Home Aircon

BoneStock

It is true that the prices of aircon system between installers are about the same. So we should purchase/decide based on installers' experience? 

need some advice

Lately home air con not so cold. So i called my trusted air con guy to check.

He said gas leak.  And the problem is cannot find the leak point.  He suggest to top up gas and monitor.

Permanent solution is to change the whole air con system.  

Does this make sense?

My air con system is 8-9 years old now. Toshiba invertor. 

I would check the compressor and see if a blanket of dirt is covering the radiator fins and checked whether the fan is working. Check all sides including the back.

There's one or two capacitors which spins the fan. They can degrade, causing the fan to stop or slowed down.

Mine tend to accumulate dirt, which forms an insulation and the heat cannot dissipate properly. So the gas can't cool down enough and it's not effective to reduce the temp inside the fan coil.

Also check your fan coil to see if it's clogged with dirt.

He got use leak detector?

Refrigeration-system-Refrigerant-HFC-134

Or input trace liquid while topping up gas?

OLX-400%20HVAC%20application%20shot-1.jp

That day he top up gas so that I monitor.

Today air con starting to be not cold again. So I guess it's confirmed that it's leaking gas somewhere?

Can recommend another air con guy who can detect the leak?

Is there a possibility that the leak can be at the concealed pipe? How to repair then?

Today air con starting to be not cold again. So I guess it's confirmed that it's leaking gas somewhere?

Is there a possibility that the leak can be at the concealed pipe? How to repair then?

I dont know any aircon man specialised in leak detection. I only know the aircon man that does it for ships.  [laugh]

http://www.sgmaritime.com/company/details/80016710/rex-marine-engineering-pte-ltd

Try the guy that @radx recommended, Simon. Not bad service.

I dont know any aircon man specialised in leak detection. I only know the aircon man that does it for ships.  [laugh]

http://www.sgmaritime.com/company/details/80016710/rex-marine-engineering-pte-ltd

Try the guy that @radx recommended, Simon. Not bad service.

Now then you share.

I've been using ra**d marine. Bloody expensive but the good thing is dun give the office personnel headache. Probably because they have a lot of margin to dunno a lot of funny things for the guys on board.

Now then you share.

I've been using ra**d marine. Bloody expensive but the good thing is dun give the office personnel headache. Probably because they have a lot of margin to dunno a lot of funny things for the guys on board.

The biggest headache I had was dealing with : http://www.vikingairtech.com/contact-us/contact-details/

My advise is to avoid them.

The biggest headache I had was dealing with : http://www.vikingairtech.com/contact-us/contact-details/

My advise is to avoid them.

Okay la. Never used them before but got them to quote before. Guess I managed to escape some trouble. There are many others on my shitlist ... share also cannot share finish haha.

Better not OT since this is home aircon....

Back to topic, my house currently has those "free" servicing for the first 3 years. I haven't been at home to see what they actually do but I presume it is just the simple wash/cleaning. Is it recommended for me to get someone else (maybe Radx's contact simon?) to come in at least once a year?

Anyone has any recommendation of any super good a/c deal if i need to replace a set of a/c in a 4-rm HDB flat?

The flat currently has an old Daikin 3+1 split unit in the 3 bedrooms and the living room.

It's apparently still working, but at 16 years old, is ... ageing.

The a/c servicing company recommends replacing it if possible.

Now want to look for a cheap and reliable system 3 to put in the 3 bedrooms as replacement. The living room one will simply be removed and not replaced.

The flat is rented out, so no need to be top-end product, nor worry about electricity consumption. As long as it's cheap and won't spoilt easily, will be happy liao.

Also, does anyone know whether the installer will charge extra for removing the existing set? and also will they replace all the pipings/trunkings, etc.? Or will they simply reuse the old ones ?

tks.

Encountered gas leak before.

Took 2 trips for aircon guy to determine which concealed line was leaking. Decided to abandoned suspected pipes and ran new exposed piping.

Aircon guy installed pressure gauges overnite to see which brach of the multi split was at fault. If the fan coil was not in use, that line not leaking.

Anyone has any recommendation of any super good a/c deal if i need to replace a set of a/c in a 4-rm HDB flat?

The flat currently has an old Daikin 3+1 split unit in the 3 bedrooms and the living room.

It's apparently still working, but at 16 years old, is ... ageing.

The a/c servicing company recommends replacing it if possible.

Now want to look for a cheap and reliable system 3 to put in the 3 bedrooms as replacement. The living room one will simply be removed and not replaced.

The flat is rented out, so no need to be top-end product, nor worry about electricity consumption. As long as it's cheap and won't spoilt easily, will be happy liao.

Also, does anyone know whether the installer will charge extra for removing the existing set? and also will they replace all the pipings/trunkings, etc.? Or will they simply reuse the old ones ?

tks.

Daikin non-inverter to use existing pipes should be the most economical. 

Thanks, but now still got non-inverter models selling? I thought no more already?

Mostly inverter units on sale, non-inverter are more economical and less $ to maintain. Since it's still working just maintain it.

The tenant had complained that it's not very cool, and the company on servicing contract just said 'it's old and recommend replacement'... 

rental market is also no good, so is worried that if tenant doesn't want to renew lease, might mean gap in rental too...

The tenant had complained that it's not very cool, and the company on servicing contract just said 'it's old and recommend replacement'... 

rental market is also no good, so is worried that if tenant doesn't want to renew lease, might mean gap in rental too...

You sure your tenant will renew or not renew over the aircon?

When he renew then you change lor.

Yup, that's the plan. Told my agent to use this if necessary.

Don't wanna be caught a sucker, spend $$ replace already then they dun renew...

Agent told me the tenant agreed to renew if i change the aircon.

since 16.5 yr liao, aiyah ok lah i think change lor.

Anyone got any good lobang for cheap and reliable system 3 to recommend? Dun wan Midea which is China brand hor. Many people ask me to avoid...

Just get Mitsubishi Starmex.

also recommend mitsubishi starmex

reliable and economical

for pricing useful to call a few shops for quotation

if the existing pipes are ok , cost of change should be reasonable