It's Confirmed - Singaporeans are crappy drivers

Darryn

Was reported in today's paper, on a per capita basis, those that got their license in Singapore cause three times as many accidents as those that got their license elsewhere and converted.

[:p][sunny][wave]

So to all those that bash the atrocious driving standards of "ATB" and whatever the fark else -

Nyah nyah boo boo

[pirate][wave]

yeah ok - I'm beign a pratt, but seriously, a very interesting statistic. One hopes that it is properly calculated and takes the relevant things into account. Once also hopes that it clarifies abit on the perception that many hold.

Was reported in today's paper, on a per capita basis, those that got their license in Singapore cause three times as many accidents as those that got their license elsewhere and converted.

So to all those that bash the atrocious driving standards of "ATB" and whatever the fark else -

Nyah nyah boo boo

[pirate][wave]

yeah ok - I'm beign a pratt, but seriously, a very interesting statistic. One hopes that it is properly calculated and takes the relevant things into account. Once also hopes that it clarifies abit on the perception that many hold.

I agree. Yesterday evening, this Lexus driven by an auntie was moving and stopping in the middle of the road, never on headlights, never signal. I was right behind her, horning but she ignore. So at give way section which was 2 lane, I wanted to change to another lane to get away from her, glanced at mirror but fail to spot bike, swerved out, almost hit the biker who was wearing all black, headlight not very bright, immediately apologise non-stop while driving beside him. [bigcry]

We are all atrocious drivers.

Nyah nyah boo boo

[pirate][wave]

because most come back singapore liao realise that too expensive to afford a car in singapore as compare to where they come from and so most dont buy. [:p]

Nyah nyah boo boo

[pirate][wave]

Yup. I do agreed this statements, though I'm a Singaporean. Our locals love tailgating and cuts into others' lane without signaling. I guessed 70 - 80% of yearly accidents are contributed by these jokers. Though my experiences in 20 years of driving, I still consider, I'm a average driver. I dun the chances by zapping around.

if you realize these jokers, are mainly driving mid or smaller BB cars. In Singapore, from point A to B, what is the time difference by driving at 100kmh and 80kmh? I bet you, is just an average of 5 - 10minutes at max.

So the questions should ask, is how many of MCF members think of their driving skills??? Me average. You Bros??

I'M local and I'm ashamed of our own drivers here.

Especially when I have oversea visitors sitting in my car,the way they see how the locals drive,they shake their head <_<

Sinkies have the fark mentality that faster is better.Give way is losing something. [hur][shakehead]

Then i often see them in accidents. [rolleyes]

I keep distances n giv way 19 yrs no accident [laugh] Who win? :D

can u share the source? i don't subscribe in 154th.

i'm sure u are aware that foreign licenses can be converted to singaporean license right?

some time ago, an indian colleague took a week leave, went back india, then return sg to have his gleaming brand new license converted.

so... are those types included in the survey or excluded?

Sinkies have the fark mentality that faster is better.Give way is losing something. [hur][shakehead]

I keep distances n giv way 19 yrs no accident [laugh] Who win?

iszi?? i sinkies but i drive very slow at 2nd or 3rd lane most of the time leh [laugh]

yeah those lane out side of lane 1 have lesser accident.

when i feel like changing bumper, maybe i will go drive at lane 1. [:p]

can u share the source? i don't subscribe in 154th.

i'm sure u are aware that foreign licenses can be converted to singaporean license right?

some time ago, an indian colleague took a week leave, went back india, then return sg to have his gleaming brand new license converted.

so... are those types included in the survey or excluded?

I don't know the full methodology, and given the wonderful transperancy of the govt, doubt it would be announced anyway.

It was a blurb in MyPaper.

What they said (hope I have the figures right) was that .03% of those that got license in Singapore had accidents while .01% of those that convert licenses had accidents.

I keep distances n giv way 19 yrs no accident [laugh] Who win? :D

Yes you right Angry bird. Singaporeans like to rush in last minute. :D

Accidents are caused by inconsiderate drivers.

The following are examples, not necessarily in order, but close enough.

I.e.: Road Hoggers, Reckless Drivers, Taxi Drivers with not enough rest resulting in Misjudgement, Leech Boys in Daddy's Falallis, Clueless/Ego Drivers and Hesitant Aunties

Only singaporeans can drive taxis here right? There you go.

PR can also [:p][laugh]