How much to replace shock absorbers?

SLSAMG88

sounds like a fair deal. new shocks will probably already costs $320 to $350, for 4 pcs. plus labour, will be around there $500. you may even get cheaper if u buy the shocks yourself from stockists

$840 is CHOP CARROT price, for stock normal shocks. you add a bit more, u can go for coilover liao.

$320-$350 is about the price i paid for 1 shock which i buy directly from stockist. <_<

AutoSaver quoted me 1k for kyb for my KIA Rio as no stock for stock suspension. Soh bros got stock suspension for me at 480 include labour n gst. Malaysia side quoted 700RM, which is about 320sing. But I hose soh bros lah... Local more peace of mind

For kia, why dun you goto Ming Ghee for stock shocks and Yuen Tong at Veerasamy road?

They are stockist/distributor. Should be cheaper. From there, just goto workshop to install.

I didn't know about this 2 shops and got lost looking at the stockist thread. However Malaysia side for 320 SGD for 4 shocks include labout I doubt SG side can beat. So if really looking to save money, guess can consider running a small risk. I often wash car at this Success Motor Shop at Gelang Petah but rarely frequent their adjacent workshop.

got a quote from autosaver for my camry 2.4, total $1,200 for 4 shocks. if just replacing the back shocks about $700.

Any bro/sis know cheaper WS (~$500) to replace just the back shocks ?

got a quote from autosaver for my camry 2.4, total $1,200 for 4 shocks. if just replacing the back shocks about $700.

If your work allows you to run around shopping for parts, then do it and you will save cost.

you can try getting Koni FSD. Cost around 1200 for 4 shocks. I fitted it to my altis. The ride improved a lot.

does the shock come with the spring? including the bushing?

thanks

Shocks don't come with springs unless you're getting a coilover. And springs rarely get changed.

Thinking if all the shock absorbers got some problem, if only want to change one pair, it is better to change the fromt or rear? [:/]

3 months ago, workshop told me my front shock absorbers need to be replaced. Told them no as the car reaching 10 yrs old in Jul 13.

Today went for normal servicing and was told the shock absorbers cannot contd anymore. For safety, I decided to change:

2 front shock absorbers - $663.40

2 absorber stopper -$81.32

( wkshp said it is Japan Camry

I drive a 2.4L executive sedan, changed my 4 shock absorbers at Fong Kim about 1 year ago, cost around 500 to 600. 1200 is on the high side.

I was quoted $1100 for 4 shock absorbers and 4 spring including labour for my 5 year old Nissan Sylphy, is it reasonable price?

Why a 5 yr old car need to change springs. Ty can last 20 yrs even.

I think u sud chk wh another ws. Looks like a con job happening.

4 shocks abt $500 can already. Other parts like stopper abt $10 ea if its broken. Front mounts sud still b good fr a few more years.

Labour fr 4 shocks $100 plus.

I changed my 4 shocks in jb. Labour under rm190 fr 4 pcs. INCLUDING 4 wheel computerised alignment which must b done after change shocks.

In sg alingment only is S$60 fr 4 wheels.

Labour around $20-30 plus per shock.

Shocks just go chin hon at race course rd n get original kyb shocks. Price depends on model. Sud b abt $100 plus each.

If u can get made in japan it wil b worth e few extra bucks. Otherwise just get thai made lah.

Thinking if all the shock absorbers got some problem, if only want to change one pair, it is better to change the fromt or rear? [:/]

Front pair more important fr handling but if yr rear really gone case better change too.

Dun forget u must always do 4 wheel computerised alignment when u change shocks or suspension steering parts.

that was more expensive then changing in KM for accord together with spring but dont know for BM

Front pair more important fr handling but if yr rear really gone case better change too.

Dun forget u must always do 4 wheel computerised alignment when u change shocks or suspension steering parts.

You mean whether change only front shocks or all 4 shocks also must do computerised alignment? If dont do what will happen? [:/]

Yes. Any work done on shocks suspension steering parts wil need 4 wheel computerised alignment to bring all tracking settings back to manufacturers specs.

Dun do n u risk skidding excessive tire wear high fc n worn steering n suspension parts. Some ws say no need cos ty mark parts b4 remove but ty cannot fix back so accurate.

Yes. Any work done on shocks suspension steering parts wil need 4 wheel computerised alignment to bring all tracking settings back to manufacturers specs.

Dun do n u risk skidding excessive tire wear high fc n worn steering n suspension parts. Some ws say no need cos ty mark parts b4 remove but ty cannot fix back so accurate.

I see. But no need say must immediately go for alignment after changing the shocks, right? [:/]