10.30 pm. I was told there's still no bed, and given how old my grandma was, they didn't want to push her up to the ward to take up those 'corridor beds', and wanted to wait for a proper bed in the ward...

When she was finally allocated a bed and i settled her and told her I was going off, it was 1 am... [bigcry]

If you want fast service, go to private hospital lo. Govt hospital confirmed need to wait de esp when the queue is long. Unless you have really emergency case, like you went in to see when you have suspected stroke etc, then they would attend to you very fast. Think even high fever to them is not consider emergency and serious case.

High fever, I learnt later, was grouped under grade 3 (I think so, cannot remember) and not elephant case. There was one elderly auntie who arrived vomiting non-stop and was immediately warded.

When I as in in A&E for 1.5yrs, demanding entitled patients who think their problem is the worst in the whole hospital, full bladder bursting, skipped or 10min meal break, unpaid overtime 1-2hrs beyond the shift is the norm.

Almost the most thankless of thankless job out there.

Anyone still wondering why I changed by mind not to specialize in AnE?

That's why i was very amazed when i heard a JC classmate chose A&E. Not sure if she specialised, but she was doing that for quite a while last i heard (many years back)...

High fever, I learnt later, was grouped under grade 3 (I think so, cannot remember) and not elephant case. There was one elderly auntie who arrived vomiting non-stop and was immediately warded.

Maybe they see your age also? If a child is admitted with high fever, think they should attend immediately?! Or maybe if an adult is admitted with high fever 40 deg and higher, they also attend to you immediately?!