Honda civic steering clicking noise while turn light is on

Luoxy

Just bought a 2nd hand 2006 civic 1.8, everything is perfect except,

when i have the turn light on, in addtion to the normal blinking sound, a weir clicking/ticking noise is heard if turn the steering wheel, it only happens when the turn light is on.

any one has any ideas?

It's the mechanical "sensor" LOL.... so that the turn stick can return back to normal position after returning the turn. If you force hold the turn stick while twirling the steering wheel, you probably will hear a "tree branch snapped" sound; this is to prevent the turn stick to return back to normal position. You need this in situation where you need to signal left, but need to turn steering to right for some "adjustments" due to road/traffic conditions.

I think the mechanism is called "clock spring".

Edited by Kangadrool

Nothing wrong. Very normal. Almost all car is like that.

Can not be lah, Passion thanks anyway for your reply.

I didn't own a lots car but i do own Mazda 3 and also drove Camry, Vios and CRV before. I know that it does not happen on those.

It's the mechanical "sensor" LOL.... so that the turn stick can return back to normal position after returning the turn. If you force hold the turn stick while twirling the steering wheel, you probably will hear a "tree branch snapped" sound; this is to prevent the turn stick to return back to normal position. You need this in situation where you need to signal left, but need to turn steering to right for some "adjustments" due to road/traffic conditions.

I think the mechanism is called "clock spring".

Kangadrool thanks for your informative reply, sound pretty complicated though, to me.

yes exactly, the noise I heard it kind of like "tree branch snapped", basically once i have my turn signal on, which ever way i twirl streering wheel, the sound of "tree branch snapped" of "pia, pia, pia" will be heard

is it normal? i check with one of my friend drives civic also, his does not behave like that.

Really normal. Older car tends to have this noise. Newer model wouldn't have though.

Ok, i think probably you are right. what you said start to make sense to me.

I thought you didn't understand what i was talking about. Pai seh!

Kangadrool thanks for your informative reply, sound pretty complicated though, to me.

yes exactly, the noise I heard it kind of like "tree branch snapped", basically once i have my turn signal on, which ever way i twirl streering wheel, the sound of "tree branch snapped" of "pia, pia, pia" will be heard

is it normal? i check with one of my friend drives civic also, his does not behave like that.

As long as when you did not use the signal and there's no sound when steering, it should be OK. If there is clicking sound, then it's most likely the clock spring is kaput.

As long as signal is used, there will be some clicking sound when your twirl your steering.

As long as when you did not use the signal and there's no sound when steering, it should be OK. If there is clicking sound, then it's most likely the clock spring is kaput.

As long as signal is used, there will be some clicking sound when your twirl your steering.

no, no noise at all as long as turn signal is off.

I guess I am just over-worried for my new bought, thanks Passion and Kangadrool for your kind adivses.

no, no noise at all as long as turn signal is off.

I guess I am just over-worried for my new bought, thanks Passion and Kangadrool for your kind adivses.

too paranoid i guess..... [laugh]

Huh?! Only when signal is on meh? But mine is all the while leh. As long as I turn the steering wheel, the click sound happens. One full turn will have 2 or 3 clicks. I also thought it's normal as it detects when to off the signal light automatically. But after I read these posts, I more worried sia... Is it because of aging? I just bought a 6 yr old 1.8A...