This guy from mcf ?

Jrage

MR CHAN Chun Sing, who will be heading the new Ministry of Social and Family Development, said one of his immediate priorities is to look into how to encourage young Singaporeans to marry early and start families ("Get married and start family early"; last Friday).

One policy he should consider reviewing is the HDB-ownership eligibility for private property owners.

Some private property owners who bought smaller, shoebox apartments for investment are caught in a bind after the recent cooling measures.

They may wish to start families and will need bigger home spaces.

However, to be eligible to buy HDB resale flats, they must sell their current private property within six months of the purchase of the HDB unit.

They must also pay the seller's stamp duty, introduced in February 2010, which could lead to them incurring significant losses.

These regulations may deter some couples who own these tiny private flats from starting families.

At the very least, the Government should let Singaporeans who have served national service own HDB resale flats even if they own private property.

While it is understandable that the Government wants to regulate the supply and demand of subsidised housing, it should allow a married couple to buy an HDB resale unit in the open market, irrespective of whether they own private property.

This pro-family measure will help arrest Singapore's falling birth rate.

Elgar Lee

However, to be eligible to buy HDB resale flats, they must sell their current private property within six months of the purchase of the HDB unit.

Elgar Lee

I thot the rule is, if you hold private property, you cant even buy HDB whether it is BTO or re-sale.

You must sell away your private property, kana kantung (suspend) for something like 2yrs, then can buy HDB.

This Agar Agar Lee make the wrong move. Bought Shoebox unit regret liao then KPKB

Edited by Mcf777

I thot the rule is, if you hold private property, you cant even buy HDB whether it is BTO or re-sale.

You must sell away your private property, kana kantung (suspend) for something like 2yrs, then can buy HDB.

This Agar Agar Lee make the wrong move. Bought Shoebox unit regret liao then KPKB

Can...buy from resale market and sell private within 6 months. if wanna buy new, yes sell and wait 2 years then can apply

Why not transfer the private property to his kid.

And then buy a HDB after the 30 months wait?

After buying the HDB, transfer the private back to his name.

Surely there is a loophole that he can make use of.

must pay stamp fees to gov! Nothing is free.

cannot lah.. cannot transfer here and there.. need to pay stamp duty one leh.. kids also cannot service loan. ??!?

Wats to do with Topic title?

Anyway solve one create one...increase demand for resale , increase COV, increase burden for new family

Best solution all who serve NS get one free HDB :D

cannot lah.. cannot transfer here and there.. need to pay stamp duty one leh.. kids also cannot service loan. ??!?

There are many other work around....still need to pay stamp n legal fees.

Nothing is free and easy.

But it's POSSIBLE loh.

Hmm, I may be wrong here but I'm guessing he actually means, asking government to deposit $200K hot cash into his CPF account after ORD.

you mean 2+ yrs of your life.. not worth 200k ?

Hmm, I may be wrong here but I'm guessing he actually means, asking government to deposit $200K hot cash into his CPF account after ORD.

yup my point exactly

There are many other work around....still need to pay stamp n legal fees.

Nothing is free and easy.

But it's POSSIBLE loh.

please suggest your possibility!?!

you mean 2+ yrs of your life.. not worth 200k ?

depends which 2 years of your life that you are measuring the worth from? :D

The guy Agar Lee is a joke. Buy shoebox regret liao then want govt to implement new rule just for him. Blame this rule for him not having kids. Maybe better for him not to have kids, passed down the farkup genes.

MR CHAN Chun Sing, who will be heading the new Ministry of Social and Family Development, said one of his immediate priorities is to look into how to encourage young Singaporeans to marry early and start families ("Get married and start family early"; last Friday).

One policy he should consider reviewing is the HDB-ownership eligibility for private property owners.

Some private property owners who bought smaller, shoebox apartments for investment are caught in a bind after the recent cooling measures.

They may wish to start families and will need bigger home spaces.

They must also pay the seller's stamp duty, introduced in February 2010, which could lead to them incurring significant losses.

These regulations may deter some couples who own these tiny private flats from starting families.

At the very least, the Government should let Singaporeans who have served national service own HDB resale flats even if they own private property.

While it is understandable that the Government wants to regulate the supply and demand of subsidised housing, it should allow a married couple to buy an HDB resale unit in the open market, irrespective of whether they own private property.

This pro-family measure will help arrest Singapore's falling birth rate.

Elgar Lee

Ai yah must well say:

1) Have 1 kid, hdb discount 50k

2) have 2nd kids, hdb discount $100k

3) 3rd kid and beyond, hdb discount $150k!!!

4) serve ns, hdb discount 200K!!!! [laugh]:D[laugh]

Ai yah must well say:

[thumbsup][thumbsup]

5) Get second wife + 1 kid = 250K !!!! [laugh]

Ai yah must well say:

sarpork! [laugh] [laugh]

Can...buy from resale market and sell private within 6 months. if wanna buy new, yes sell and wait 2 years then can apply

kam sia. learnt a new thing today.

cannot llah.. now hdb regardless of how u obtain it got 5yrs MOP. even if u suddenly win USA super lottery also cannot buy private residential within the MOP.